Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Bean Soup (Crock Pot Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Bean Soup (Crock Pot Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2004

      Really delicious and super easy. I used diced ham and I served the soup with cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Delicious! I was looking for a way to use my fat leftover hambone from Christmas and I came across this recipe. My family loves ham and bean soup, and this didn't let them down! I scoured my grocery store for a single stalk of celery that they had not cut the leaves off of, but to no avail. So instead I added a pinch of celery salt in place of the leaves and salt. I also added a hearty dash of Chipotle Tabasco, and served it with toasty french bread. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      We didn't find this to be a "thick, hearty soup" like it says in the directions. I made exactly as directed, except I left the salt out until the soup was almost done. I didn't think I would need it as there was quite a bit of ham on the bone and ham can be quite salty sometimes. I did end up adding it in attempts to give it more flavor. My family found this quite bland, the soup was hardly touched.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I used Lipton Golden Onion Soup mix since I didn't have an onion. It turned out really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I've made this flexible recipe a few times now, and use it for the water-to-beans ratio. It's great for doubling and freezing in ziploc bags! I add more celery, carrots diced small, and plenty of fresh rosemary. I also omit the salt. For a thicker soup, if you're not using the crock pot, you could leave the lid off and let some water evaporate, but we like it as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This was a good base but I made some changes. I left out the celery leaves and insead added diced carrots. I used 1/2T seasoned salt to flavor and 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth. I ended up moving it to the stove top and adding some cornstarch to thicken it otherwise it was too watery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      This was not bad, but certainly doesn't fit the description given as "thick and hearty". Very easy to make, though. I found salt was not necessary as the ham provided enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      My husband loved this soup...said it was just like his Mom's!! I didn't have any celery leaves on hand, but it tasted just fine without it. For added ease, I also used pre-cubed ham from the deli. Now you may think this is strange, but my husband likes to shred up home made bread, top it with the soup, and then he sprinkles it with vinegar...he says that's how his family has always done it!! Anyway, thanks for submitting such a yummy (and easy) recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Nice traditional recipe. I love making beans in the crock-pot vs stove top. I used 1/3 of a 10lb ham butt roast which ended up being a larger piece of meat than the recipe called for. DH really enjoyed the added meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Bean Soup (Crock Pot Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    96%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 147.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bones

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites