Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Bone Vegetable Soup 1967 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Bone Vegetable Soup 1967

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      I have made this soup many times now and it has become one of my very favorites. The only thing I do different is add celery, green beans, fresh or frozen, cut. and fresh sliced mushrooms.(love my veggies lol) My whole family just loves it too. I want to thank you for sharing this recipe and i tell everyone I know how great it is. And pass it along to them. And I'm glad I could be the first to post a photo. Would have givien it 10 stars if i could........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I followed the recipe (as much as I follow any recipe) except instead of potatoes, I pureed a can of Great Northern Beans with some of the broth and added a can of tomato paste. The soup is thicker and has a few less carbs, but is delicious. Highly recommended!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I cut this recipe in half and it still made a lot of soup. I made as is with the exception of adding tomato sauce along with the canned tomatoes because I like my soup to have more of a tomato base. I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and did not use the optional sugar in the recipe. I really like this soup. It had a lot of flavor. I would probably add a little more potatoes next time. This is actually a pretty healthy soup. Too bad it is only my husband and I, even with cutting the recipe in half, we still have a lot of soup left. I think I will try freezing some. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I was looking up this recipe to prepare for the Easter ham left-overs, and realized I hadn't rated it from the Christmas ham left-overs! I love soups, but despise cream-based soups, so this was the perfect find. I used noodles instead of potatoes, and red cabbage instead of regular. This is an awesome soup and it makes a ton!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is a very rich, flavorful soup. I used one onion, omitted the red pepper, and used beef stock instead of chicken. I also pureed my tomatoes. I added a scant tablespoon of salt ( I used a good deal of beef stock and it was very low in salt!), and did not use the sugar. Excellent!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This soup has a great flavor and lots of veggies. I made these changes: used 2 quarts of water (it turns out my "big" soup pot isn't so big!), 4 chicken bouillon cubes, green bell pepper instead of red, and omitted the cabbage and parsley. The best part: my husband who doesn't eat vegetables had second helpings, although he did have to pick around the "green things" (bell peppers) and "grass" (oregano and thyme)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I never thought of ham and vegetable together for soup till I saw your recipe. Changed a few items to fit our preferences. A delicious change from the bean soup variations that usually make from leftover ham bone. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This is my first ham bone soup, and it was wonderful. I used 2 qts of fat-free low sodium chicken broth plus 1 qt of water, and skipped peppercorns, and the soup turns out extremely tasty and hearty. Everyone had seconds and/or thirds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

    • on December 30, 2006

      great ham soup, very hearty and warming on a cold winters night.. also added left over ham, used 2 cans of rotell tomatoes instead of the pepper sauce..served this with a pan of cornbread and the family loved it..Thanks Andy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Very good, great ham taste, super easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      easy to make, fantastic taste, whole family loved it, we used to smoked ham bones which gave a fantastic original flavour. If the soup is allowed to cool down overnight before adding the vegetables and the fats skimmed off before finishing the cooking it did not affect my blood sugar levels, for a diabetic important.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Bone Vegetable Soup 1967

    Serving Size: 1 (5351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.0
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    25%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 458.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    fresh marjoram

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites