Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham and Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2003

      This is incredibly delicious and TOTAL comfort food. The recipe is very easy to make, I used red potatoes and sliced them VERY thin, but still had to add an additional 30 minutes for this to be cooked properly. The only thing that did was to drive me crazy waiting to get to them because the smell coming from my oven was heavenly. Thanks Inez for the great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I actually made this without the ham for a side dish. I sometimes make scalloped potatoes using 1-2 cans cream of chicken soup and a little milk, but I pre-cook the potatoes & onions in a large frying pan in about 2 cups of water first for about 10 minutes first before layering in my casserole, then they only need about 30-45 mins. in the oven. I did not do that this time as I just didn't feel like dirtying another large dish, so I cooked these according to the recipe,except I covered with foil and removed for the last 1/2 hr. which I thought was probably good as they browned and crisped up a fair bit after this so I wonder if they would have been too browned on top for my liking without the foil for the entire time. I cooked for the time stated and once I served them up, the odd one throughout that was cut a little thicker, could have used an extra few minutes, but I certainly did not have any major problems with these not being cooked well. I really enjoyed the addition of the thyme as I like the flavour of it.I sprinkled a little extra on top along with a little parsley for colour. We enjoyed as a side dish and I would like to try again with the ham,I bet the flavours complement well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      Great comfort food!! I was looking for something easy to throw together and this fit the bill. I used a honey ham steak, cubed, half of an onion, chopped, a 20 oz. pkg. of refrigerated home fries, (sliced potatoes), and shredded cheddar cheese. I really didn't measure any of this stuff, just layered it into an 8x8 casserole dish and poured the soup/milk/thyme mixture (I did measure the milk and thyme) over it. I baked it for the required time, and it came out perfect! Served it with steamed buttered baby carrots and hot rolls. This is so good I'll be taking the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for an easy-peasy delicious recipe, Nezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Used up my last over Easter ham to make this dish. So glad, because my teenage son, absolutely loved it! I was thrilled when he complimented me not once but twice on how good those potatoes were. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      This was excellent! I prepared the casserole while my kids were napping and then threw it in the oven an hour and a half before supper time. I've been searching for lower calorie meals that would satisfy both my DH and my picky kids - and we all loved this! I used cream of celery rather than mushroom because it was lower in calories and a whole tsp of thyme. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      This was very good. I didn't have shredded american so I used shredded cheddar. I also used half & half to make the sauce creamier and it was good. I didn't know how thick to slice my potatoes so next time I will slice them paper thin. Mine I slices thick. Thanks for sharing!!!! I will make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

    • on December 01, 2007

      I had leftover Thanksgiving ham and yukon gold potatoes but used cheddar in place of the American cheese. This was super and easy and delicious. The leftovers were even better! Loved the crusty edges mine got. In our house, the crusty edges are something to fight over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I made this for my husband, the guy who MUST have meat at every meal, and he loved it. I cooked it covered for the first 45 minutes and added french fried onions when I uncovered it. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      This was awesome. Everyone loved it. They wanted seconds. i had 3 people ask for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      I didn't have cream of mushroom soup handy so I used cream of broccoli and it was really delicious! I also threw in some frozen vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) with the ham and this was great. Cooking time was accurate, and I overstuffed my 2 casserole dishes to feed my 4 kids. I did cover the casseroles with aluminum foil for about 45 minutes of the total cooking time. Two of my kids even asked for seconds. Leftovers the next day were even better. I can't wait to try it with the cream of mushroom soup! Easy, easy recipe! Quick and delicious! Another great recipe by the GREAT MizzNezz! My kids and I give this FIVE STARS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This is a great casserole especially when you want to use up left over ham. I sliced the potatoes very thin and cooked it covered for about 30 minutes. Then I cooked it uncovered for about 1 hr, It turned out great. Thanks for sharing, MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      This is a very good dish, I had leftover ham to use up so I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I added a few more of my own spices I like but otherwise followed it to the T. Thanks Mizz Nezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      This is a delicious and comforting casserole! It was done in the recommended time for me, and I stacked it in three layers, since I was using a smaller, but deeper casserole dish than a 9x13 pan. I also kept it covered during baking, although the recipe does not specify (that may have been one of the other reviewer's problems with the dish not getting done.). I used the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup, and it really has a nice richness to it. Thank you for a great meal that we will use often. It was wonderful to pop this in the over, head to my daughter's dance practice, and come home to a finished dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      I do not know what (if anything) that I did wrong, but I had to cook this dish for about 2+ HOURS in order to get the potatoes DONE!!! I put it in a 8x11 in. pan, because I don't have a "casserole" dish .... but I have done this before w/ other dishes & have NEVER had to adjust cooking times. I even changed it into a 9x13 in pan (after more than an hour of cooking) to thin out the layers (thinking that maybe it was too thick) & STILL had to cook for an additional hour or so! I cut the potatoes VERY thin so I don't think THAT was the problem. Anyways, I think that I will find another recipe for Ham & Au Gratin Potatoes. I chose this one because I didn't have to cook the potatoes before putting them in the casserole ... maybe I should have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    19%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 21.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 902.3 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites