25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and good. I made some alterations to the recipe. Added salt and pepper based on the other reviews. Also mixed onions and garlic (cooked quickly in a fry pan) into the c/chicken mix and substituted 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk (it's what I had).

Then I threw in a can of Ortega, green Chilis (the little can) into the soup mix too.

I added mixed vegetables while my wife said, "You're adding more stuff?! You're wrecking it... Blah, blah, blah." ... But it was Great. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebobo January 02, 2011

Very tasty and a nice way to use up leftover ham. I used Monterey Jack cheese in place of cheddar. I served with biscuits and steamed peas for a quick evening meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Nora December 29, 2007

A good and solid every day meal for the family, liked by both adults and kids and great way to use left over ham. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken, as I only had mushroom. Next time I will make it with chicken. Still very good. I did not have egg noodles so I substituted the noodles with penne pasta which also worked well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini October 29, 2008

Needed a recipe for leftover ham. Made this but also added sautéed onions and mushrooms and some frozen peas cause I had them. This is one of those "I can eat this until it comes out of my ears" recipes. My husband said it was tasty and he doesn't even like ham! Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjpinko November 05, 2014

I made this for my toddler. I used pre-diced ham (the chunks are too big for her) and instead of using cream of chicken soup I made it with cream of mushroom soup. I added diced onions as well. All in all a great dish and reminded me of scalloped potatoes and ham but with noodles. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere March 28, 2014

yum. per previous suggestions I sauteed onions, garlic and celery together and added that to the ham. I also tossed frozen peas into the pot of noodles just before they finished cooking. The peas kept their color beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH September 11, 2013

This is a 5 star for ease, and simple ingredients. I NOW have a recipe to use up that cream of chicken can that has been staring at me for sometime. I too added the fried up onion and garlic but that is how I like my mac & cheese too. This is like a very creamy & easy mac & cheese recipe but with a ham kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhealth2000 April 26, 2013

A big hit with left over ham. Used 1/2 a 12 oz pkg of egg noodles and added about 1.5 c frozen broccoli cuts to cook with the noodles. Colby Jack cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc January 02, 2013

This was easy to make and very good. I was happy we found something good to do with all the leftover ham we had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coolrae1979 December 27, 2010

I've been looking for easy recipes to stock my freezer with, came across this one and decided to try it. The amount of ham I had on hand was 2 cups, so that was used.For a bit more seasoning, ground black pepper was sprinkled over each layer of the soup/milk mixture. I baked it for 30 minutes.Then removed the foil and at this point it seemed to be a little watery. So I drained the liquid and added some extra cheese to the top and baked for another 10 minutes. Then I let it " rest " took a couple of bites,( well, more than a couple ;) ) And this recipe is what I will call " real comfort food " I'm sure going to make this again. Thank you for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 28, 2010
Ham and Noodle Casserole