21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used black eyed peas and ham hocks. Came out very good. Corn bread is a nice touch!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam4 December 24, 2002

At Di's suggestion, I tried this recipe to use a hambone that I found in my freezer. It was really delicious. The kids really enjoyed this and loved the addition of cornbread. The hambone was seasoned enough, so I didn't need to add additional salt or pepper. I rinsed the beans several times and picked through the soaked beans to get rid of as many of the membranes as possible. I also had a small amount of minced ham that I added in to heat through. Thank you for posting this, it will be a favorite for us!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay March 30, 2003

Very yummy! Easy to make. I used black-eyed beans, chicken stock instead of water and a pound of baked ham diced small instead of the ham bone.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefiebig June 04, 2003

My husband said this was definitely a five star recipe...even though he kept complaining while I was making it..."don't put a carrot in it" (I did anyway), "are beans supposed to have garlic in them?","that smells pretty strong". He wound up eating three plates full, as did my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter (different size plates!) They both loved it...great recipe! Thanks, Di!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mainecooncat October 15, 2003

Excellent! My husband said it's the best he's ever had. Super easy with just a slight bit of planning ahead and perfect for a cold winter night. I used the ham bone & leftover meat from Awesome Baked Ham #46922. I'd saved some of the cooking liquid/stock from that dinner as well and added it in on the last step and warmed through; the brown sugar sweetness added an extra depth of flavor to the beans. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki January 16, 2007

Yum! Great after-Easter comfort food...just as I remember my mother making it. I did add everything to a crockpot at step #8 and just slow cooked on low for 5 hours while I was away at work. I came home to a wonderful aroma. I then removed the bone and added a bit more of the leftover (diced) Easter ham to the pot. This is a very filling and satisfying meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. April 13, 2004

My son said after first bite "Oh Mom this is good stuff!" It was delicious comfort food as attested to by the other reviewers. I used black beans because I had no navy beans on hand, it was still hearty. I will be making this one again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everblest December 29, 2003

I am so glad that I came across your recipe! My mom used almost exactly this recipe to make a big pot of beans and she served them with home fried potatoes. To me, this is the comfort food of my childhood! It has a hearty, wonderful flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faithfull October 23, 2013

I left out the carrot and served this over crumbled sweet corn bread and topped with chopped raw onion. This is a great way to get the full value out of a baked ham by using the hambone for this meal. I am going to buy tortillas tonight and serve leftovers taco/burrito style.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain June 25, 2012

We are looking to keep our diet low fat & low calories, but good tasting and satisfying. This recipe fits all that criteria. Easy to make, can make ahead of time. I used ham from leftover bone-in ham and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakeman March 31, 2010
Ham and Beans