Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Beans

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2002

      I used black eyed peas and ham hocks. Came out very good. Corn bread is a nice touch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      At Di's suggestion, I tried this recipe to use a hambone that I found in my freezer. It was really delicious. The kids really enjoyed this and loved the addition of cornbread. The hambone was seasoned enough, so I didn't need to add additional salt or pepper. I rinsed the beans several times and picked through the soaked beans to get rid of as many of the membranes as possible. I also had a small amount of minced ham that I added in to heat through. Thank you for posting this, it will be a favorite for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Very yummy! Easy to make. I used black-eyed beans, chicken stock instead of water and a pound of baked ham diced small instead of the ham bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      My husband said this was definitely a five star recipe...even though he kept complaining while I was making it..."don't put a carrot in it" (I did anyway), "are beans supposed to have garlic in them?","that smells pretty strong". He wound up eating three plates full, as did my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter (different size plates!) They both loved it...great recipe! Thanks, Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Excellent! My husband said it's the best he's ever had. Super easy with just a slight bit of planning ahead and perfect for a cold winter night. I used the ham bone & leftover meat from Awesome Baked Ham #46922. I'd saved some of the cooking liquid/stock from that dinner as well and added it in on the last step and warmed through; the brown sugar sweetness added an extra depth of flavor to the beans. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      Yum! Great after-Easter comfort food...just as I remember my mother making it. I did add everything to a crockpot at step #8 and just slow cooked on low for 5 hours while I was away at work. I came home to a wonderful aroma. I then removed the bone and added a bit more of the leftover (diced) Easter ham to the pot. This is a very filling and satisfying meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      My son said after first bite "Oh Mom this is good stuff!" It was delicious comfort food as attested to by the other reviewers. I used black beans because I had no navy beans on hand, it was still hearty. I will be making this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      I am so glad that I came across your recipe! My mom used almost exactly this recipe to make a big pot of beans and she served them with home fried potatoes. To me, this is the comfort food of my childhood! It has a hearty, wonderful flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I left out the carrot and served this over crumbled sweet corn bread and topped with chopped raw onion. This is a great way to get the full value out of a baked ham by using the hambone for this meal. I am going to buy tortillas tonight and serve leftovers taco/burrito style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      We are looking to keep our diet low fat & low calories, but good tasting and satisfying. This recipe fits all that criteria. Easy to make, can make ahead of time. I used ham from leftover bone-in ham and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      pretty much how I make it and it is definitely delicious! I add finely chopped celery and don't use a ham bone because it has so much fat - I use diced ham fat removed and sprinkle red pepper flakes in also...love it, thanks for sharing! great for getting fiber in your diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This was my first time using dried beans, and it worked really well. We did the quick soak, it worked great. I added a little bit of cayenne pepper (maybe 1/8th of a teaspoon) because we like a tiny bit of bite in our ham and beans. Overall very tasty. Next time I will probably use chicken broth, just for the added flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      My first time making anything with a hambone! DELICIOUS!! I felt like it needed some brown sugar and I didn't have any so I added a little bbq sauce and oh my gosh so good!! I'm going to make some corn bread and this will be our dinner. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Reminded me of mom's which I could never replicate till now, thanks!! I used 2 ham hocks simmered for 3 hours ahead of time instead of the ham bone and then used the water I cooked them in as the base instead of cold water. Also this freezes very well and tasted better the second time. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was a very Easy recipe, and Great Flavor! I used 6 cups of Chicken broth instead of the water... and about 2-3 cups of left over baked ham. Best recipe ever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I used great northern beans as that is what I had on hand, my families verdict... excellent! We did not even use salt or pepper, it was just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Excellent. Delicious, stick to your ribs comfort food! (I used a bag of mixed beans.) I know what I'm going to be doing with my ham bones from now on! I made whole wheat corn bread to go with it...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Wow!!This soup was excellent! It was so tasty. I didn't have any onions so I used 2 tablespoons of minced onions. I used 2 carrots instead of one. Besides that I didn't change anything. I will definitely make this again. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Oh yes, DiB's!!!! This is how I make Ham and Beans!!! It is wonderful!!! I hope lots of people try it as it is yummy!! One thing I do is squirt a bit of ketchup into the bean soup. It really does add something to the taste!! Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      This was so flavoful! I used 1/3 pinto beans, 1/3 red beans, and 1/3 lenti beans. I also added 2 more carrots. Highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    10%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 26.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 19.3 g
    77%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites