49 Reviews

It was great, I loved it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beaver October 24, 2002

A lot of fun to make, they do look so real. Just a tip for the next person, make sure the flexible part of the straw is facing down in the carton. My son loved them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alawson14 October 28, 2009

So sorry that I forgot to review this. We used this almost 2 years ago! for my daughter's sweet 16 party where we played Fear Factor games. These really looked real. We did have a bit of trouble with the first few, but then we found that holding the end of the straw with needle-nosed pliers helped a lot. Also, be sure to run the worms under hot water long enough. We were afraid that they would melt, but found that if you do it correctly, they will remove with ease and have a glossy appearance to them. Thanks for a great gross-out recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 August 25, 2009

Fun! Fun! Fun! It was well worth the work. My only disappointment was the amount of waste involved. All of the worms stuck together in the bowl after being loosened from the straws so I think next time I will spray them all with a little non-stick spray. Definitely a keeper for the shock value!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java Junkie January 18, 2011

I have not even tried this, but it sounds so grossly wonderful! My granddaughter will LOVE this!

I wrote the above in 2006, now, exactly 4 years later I can update my review...wow, what fun! These worms look so real and taste so good! I did not have the jello called for, but I don't think it matters. I used what I had. They were both red jellos and both were sugar free. I added blue food coloring to the jello mix to make it more purple, then I added enough green to the whipping cream to balance the color. I tried the rolling pin method, but the worms were too uniform when they came out. I also found it a bit awkward. The finger method worked best for me, until I remembered that I had a small surgical clamp. I clamped it onto the end, which left both fingers free to squeeze out the worm and direct it into the bowl. I am excited to see my goblins tomorrow night! Thanks again for this wonderful share!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetiebarbara October 30, 2010

Amazing, they really look like worms! Kinda gross! But really neat! I didn't have whipping cream so I substituted cool whip with a little powdered sugar to thicken the cool whip. They still turned out! I also put a little crushed up graham cracker to look like dirt. Thanks for the brilliant idea! Note: It is best to hold straws underwater for only about 4 seconds. This allows the worms come out smoothly yet they are not turning into mush from too much heat!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rslc332 November 07, 2009

They turned out great and taste pretty good too. The only thing that I'll do different next time is not use dollar store straws. They split at the ridge area on some of them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracie2 October 30, 2010

The flexible straws give the worms realistic ridges and their color is perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce VH October 27, 2010

Fun Fun Fun! Very gross looking, but they tasted good. I had some trouble at first getting them out of the straw but once I got the hang of it it worked out. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 06, 2009

These were great! My kids were grossed out, but my daughter loved the taste! (My son wouldn't try them) It took some time to get the worms out of the straws, but otherwise it was pretty easy. It was a perfect addition to our halloween party this year! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'away November 04, 2009
Halloween Worms