Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2012

      So easy & delicious. And while rich & creamy, not unhealthy (no cream, cream cheese, cheese, etc). You wouldn't know it was good for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Easy Recipe to make and very tasty.I would recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This was a great way to finish up the last of our Christmas ham. Great - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I made this the first time 3 years ago. I made a note then that it was good and that the Mr. said to make it again sometime. I don't know why it took me 3 years to get around to it again, but I am glad that I did. It is a very good soup. I used leftover ham from the freezer, skim milk worked fine for us and I added a few chopped carrots. It is filling hearty soup that I could have eaten until I popped. I used restraint, however. Can't wait for lunch this week to scarf the leftovers down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Very tasty! Made in the crockpot, first cooking the potatoes, onions, celery, ham, thyme, and a little fennel in 2 cups of broth for about 2 hours on high. Then added some diced red pepper and anaheim pepper. Cooked another hour and half. Then added corn (didn't have creamed corn) and about 1 cup of heavy cream. About 45 minutes before serving I thickened the chowder by dissolving a couple tablespoons of corn starch to a cup of milk. A great comfort dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Worth 6 points. Dinner guests loved it. Fixed it a second time and consumed it within 24 hours. Am now forced to only prepare this for company. Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was tasty. I used 2 cups milk/1 cup 1/2 & 1/2. I nuked 2 potatoes and sliced them. I think this soup could use some extra flavor/zing but overall pretty dang good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I wrote a review as "luckylouise" on Jan 29, 2006 and what I meant to say was EVAPORATED milk, not condensed (big difference!!) Hey, they don't call me spacey for nothing, LOL!! Anyway, I still make this soup all the time and it's always a big hit!! Great for leftover Xmas ham...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      My whole family enjoyed this chowder. It was even good the second day. I only keep skim milk in the house and I think I would have enjoyed the cowder a little more had it been creamier. It may be worth buying a small container of 2% or even whole milk for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Overall a tasty chowder. I had to add alot more salt - maybe I didn't have enough ham. I think I am going to add more onion next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      this is a great recipe; i will definitely be making it again in the future. just a few tweaks; i'm in the UK, and apparently they don't believe in diced ham, so i got two packages of deli ham and sliced into squares - it works in a pinch! :) also, i'm not a big fan of spicy foods, so i left out the cayenne and had no thyme on hand. added a bit of black pepper. makes TONS of soup, great leftovers - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      just looked this up again to make for supper and saw that I had never reviewed it. I have made this at least 4 times and we love it! I have even made a hem just so I can have some more of this delicious soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Would be nice if the recipe included the amount of water to boil the potatoes in, and if that water is included in the recipe. It's a little confusing as to what mixture to add the flour and milk. I made it using about 2-3 cups of water, but I fried my onions and celery first and boiled my potatoes in that mixture. When potatoes were still a little hard, I added the ham, seasonings, thickening, and corn. In addition, I added some chicken boullion for flavor. It turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      A very creamy chowder. Also it was easy and quick to prepare. I added carrot and more onion. Great recipe.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      An excellent recipe, tasty and healthy. I didn't have any ham when I made it so I used bacon instead, first sauteing it then adding it to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I enjoyed this recipe as is. Not too difficult to make and great taste. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      Wonderful soup, I can't think of I thing I could do to it that could possibly make it better! Thanks for posting it, I really enjoyed it, so creamy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Great soup! I didn't have any fresh milk so I used 2 cups of condensed milk and 1 cup chicken broth instead, omitted the flour and added 1 cup of crinkle-cut sliced carrots that I had on hand. Also, I did not pre-cook the potatoes but cooked them in the soup and it worked out just fine. I like my soups chunky so I sliced the celery and cubed the potatoes (I used Yukon Gold), rather than diced (except for the ham and onions). This is definately a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This was delicious!! Will make again and again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Perfect comfort food for a cold day. Great way to use leftover ham. Easy to throw together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.9
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    37%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 44.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 296.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites