8 Reviews

Sorry about this, but we really did not enjoy this dish. It had all the things we would normally enjoy in it, but somehow didn't work for us. Possibly there was too much flour - it tasted rather chalky. I made sure the sauce was smooth before the addition of the cheese, but I could really tase the flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbe467 June 19, 2003

this is really great. easy to put together great side dish. Made forRECIPE SWAP #21 - October 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 October 26, 2008

LOVED IT! I made it up in the morning planning to pop it in the oven at night, but I got home too late so I just reheated it on the stove. It was delicious! Thank you for a great recipe that promises to be a keeper! Made for potluck tag, please see my rating system.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup February 06, 2008

I really loved this, but I am a pasta-holic. This is comfort food at it's best. I thought the flavor was great and no extra seasoning was required. Made for PAC Fall '07. Thanks again Kim, your recipes never disappoint!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn October 19, 2007

This was a big hit at my house! I easily doubled the recipe and it fit into a 13 x 9 dish. The ham I used was already cut into cubes. It's a wonderful 1-dish meal. Very rich, creamy and satisfying. Kid-pleasing AND adult-pleasing. Although the parm/breadcrumb topping is great, I think if your were really pressed for time, you could skip the baking part. Thanx for sharing this recipe. I'll be repeating this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 09, 2007

I did add a small chopped onion, used a colby jack cheese and cubed my ham rather than make thin strips. The cheese sauce was delicious but the sauce to pasta ratio just wasn't there for me. Should I do this again I will make a 1 1/2 recipe of cheese sauce to the 1/2 lb of pasta. It was very good. Made this for SWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 03, 2007

I liked this recipe - I was searching for something to do with left-over ham and this fit the bill. That said I should point out that I altered it somewhat - substituting low fat cheddar, skim milk and whole wheat farfalle, then not having quite enough cheese on hand (1 cup short). I also eased up on the parmessan - I've been told I need to watch fat/cholesterol. So it was a teensy bit on the bland side but overall everyone enjoyed it. With the elder son away at college, it provided two dinners for the three of us. Best yet it was easy - hubby says I worship the ground he walks on by giving him burnt offerings every night for dinner, and this was a snap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janeway October 19, 2004

This made an easy and tasty meal for us tonight. I made 3/4 of the recipe because there were only two dining, but used all the ingredients and proportional amounts. I did, however, use cheddar cheese, as I couldn't find colby. I am rating this because the Cooks' Thesaurus lists colby as a substitute for cheddar. The sauce was smooth and flavorful. We enjoyed it. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao March 19, 2004
Ham and Cheese Bow Ties