12 Reviews

Excellent! Exatly what I was looking for! My husband liked it too. Easier to male than I anticipated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Silla April 21, 2008

This is exactly what I was looking for to encorporate my left over ham. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of milk. I also added more seasoning after reading some of the reviews. I didn't steam the broccoli, instead I added it raw and it cooked in the oven. It still had a pretty green color. Great flavor, very satisfying, and plenty for left overs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAWilliams528 April 03, 2013

This was very, very good! My new favorite dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinahnmariahsmom December 05, 2012

This was really great! I didn't use as much oil to saute the onions and used no butter with the topping as well as fat free Cream of Mushroom soup. This makes A LOT of food, but it was definitely delicious! I did add quite a bit of Lawry's seasoning salt because it did seem a little bland. Leftovers were also great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal April 16, 2011

Love the combination of ingredients. I made and froze it as we were just tired of ham after all the Easter ham. Took it out of the freezer last week, made the topping and baked it. Turned out really nice. Only complaint was that it was a little bland. Would definitely add more flavor (herbs, garlic?) next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls May 04, 2010

Incredible recipe but a whole lotta work! ;-) I loved this, but I probably will only make it when I have broccoli and rice leftovers; otherwise it's just too much work (IMHO). I took great liberties with it by making the following changes: excluded corn and Parmesan cheese, replaced soup/milk mixture with a white sauce recipe from Fanny Farmer, and used seasoned breadcrumbs. My DH said it was his new favorite casserole - high praise, indeed. Made this for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers. Thanks for a great recipe, Babzy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss June 07, 2009

I was looking for a recipe for leftover ham and this was perfect. The only things I did different was sub peas for broccoli as I was out and I did not include the corn. I thought it came out great & I really loved the topping. My DH didn't care for the topping as much but what does he know :-) Anyway will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee May 14, 2009

this was really good! i didn't have breadcrumbs (but i did have some of those onion crunchie things & that work nice for a change in texture). it was a little salty - so next time i will not add any extra salt. but it was good! my husband really like it, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chicago gillott-i August 16, 2007

Yum! Thanks for posting - a great use for the leftover Easter ham! Next time I will use the low fat mushroom soup as this was a little heavy, but other than that, it's a great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peppermint Shannon April 10, 2007

I have been looking for a good casserole to make for a while and this is it. I have very picky eaters in the house and they even ate it. I left out the corn but other then that I made it just like it says. Thank you so much for adding this. We will have it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 February 27, 2007
Ham Broccoli Rice and Cheese Casserole