13 Reviews

This was pretty decent; a bit bland for our tastes but easily fixable. My wife and I ate it the first night after following the recipe precisely, save for cutting the amount of spinach. The flavor improves as do many soups after a night in the 'fridge. It's amazing how much a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes improved the flavor. I also added Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and at the very end, additional salt to taste. I'm sorry I didn't measure the additions or I'd include them for anyone who'd want them. Next time I'll quantify the additions for anyone who might find them helpful. The 4 stars is for the recipe as written, with the the changes, I'd give it 5 stars. Of course, everyone perceives tastes differently and I'm sure others would prefer the recipe as written. Thanks for posting this.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox May 08, 2010

Excellent & easy! I used a meaty ham bone that was left over/frozen from our Easter dinner. Took 4 hours in the crock pot. Our family eats of lot of lentil beans - our toddler daughter loves them - so this was nice change up on my usual lentil bean soup. I did add half a tablespoon of ginger paste (we liked spice!) and it didn't overwhelm the dish at all. I'm Mexican so we use lemon as a garnish to a lot of our soups/stews - so here it was a welcomed garnish to the soup. It was tasty, flavorful & warm on one of the last rainy nights in a Southern CA spring! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaca April 22, 2010

THis dish was well received at the dinner table last night! I did what was called for except I added a drained & rinsed can of chickpeas. I did that for two reasons, first when I looked at the pictures I thought I saw them and second, they go so well with lentils. Anyway, it turned out quite yummy....and so easy to make! OOPS....I forgot....didn't have any sppinach so I used beet greens instead....still yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 January 07, 2010

This recipe is a delightfully pleasant change to the usual ham-and-potato dishes commonly found. I used one ham steak, only had one cup of lentils so made up the other cup by using barley. Other than that, made the recipe to the letter. Dont leave the lemon juice out - it adds a really pleasant freshness to the dish. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe. It will be eaten regularly in this house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bokenpop aka Madeleine May 12, 2009

Good way to use some leftover ham. If I made it again, I'd spice it up a little with the suggestions below (which I should have read BEFORE I made it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larry in DC September 23, 2010

delicious! I didn't measure the carrots, added some roasted red pepper flakes, and I left out the celery, spinach, and lemon (which I didn't have to hand). I sauteed the onions and spices in a little olive oil, added the rest and brought to a boil, then simmered it on the stovetop for an hour as I didn't have a lot of time. I'll definitely be making this again! edited to add: the lemon juice is REALLY great in this, and the spinach too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j-jitterbug February 21, 2010

Very good! I can't eat Spinch so omitted that and it was still really good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Mo February 07, 2010

I read the reviews and decided to try it. We made it as written, and unfortunately, we were quite disappointed. It didn't have any zip to it. It was rather bland and flavorless. Even the smoked ham didn't help. Sorry, Lauralie, but this wasn't very good in our opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avblume May 24, 2008

This was best on the second day. I made just as written and adjusted the seasonings after it was done. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing January 26, 2008

I love recipes that I can throw together in my crockpot and forget about until dinner. This quick and easy soup is exactly that. The ham I used wasn't particularly smoky, so I added a small amount of liquid smoke. Also, I needed to adjust the seasonings before serving by adding some additional black pepper, as well as some garlic powder, and shallot salt. The addition of the spinach added a wonderful flavor. This soup was enjoyed on one of our first chilly evenings of the season. Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your football pool win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill October 19, 2007
Ham and Lentil Stew