Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halloween Worms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halloween Worms

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      They have a Halloween themed Birthday party for one of our officers every year. Last year I made these along with the severed finger cookies. They were a huge hit.... which means everyone was somewhat grossed out!!! They are worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      These are fantastic! I made a batch and served some in a bowl and also put some in a Dirt Cake. They were a huge hit. The kids AND the adults all liked them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      A HUGE hit with the kids in the neighborhood. I made a batch this weekend to as a test for Halloween next month. They look so real no one really wanted to eat them. I used raspberry gelatin and my worms have a nice, realistic pinkish-brown color. I think it might be fun to make two batches and use grape gelatin for the second batch so there are some light and dark worms in the bowl. Thank you so much for the GROSSEST recipe EVER!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      These are the coolest, grossest things I've ever made! They look great, and feel disgustingly real. My 4 yr old boy loved dangling them over his mouth and slurping them down, my 6 yr old girl took about 10 minutes working up the nerve to try one. Even when told they were jello, some people wouldnt try them! My kids took them to school today, and were the hit of their classes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      What a cool idea! I love it. Until it came time to get the worms out of the straws. Way too time consuming. I ran out of time and gave up. They look just like real worms though. May try again next year and start early just because it is so gross - I mean cool! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Totally awesome! Tough to get out of the straws, but definitely worth the effort! Great effect, great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      ooooh wee! these were a hit at my son's halloween party. I used a box of green lime and orange, did everything else the same and they were a GREAT green color. I pushed in about 20 more straws and 2 days later pushed all those suckers out with my fingers - that was hard work! LOL About 20 straws after I started I remember I was to rinse them and that made the job much less messy. :-) They will be at the party next year too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      My daughter and I had great time making these. They came out a bit darker because in australia our packaging is different and it was hard to get correct conversions. The kids loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I found a fast and easy way to get the worms out of the straws using needle-nose pliers. First I tried squeezing the open end of the straw with the pliers but it was too slippery. Then I tried grabbing the straw with one nose of the pliers inside the straw and the other nose outside. That did the trick. With my new solid grip I was able to squeeze the worms out quickly and easily...they practically slid out! It should only take you a few seconds for each straw. The worms really complemented my Qwiggle Halloween Jello molds (I have the hand, brain and eyeballs). Check out Qwiggle Jello molds online, they look so real it's scary. I love my gruesome but tasty treats for Halloween!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I thought these were fantastic. My husband thinks I'm crazy. I made them for girls preschool halloween party. One classroom gobbled them up. Only 2 kids from the other class would eat them. I think it might have been the presentation. They really looked like actual worms. I used a square milk carton and got about 250 worms. They were 3" to 4" long each. Next time I think I'm going to put a layer of paper towel in the bottom of the carton to try and decrease the excess flow from the bottom of the straws. As another reviewer suggested I crushed up chocolate teddy grahams for dirt and mixed it with the worms in little bowls. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This has to be a five star recipe simply due to the special affects. Taste is okay. Kids love how they look. They even feel like real worms. It is really time consuming getting the "worms" out of the straws, but worth it to see the kids faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      What fun! I agree they're a bit messy to make but hey, Halloween comes but once a year. My 72-year-old husband walked by and said "YUK! they look like sea worms and I'm not having any", the other kids in the house howled when they saw them. Taste isn't bad, either. TFS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      These really did look real! The 2-4 year olds would not touch them, but my 7 and 9 year old loved eating them! Make sure to fill up bending straws with the flexible side down. You want the ridges in the worms. Takes quite a bit of time getting all of the worms out-30-40 minutes. This was a small portion for a big party- next time I'll make two hundred!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Additional tips: a one liter plastic drink container with the top cut off works great. Make sure you put the straws in the container upside down. Allow enough time to "squirt" the worms out of the straws and ask for help! Otherwise this is a VERY COOL affect--parents are grossed out and the kids think it is cool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      These were great - they looked very real! I wasn't crazy about the flavor, but I might try different flavors of jello next time and compensate with food coloring. The effect was more important anyway. I served the worms in a glass serving dish mixed with crushed chocolate graham crackers and crushed oreos for dirt. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      These were the biggest hit! I made them for my kids Halloween sleepover, but me, hubby, and hubby's friend were eating them before the worms were even set out! :oD I thought they were well worth the time to make them. I used a tall, round straw holder to set the straws in to fill with the Jello mixture, PERFECT! MMMSweets...I thought yours were intentional when I saw your picture. My first thought was "Cool, someone made maggots instead of worms. I have to add that one with the worms next year!" So thanks to you I have another dish to set out next Halloween! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      These were great! I saw that someone else had a problem with the liquid running out of the end of the straw.. I had this problem too, but the container I used was too big.. I wound up dumping it all into the original container and trying again with something that was tall and lean, so the straws were snug in the container. So if your container is too big, it runs right back out.. There was definitely jello on the insides of that container, but it also stayed in the straws.. I thought had plenty of raspberry jello, but only had 1 container, so I used a blue berry to go with.. By the time I got the green food coloring mixed in, my worms were grey.. Which was still ok.. They were a big hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This was a really easy recipe. To get all the "worms" out quickly, I put the ends of two straws between my teeth and pushed with my fingers. This made the process go by much quicker. Also, instead of laying them out separately to finish setting up, I piled them all in a bowl to set up together and this formed a brain. It was quite a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Great idea, I was so excited but they did not work for me. My worms were only about 1 inch long, all the jello snuck out the bottom of the straws. How did you all make them, that the jello didn't sneek out??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      These were fun for a teenage Halloween party we had this past weekend. The kids thought they were so cool when they grabbed a few at a time and let them dangle from their black painted, vampire teeth filled, fake blood dripping down their chin, mouths. They were fun. I did have a little bit of a problem getting them out of the straws, but not enough that some patience and care didn't resolve the issue of removing them. Thanks for a fun recipe for our party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halloween Worms

    Serving Size: 1 (1092 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 13.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    44%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    flexible plastic straws

    tall slender 4 cup container

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites