28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup is a great way to use leftover ham. I added carrots, garlic, and ham bullion to the soup and a little more cayenne then called for in the instructions. Yummy. Great recipe for a cold night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie1989 November 26, 2014

Wonderful recipe Dancing Cook, it was awesome. We really enjoyed this tasty chowder. The base was silky, smooth and delicious. Made exactly as written, and I would not change a thing. What a great way to use up leftover ham. A great meal for this cold and stormy night. Served with homemade sour cream biscuits for a terrific meal. Made for Menu tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 31, 2014

So easy & delicious. And while rich & creamy, not unhealthy (no cream, cream cheese, cheese, etc). You wouldn't know it was good for you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bev91945 January 03, 2012

Easy Recipe to make and very tasty.I would recommend it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alleycat3791 March 21, 2011

This was a great way to finish up the last of our Christmas ham. Great - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckySon December 26, 2010

I made this the first time 3 years ago. I made a note then that it was good and that the Mr. said to make it again sometime. I don't know why it took me 3 years to get around to it again, but I am glad that I did. It is a very good soup. I used leftover ham from the freezer, skim milk worked fine for us and I added a few chopped carrots. It is filling hearty soup that I could have eaten until I popped. I used restraint, however. Can't wait for lunch this week to scarf the leftovers down!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndianaNana January 24, 2010

Very tasty! Made in the crockpot, first cooking the potatoes, onions, celery, ham, thyme, and a little fennel in 2 cups of broth for about 2 hours on high. Then added some diced red pepper and anaheim pepper. Cooked another hour and half. Then added corn (didn't have creamed corn) and about 1 cup of heavy cream. About 45 minutes before serving I thickened the chowder by dissolving a couple tablespoons of corn starch to a cup of milk. A great comfort dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench November 16, 2009

Worth 6 points. Dinner guests loved it. Fixed it a second time and consumed it within 24 hours. Am now forced to only prepare this for company. Amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donp17 January 28, 2009

This was tasty. I used 2 cups milk/1 cup 1/2 & 1/2. I nuked 2 potatoes and sliced them. I think this soup could use some extra flavor/zing but overall pretty dang good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz December 27, 2008

I wrote a review as "luckylouise" on Jan 29, 2006 and what I meant to say was EVAPORATED milk, not condensed (big difference!!) Hey, they don't call me spacey for nothing, LOL!! Anyway, I still make this soup all the time and it's always a big hit!! Great for leftover Xmas ham...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spacekitty December 27, 2008
Ham and Corn Chowder