Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halloween Worms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halloween Worms

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2002

      It was great, I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      A lot of fun to make, they do look so real. Just a tip for the next person, make sure the flexible part of the straw is facing down in the carton. My son loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Amazing, they really look like worms! Kinda gross! But really neat! I didn't have whipping cream so I substituted cool whip with a little powdered sugar to thicken the cool whip. They still turned out! I also put a little crushed up graham cracker to look like dirt. Thanks for the brilliant idea! Note: It is best to hold straws underwater for only about 4 seconds. This allows the worms come out smoothly yet they are not turning into mush from too much heat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      So sorry that I forgot to review this. We used this almost 2 years ago! for my daughter's sweet 16 party where we played Fear Factor games. These really looked real. We did have a bit of trouble with the first few, but then we found that holding the end of the straw with needle-nosed pliers helped a lot. Also, be sure to run the worms under hot water long enough. We were afraid that they would melt, but found that if you do it correctly, they will remove with ease and have a glossy appearance to them. Thanks for a great gross-out recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Fun! Fun! Fun! It was well worth the work. My only disappointment was the amount of waste involved. All of the worms stuck together in the bowl after being loosened from the straws so I think next time I will spray them all with a little non-stick spray. Definitely a keeper for the shock value!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I have not even tried this, but it sounds so grossly wonderful! My granddaughter will LOVE this!

      I wrote the above in 2006, now, exactly 4 years later I can update my review...wow, what fun! These worms look so real and taste so good! I did not have the jello called for, but I don't think it matters. I used what I had. They were both red jellos and both were sugar free. I added blue food coloring to the jello mix to make it more purple, then I added enough green to the whipping cream to balance the color. I tried the rolling pin method, but the worms were too uniform when they came out. I also found it a bit awkward. The finger method worked best for me, until I remembered that I had a small surgical clamp. I clamped it onto the end, which left both fingers free to squeeze out the worm and direct it into the bowl. I am excited to see my goblins tomorrow night! Thanks again for this wonderful share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      They turned out great and taste pretty good too. The only thing that I'll do different next time is not use dollar store straws. They split at the ridge area on some of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      The flexible straws give the worms realistic ridges and their color is perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Fun Fun Fun! Very gross looking, but they tasted good. I had some trouble at first getting them out of the straw but once I got the hang of it it worked out. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      These were great! My kids were grossed out, but my daughter loved the taste! (My son wouldn't try them) It took some time to get the worms out of the straws, but otherwise it was pretty easy. It was a perfect addition to our halloween party this year! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      What a great Halloween "treat"! My nephew and his friends loved these (the way they looked as well as how they tasted). I'll be making these again next year. Thanks Linda!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I made these for my daughter's halloween party and they were a hit! My bowl full of worms was the star of the table and they were eaten up quickly! The kids and adults loved them. It was a little time consuming, but worth the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I love this recipe! I will make it again next year, but with red jello (had orange already) and a taller container. I used a rolling pin to get the worms out of the straws and it worked perfectly. Make sure to use a narrow and tall container!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      This is a great recipe.The worms look real and they taste good too.I like to use the raspberry flavor jello.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I found a fast and easy way to get the worms out of the straws using needle-nose pliers. First I tried squeezing the open end of the straw with the pliers but it was too slippery. Then I tried grabbing the straw with one nose of the pliers inside the straw and the other nose outside. That did the trick. With my new solid grip I was able to squeeze the worms out quickly and easily...they practically slid out! It should only take you a few seconds for each straw. The worms really complemented my Qwiggle Halloween Jello molds (I have the hand, brain and eyeballs). Check out Qwiggle Jello molds online, they look so real it's scary. I love my gruesome but tasty treats for Halloween!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I was really excited to make this recipe for my son's 2nd grade class. It was a flop and I had to go to a back-up plan. The Jell-O mixture wouldn't stay in the straws even after I tried foil and a bag rubber-banded to the straws. Then I tried cooling the mixture a little more...only to find it sat on TOP of the straws! I ended up just leaving it in the bowl and calling it chopped liver.

      How in the world did you all manage to keep the Jell-O in the straws????? Not going to try again until someone reveals their secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      I've been making these for years (they originally came from Sunset magazine.) A friend helps me get them out of the straws because I now have problems with my hands. He's a very adventurous eater and knows exactly what's in them, but he is freaked out by how realistic they are and won't even try one. We serve them as part of Mud, Dirt and Worms every Halloween--I layer chocolate pudding with lots of oreo crumbs in a plastic flower pot used only for this recipe, then chill for several hours and garnish with the worms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This was perfect and an enormous hit at the 5th grade Halloween party today! All the kids freaked out, and all the moms wanted the recipe. The only trouble I had was getting them out of the straws. I ran them under hot water for 4 seconds, but the water was too hot and turned the jello to goo, so I did 2 seconds on lukewarm water. My husband grabbed one end of the straw with pliers and used his thumb to press out the jello. The rolling pin did not work at all for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

    • on October 27, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halloween Worms

    Serving Size: 1 (1092 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 13.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    44%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    flexible plastic straws

    tall slender 4 cup container

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites