Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halupki (stuffed cabbage rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halupki (stuffed cabbage rolls)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2011

      If you grew up as I did, you crave these things. I spent years trying to duplicate the taste I knew growing up. Came across a Slovak Catholic Sokol cookbook 1976 edition. It calls for pork & beef, but instead of vinegar, you layer a small amount of sauerkraut under & over the rolls. Not too much!!"
      "Holubky" If you have to have this but don't have several hrs. to fix it, try this. Chop the cabbage, brown the beef & onion. I like to cook the cabbage a bit in the pan after the beef is done. Layer 12 cabbage, beef & rest of cabbage. Pour soup mixture over & bake 350 For about 1 hr. Same great taste- half the work. Don't forget the mashed potatoes & corn. Take a forkful of potatoe & plunge it into your pile of corn. Alternate this with your holubky. Corn, Holubky, Corn, Holubky....... Only then can you be a real "Hungry Hunky"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      First reviewed 9/28/08: This was PHENOMENAL and not HALF has difficult or time-consuming as I thought it would be. My mother-in-law is half Czechoslovakian and grew up just south of Pittsburgh and she said they were the best halupki she's ever eaten!!! Thanks for sharing this with all of us!

      Edited on 3/23/11 to add: This is best when you saute the onions and garlic before adding to meat mixture. Also, a trick with the cabbage is to core it, wash it, and freeze the whole head. When it thaws, it is easy to peel and there is no need to boil it first.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I made this recipe on 3/10/09 to satisfy my cabbage roll craving. Since I'm the only one that eats cabbage rolls in my home, this recipe was cut way back.I used four large cabbage leaves,boiled just long enough to make them easier to work with. Mixed 3/4 lb. ground beef with the full amount of rice,the egg,a couple of shakes of garlic powder,some instant onion, and a couple of shakes of parsley flakes. And of course the salt and pepper. And since I can't leave a recipe alone,;) I added some red chili pepper flakes and some freeze-dried green and red peppers. I divided the meat mixture into 4 equal portions and placed in the cabbage leaves, rolled and placed in the pan.I used 1 can of tomato soup, mixed with the full amount of sugar, 1 teaspoon of vinegar, and the full amount of water. The cabbage rolls were cooked for about 1 hour 15 minutes. After cooking, the heat was cut off and I let them sit in the sauce for about 15 minutes with the lid on.After removing the rolls, I wanted to make the sauce a bit thicker. So I mixed a bit of cornstarch with some water, and stirred it over low heat until the sauce was slightly thickened. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Excellent! Growing up I had a Polish Grandmother and everyone raved about her stuffed cabbage (she called it Kapusta) but as a child, I would never eat it. After she had passed away, no one had any of her recipes written down. Now as grown up I always wished I had tried it and when I saw your recipe I knew I had to try it. We loved it! I cut the recipe in half, but didn't stray from the recipe otherwise. We served it with mashed potatos as suggested and it was a wonderful dinner. I will have to make it for my father one day and see how close it is to my grandmothers recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This recipe is almost the exact duplicate of my Babci's (grandmother). Only tow slight differences. First she would mix half beef and half pork. She felt the pork kept them from getting dry. Second, she would cover the top layer in the pot with a good smokey bacon. It infuses the "Piggies" with a wonderful flavor. Try it, it's a nice touch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I was looking for a recipe to make stuffed cabbage just like my mom used to and this wasn't it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Tasted as good as my grandmothers! I used half pork and half beef, since I remember that's what she used. My only issue is that cooking the cabbage was a bit of a challenge-in my biggest pot, I couldn't cover it with water, so I end up rotating it around. When I talked to my mom about it, she said coring it would have made it a lot easier to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      made this recipie last sunday. it is absolutely delicious. it was my first time making halupkie and they turned out perfect. great directions, and great recipie. thank you leslie o, and grandma koval. johnny s

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      This is a really good recipe. Very similar to what we always ate at home.Use 1/2 pork and 1/2 beef. I did not add any parsley ( didn't have any)still turned out great. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halupki (stuffed cabbage rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (454 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.1
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    40%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 742.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 23.3 g
    93%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites