12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this soup many times now and it has become one of my very favorites. The only thing I do different is add celery, green beans, fresh or frozen, cut. and fresh sliced mushrooms.(love my veggies lol) My whole family just loves it too. I want to thank you for sharing this recipe and i tell everyone I know how great it is. And pass it along to them. And I'm glad I could be the first to post a photo. Would have givien it 10 stars if i could........

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MnBiker November 29, 2010

I followed the recipe (as much as I follow any recipe) except instead of potatoes, I pureed a can of Great Northern Beans with some of the broth and added a can of tomato paste. The soup is thicker and has a few less carbs, but is delicious. Highly recommended!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lawyer 'n Chef December 06, 2008

I cut this recipe in half and it still made a lot of soup. I made as is with the exception of adding tomato sauce along with the canned tomatoes because I like my soup to have more of a tomato base. I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and did not use the optional sugar in the recipe. I really like this soup. It had a lot of flavor. I would probably add a little more potatoes next time. This is actually a pretty healthy soup. Too bad it is only my husband and I, even with cutting the recipe in half, we still have a lot of soup left. I think I will try freezing some. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamondlil June 18, 2011

I was looking up this recipe to prepare for the Easter ham left-overs, and realized I hadn't rated it from the Christmas ham left-overs! I love soups, but despise cream-based soups, so this was the perfect find. I used noodles instead of potatoes, and red cabbage instead of regular. This is an awesome soup and it makes a ton!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation April 12, 2009

This is a very rich, flavorful soup. I used one onion, omitted the red pepper, and used beef stock instead of chicken. I also pureed my tomatoes. I added a scant tablespoon of salt ( I used a good deal of beef stock and it was very low in salt!), and did not use the sugar. Excellent!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabbageHead January 10, 2009

This soup has a great flavor and lots of veggies. I made these changes: used 2 quarts of water (it turns out my "big" soup pot isn't so big!), 4 chicken bouillon cubes, green bell pepper instead of red, and omitted the cabbage and parsley. The best part: my husband who doesn't eat vegetables had second helpings, although he did have to pick around the "green things" (bell peppers) and "grass" (oregano and thyme)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leaceae January 04, 2005

I never thought of ham and vegetable together for soup till I saw your recipe. Changed a few items to fit our preferences. A delicious change from the bean soup variations that usually make from leftover ham bone. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goat mom January 10, 2010

This is my first ham bone soup, and it was wonderful. I used 2 qts of fat-free low sodium chicken broth plus 1 qt of water, and skipped peppercorns, and the soup turns out extremely tasty and hearty. Everyone had seconds and/or thirds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
florrie05 January 01, 2010

great ham soup, very hearty and warming on a cold winters night.. also added left over ham, used 2 cans of rotell tomatoes instead of the pepper sauce..served this with a pan of cornbread and the family loved it..Thanks Andy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phosman646 December 30, 2006
Ham Bone Vegetable Soup 1967