Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haluski (Pan-Fried Cabbage and Noodles) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haluski (Pan-Fried Cabbage and Noodles)

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      Yummy, quick, and easy. The caraway seeds and brown sugar add a lot of "authenticity" to this dish. The only thing I did differently was to cut back to 3 Tablespoons of butter, use Kluski noodles, and sprinkle some garlic salt on the noodles before I topped them with the cabbage-onion mixture. I will make this again. Thank you so much for sharing a treasured family recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      I've made this a few times, and the only change I made is to use about 2 tblspoons of bacon grease, in place of all the butter. It adds that extra something, and it's a big hit with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      This was wonderfully different and extremely tasty. I did add some Polish sausage so that we could have it as a main. Many thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Wonderful recipe. My husband says it was even better than his father's version. I love it and left out the caraway seeds, but had some left over sour cream (1/2 cup) and threw that in. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Just like the noodles of my childhood! My Slovakian grandmother used to make these for me. I have not had them in 15 years. I made these tonight and the taste was just as I remembered. I did NOT use the caraway seeds. I added a few sprinkles of granulated sugar as well after adding the cabbage to the skillet (yes, I used the brown sugar per the recipe too). Because I was using an anodized pan, I cooked the cabbage longer to get a slightly golden color. Once I added the noodles, I let the whole thing cook for another 10 minutes. This dish was perfection! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      So easy to make and taste so good. I didn't add the caraway seeds. After cabbage and onions were simmering for a while I then turned the heat up between med. - med. high and cooked it until cabbage was slightly browned. Adding plenty of butter as needed. Then I added noodles at this heat and stirred continuously until everything was hot and buttery. Soooo Good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was loved by my family. I added polish sausage and it made a main dish for us. I think I might try just 1 tsp of brown sugar next time. But very easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2014

      Great & quick recipe! As I gathered my recipe supplies, I realized I had no noodles or other recommended pasta types in the house, but I did have some boxed gnocchi in the pantry. I cooked and added it, along with a sprinkling of garlic powder (which actually seemed to enhance the flavor of brown sugar). I did omit the caraway seeds. What a hit; I was extremely pleased with my first-time effort at haluski! I think the next time, I will experiment with the sour cream as some of the other reviewers have tried...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      try this with a grated apple. Yup a grated apple. It adds a delightful flavor. This a staple in our family. Always enough for leftovers.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Made this for two but added 8oz. Spicy pork sausage. Great flavors and very quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      This was delicious and reminded me of my Polish grandmother's cooking. To make the recipe less caloric, I reduced the amount of butter by two-thirds--it wasn't missed. I added some chicken broth to the cabbage to help it caramelize. I also left out the brown sugar. I had no caraway seeds, but added black pepper, paprika, and cumin. I sliced up some vegetarian "sausage" and added it to the dish to make it a full meal. I will certainly make this again--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      This was extreamly great, again I had eating this dish in PA, but it had bacon in it, so I added a pack of bacon fries the cabbage in some of the bacon grease and then switch it in my Dutch oven worth the rest of the ingredients.. Husband said the caraway seeds tastes great when you let it sit the next day for leftovers it gives it a big juicy polish taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Amazing. I love reading other reviews. I cooked the cabbage a bit longer and added about 3/4 cup sour cream to it all at the end (as per a review or two). I cannot go on about it enough, it was SO GOOD. I was also lucky enough to have been lazy with a breakfast pan today, and had about 2 tablespoons of bacon grease on hand. Forget healthy eating today and just ENJOY. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Like another reviewer, I used a little bacon grease, and browned the cabbage a bit, as I love the taste. Years ago I had this a a Polish restaurant, and fell in love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      Yum! This is just about perfect as is. Don't skimp on the sugar. It provides the perfect sweetness! Thanks for the great recipe Kelly M........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is different than anything I have had before...I added a pinch of chicken boullion and nutmeg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      This is good. I served with Italian spicy chicken sausage. I didn't use caraway and only added 1 T of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I used whole grain noodles with the recipe. Other than that, followed exact recipe. A lovely find. Thank you, Kelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Delicious! The leftovers tasted EVEN BETTER the next day! Thank you for this wonderful dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haluski (Pan-Fried Cabbage and Noodles)

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.3
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    53%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 524.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes