26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent and easy to make! I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tadish January 04, 2004

This was surprisingly good! I browned some bacon and then sauteed the chopped ham, onions and carrots in the same pan for a minute before going on with the recipe. (and added the chopped bacon too). I didn't have any corn, and I used milk, but the end result is scrumptious anyway. I'm looking forward to my lunches this week! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LousyChef February 23, 2015

Decided to try this last minute so a couple of items were necessarily substituted. 1. Light cream (1/3 cup skim milk, 2/3 cup whipping cream) 2. Frozen corn (1-15oz can whole kernel sweet corn) Used all s&p. Simple and easy. Great flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 22, 2015

With all the ingredients readily on hand I threw this soup together in a flash. It smelled so good on the cook-top that I couldn't wait to scoop out a taste. I am writing this review while sitting here spooning this wonderful soup into my mouth! I only needed to adjust the salt a touch, otherwise made exactly as directed. Fabulous soup, Lorac!! This is one recipe I will definitely make again and again. Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 29, 2014

This was indeed really delicious. A delightful surprise. I thought it was very tasty before adding the light cream and corn too, but with adding those it just got better. You could stop before adding the cream for a lighter soup; if you use a low-sodium, fat-free chicken broth, as I did, it makes it a bit more diet conscious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyJS999 March 04, 2012

Great basic recipe. I added garlic powder, cayenne pepper and a dash uf cumin. I added the cabbage after it came to a boil, and I cooked it on simmer for a while longer than suggested. I added milk (didn't have cream) just before it was done cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erikinfla November 12, 2011

Thank you for this recipe! With the holidays, my family always has a ham, and we have ham for days upon days. This soup recipe was excellent! The family requested I make this 4 nights in a row! This was the best ham and cabbage soup. I fried the ham up a little bit and used just boullion diluted and it turned out excellent! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiska1987 December 27, 2010

Delicious! I sauted the onion before adding the rest of the ingredients because I just like a milder onion flavor. I also added a dash of cayenne because my family likes a little heat. The corn added a nice texture to the creamy soup. Loved it & will be making it again, and again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TerriD. April 11, 2010

This was an easy recipe to throw together and a great way to use up leftover ham. However, it was fairly bland. I added garlic salt and 1 chicken boullion cube. I didn't add the cream or frozen corn, maybe if I had it would have been a bit tastier. I will try this again with some variation. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie April 10, 2010

Delicious and easy recipe! I used leftover ham from Christmas and added some fresh garlic. Used milk instead of cream. This is a wonderful soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kar's Kitchen December 27, 2009
Ham and Cabbage Soup