Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2004

      Excellent and easy to make! I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      With all the ingredients readily on hand I threw this soup together in a flash. It smelled so good on the cook-top that I couldn't wait to scoop out a taste. I am writing this review while sitting here spooning this wonderful soup into my mouth! I only needed to adjust the salt a touch, otherwise made exactly as directed. Fabulous soup, Lorac!! This is one recipe I will definitely make again and again. Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      This was indeed really delicious. A delightful surprise. I thought it was very tasty before adding the light cream and corn too, but with adding those it just got better. You could stop before adding the cream for a lighter soup; if you use a low-sodium, fat-free chicken broth, as I did, it makes it a bit more diet conscious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Great basic recipe. I added garlic powder, cayenne pepper and a dash uf cumin. I added the cabbage after it came to a boil, and I cooked it on simmer for a while longer than suggested. I added milk (didn't have cream) just before it was done cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Thank you for this recipe! With the holidays, my family always has a ham, and we have ham for days upon days. This soup recipe was excellent! The family requested I make this 4 nights in a row! This was the best ham and cabbage soup. I fried the ham up a little bit and used just boullion diluted and it turned out excellent! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Delicious! I sauted the onion before adding the rest of the ingredients because I just like a milder onion flavor. I also added a dash of cayenne because my family likes a little heat. The corn added a nice texture to the creamy soup. Loved it & will be making it again, and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This was an easy recipe to throw together and a great way to use up leftover ham. However, it was fairly bland. I added garlic salt and 1 chicken boullion cube. I didn't add the cream or frozen corn, maybe if I had it would have been a bit tastier. I will try this again with some variation. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Delicious and easy recipe! I used leftover ham from Christmas and added some fresh garlic. Used milk instead of cream. This is a wonderful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      the best! i did use stock saved from making cabbage and cornbeef and next time i would leave out the cream, but it was really good and look forward to making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      DH and I had a soup similar to this at a little seafood restaurant last year. It was served as the soup of the day along with their salad bar. We loved it so much, I asked for the recipe, but they wouldn't share. When I saw your recipe, I decided I would try it this fall since it's too hot here in GA for soup, but DH came down with a nasty sinus infection last week and mentioned he would like to have some of that Ham & Cabbage soup from that restaurant. LOL, I remembered your recipe and not only did he love it but my 16 yr. old DD and her friend loved it as well. They each ate two bowls. They added shredded cheddar and bacon bits on top and it was a delish addition. LOL, I've already had a call from DD's friends mom asking for the recipe since her DD claimed it was "The best soup she's ever had" and she's a picky eater. Guess there's no better compliment than that! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Very tasty. The corn gave it a hint of sweetness which was very nice. The only thing I didn't like was how the cream tended to "set up" and look curdled after it simmered for awhile. It didn't affect the taste at all, though. I think the solution might be to wait to add the cream until right before serving, giving it just enough time to heat while you stir the soup frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      So easy and so delicious! My husband actually cooked this one, so that was a nice treat also. We eliminated the corn and cream, but still loved it! Makes a great midday meal with crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I had a lot of ham left over from Christmas and I always try to make some kind of ham and cabbage dish for New Year's Day. WOW! I made a few changes to the recipe. I added 3 cups of water, because there was not enough broth for my soup typ taste and increased the cream to 12 oz. Also only added half the cabbage with the potatoes. Added other half with the corn to avoid it becoming too soggy. My DH ate 4 bowls!!! I served it with a nice rosemary bread sliced and buttered lightly. We are going to have this again for lunch today and DH believes it will be even better because of the time the potatoes will have to soak up flavor. An amazing recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      We enjoyed this very much. I didn't have a bay leaf, but that was the only change I made. I used half & half for the cream. It made a big batch. I thought about trying to freeze part of it, but it looks like the hubby and I will be able to polish it off! Thanks for posting. This is a keeper for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Very good. I followed it pretty much as written except that I didn't have the full amount of potato and I used milk instead of cream. I would say the yield was off... it made 9 cups of soup (and that was with less potato) so 4 servings would be pretty hefty! Also it had lots of "innerds" so I think it could have easily had 2 or more cups of broth. I added the cabbage toward the end with the onion, saving the milk for just at the end. I'm glad I did because I like my cabbage to have substance and I think with adding it earlier it would have disintigrated. I served it with Sourdough Angel Biscuits which went great with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      This was easy to put together and economical too. I used leftoever ham, had all the ingredients in the pantry. I added an extra cup of broth and an extra cup of cream. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I'm sorry, but we didn't like this soup at all. I followed the recipe, didn't change a thing. We both like cabbage and ham, but maybe just not in soup. The flavors just weren't there for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This is the way to use leftover ham! Quick, easy and delicious. The only changes I made were using fresh parsley (added at the end) and a clove of crushed garlic. Extra fresh ground pepper when serving is a must!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      This is the best soup I have ever made! Great recipe! I will be lightening it up next time to cut the fat. But it is dreamy as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 754.9
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    41%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 146.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1668.6 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.6 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 46.4 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites