Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haluska (Cabbage & Noodles) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haluska (Cabbage & Noodles)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2009

      The recipe I have for this uses bacon fat instead of butter for a little more flavor; I usually just start with cut up bacon and leave it in for a little texture. I also add smoked sausage and it's a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This is very similar to how my Mom made cabbage and noodles except that she always served it with cottage cheese! I like it like this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I'd never had this dish before seeing it on a buffet in PA at Easter. Decided to try it at home. This recipe was the perfect starter. I used half butter/half olive oil. I cooked my egg noodles in turkey broth and combined it all for a very satisfying meal. I will try with sour cream next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I added 1/2 lb to1 lb of sausageto this dish perferably hot sausage so u dont have to add any other spices just brown your sausage and onion togather add the cabbage sprinkle the pepper and salt on top dont stir, cover and let cabbage reduce by half u(u may stirin between but i always sprinkle a lil salt and pepper on top after stiring to let the cabbage pick up the flavorthen i add the sour cream and noodles it taste great and i never have a complaint its also tasty cold

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Basic, yet delicious. You can't go wrong with a classic like this. I like that this recipe uses onions, and not just cabbage. I used sweet onions and they added a nice sweetness. I served with a dallop of low-fat sour cream. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I've used part olive oil and it's still great. I also never serve it with sour cream, which would cut down on the calories too. My Hungarian Mom never served it with sour cream also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Very nice, but a bit bland for us. I added some seasoning salt, Spike Seasoning (which is heavy on the celery seed), and some Garlic Garlic (a Pampered Chef seasoning). We really liked it a lot after all of the seasonings. And the sour cream truly makes the meal great! Thanks, we will make this again. Made for Photo Challenge October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This is pretty close to the recipie my grandmother used to use... only thing different is of course the Hungarian Paprika and instead of using butter to fry the cabbage she always used chicken skins and fat that she liquified in the pan... as stated earlier not easy on the arteries!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This recipe is so much like the one my mother used to make. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      just like grandma used to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      My Polish DH was in heaven when I served this! It is so quick and easy and delicious! I followed your directions exactly. Then, I sauteed sliced kielbasa in a little butter and spooned it over the top. Thanks for sharing this, Laurie. I will be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      Cabbage is back! Our peasant ancestors really knew how to put together a tasty meal on simple staples. This dish is fast and good, but still I am shocked at how intricate a recipe stuffed cabbage can be and yet the European farm folk made this and other elaborate dishes without modern appliances and on wood burning stoves. Good show!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This was very good -- it's become a staple at my house. We use about half the butter and skip the sour cream. It's on the table in about 25 minutes -- Hungarian fast food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      I had a bag of slaw mix that I had to use up and decided to try this recipe - loved it! I have made many Hungarian noodle recipes, but never with the cabbage. I had it as a main dish along with with steamed broccoli and sliced tomatoes. I can see that this will become a staple as a side dish. Thank you for submitting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Loved this cabbage and noodle recipe! Served with smoked sausage and crusty bread. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haluska (Cabbage & Noodles)

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 923.1
     
    Calories from Fat 458
    49%
    Total Fat 50.9 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 29.2 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 216.5 mg
    72%
    Sodium 933.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 21.4 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes