Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Lentil Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Lentil Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2010

      This was pretty decent; a bit bland for our tastes but easily fixable. My wife and I ate it the first night after following the recipe precisely, save for cutting the amount of spinach. The flavor improves as do many soups after a night in the 'fridge. It's amazing how much a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes improved the flavor. I also added Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and at the very end, additional salt to taste. I'm sorry I didn't measure the additions or I'd include them for anyone who'd want them. Next time I'll quantify the additions for anyone who might find them helpful. The 4 stars is for the recipe as written, with the the changes, I'd give it 5 stars. Of course, everyone perceives tastes differently and I'm sure others would prefer the recipe as written. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Excellent & easy! I used a meaty ham bone that was left over/frozen from our Easter dinner. Took 4 hours in the crock pot. Our family eats of lot of lentil beans - our toddler daughter loves them - so this was nice change up on my usual lentil bean soup. I did add half a tablespoon of ginger paste (we liked spice!) and it didn't overwhelm the dish at all. I'm Mexican so we use lemon as a garnish to a lot of our soups/stews - so here it was a welcomed garnish to the soup. It was tasty, flavorful & warm on one of the last rainy nights in a Southern CA spring! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Good way to use some leftover ham. If I made it again, I'd spice it up a little with the suggestions below (which I should have read BEFORE I made it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      delicious! I didn't measure the carrots, added some roasted red pepper flakes, and I left out the celery, spinach, and lemon (which I didn't have to hand). I sauteed the onions and spices in a little olive oil, added the rest and brought to a boil, then simmered it on the stovetop for an hour as I didn't have a lot of time. I'll definitely be making this again! edited to add: the lemon juice is REALLY great in this, and the spinach too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Very good! I can't eat Spinch so omitted that and it was still really good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      THis dish was well received at the dinner table last night! I did what was called for except I added a drained & rinsed can of chickpeas. I did that for two reasons, first when I looked at the pictures I thought I saw them and second, they go so well with lentils. Anyway, it turned out quite yummy....and so easy to make! OOPS....I forgot....didn't have any sppinach so I used beet greens instead....still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This recipe is a delightfully pleasant change to the usual ham-and-potato dishes commonly found. I used one ham steak, only had one cup of lentils so made up the other cup by using barley. Other than that, made the recipe to the letter. Dont leave the lemon juice out - it adds a really pleasant freshness to the dish. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe. It will be eaten regularly in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I read the reviews and decided to try it. We made it as written, and unfortunately, we were quite disappointed. It didn't have any zip to it. It was rather bland and flavorless. Even the smoked ham didn't help. Sorry, Lauralie, but this wasn't very good in our opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This was best on the second day. I made just as written and adjusted the seasonings after it was done. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I love recipes that I can throw together in my crockpot and forget about until dinner. This quick and easy soup is exactly that. The ham I used wasn't particularly smoky, so I added a small amount of liquid smoke. Also, I needed to adjust the seasonings before serving by adding some additional black pepper, as well as some garlic powder, and shallot salt. The addition of the spinach added a wonderful flavor. This soup was enjoyed on one of our first chilly evenings of the season. Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your football pool win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is really great, TRUE! Ours was done in 3 hours too! Mashed it at the end, don't know why I did do! This is a definately keeper like what was said in last review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      *Highly Recommended* This recipe goes right into my Personal Favorites Cookbook. I used my 4 quart slow cooker and it came to within an inch of the top. I used 2 cups of vegetable broth and 2 cups of water vs 4 cups of water because I had veggie broth in the refrigerator that I needed to use up. I cooked the stew on high for 4.5 hours and the lentils were very tender. I actually hesitated to add the spinach and lemon juice because it was so delicious already, but I trust Lauralie's recipes so I added them- *WOW* it was even more delicious. DS, 15, has been picky lately and even he enthusiastically asked for seconds. Thanks for sharing Lori and thanks to Annacia for recommending :) I did not take a photo as Annacia's was so lovely and captures the stew beautifully- Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Ok, I'm about to rave here. This is a simple, easy on the budget dish that provides very good nutrition while being very low in fat and calories. If that weren't enough it also delivers truly outstanding taste. I skipped the lemon for DH's sake and was glad that I did because he loved it. We both did and by mutual agreement it's going into our "Regular" menu lineup. I've not had the best of luck in the past with lentil's in the Crockpot so I made this on the stove top. It was an hr and a half start to finish and it tastes like it been on a low simmer all day long. It also makes very generous servings, I made a 2 serving amount and we both had large bowls and there is enough left for a lunch another day. I should also say that I used all water and added dry chicken soup base to suite our taste. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Lentil Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (540 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    12%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1574.7 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 22.2 g
    88%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 36.0 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites