31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty. Even the children liked it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin from Ontario March 12, 2002

This was great! Easy, pretty quick, and SO yummy! My 3-year-old and 7-year-old loved it, as did my husband. One substitution I made was that I used swiss cheese instead of cheddar because that's all I had on hand. It was still delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fred_Retter November 25, 2009

This was a huge hit! My DH, kids, and brother devoured it in seconds! Next time I'll make 2 so I'll have some leftovers. I followed the directions pretty closely. Here are the things I did differently: I used butter in place of margarine and added fresh minced garlic to the onions and peppers. Also, this definitely doesn't make 12 servings in my house as a main dish, maybe more like 8. Fabulous use for leftover ham and definitely put onto my regular rotation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommybusch May 07, 2009

This was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe so that I could freeze half and I left out the green peppers. I almost had to break into the second half to satisfy everyone. My only disagreement would be, at least in my family, it would never ever be considered 12 servings!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chey_M April 01, 2009

very comforting on a cold night. I added a little mustard & more cheese to the top after it was done & put it under the broiler. everyone enjoyed it. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jt*s_mom November 27, 2006

Made this last night with a few changes. I left out the green pepper and mayo; doubled the onion and sliced it into rings; and substituted Colby and Jack cheese blend for the cheddar. Cooked it in a oversize shallow baking dish to increase the browning area. YUM! But, let's be realistic about the portion sizes - this made 4 - 6 servings as a main dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf November 01, 2006

DH found this recipe and whipped it up one evening while I was sick. I had to give it 5 stars because of the following: it's yummy comfort food, dh can put it together (that's saying something!!!), it's inexpensive plus it's a great way to use up ham. We've probably made this recipe a dozen or so times since finding it. Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggersmommy October 17, 2004

This is a great basic recipe, but I would increase it by 1/3 to fill up the casserole dish and be able to feed at least 6 people or have leftovers. I added some gruyere cheese with the cheddar to add a little more flavor and topped it with some mozzarella and Italian panko bread crumbs and sprayed with a butter spray (or olive oil would work, too) to add a crunch on top and give different textures to the casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giunella-La Diva January 03, 2015

A delicious recipe for using up some of our leftover Christmas ham. I didn't have any green pepper, used low-fat mayo and Colby Jack cheese. It made plenty for four of us. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4mytwins December 29, 2014

Tastes Excellent!!!! I didn't have green pepper so I topped with a little bit of green onion. I only make ham twice a year so was thinking I could make this with smoked sausage too. I did add a little bit of salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel August 30, 2014
Ham and Potato Casserole