18 Reviews

I made the mice with my own meatball recipe as I was making them anyway. I put them on top of my baked ziti that I took to a halloween engagement party.Very cute the only thing I changed was I used slivered almonds for the ears. Marg

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marg322moo November 01, 2009

Oh my goodness, such fun!! I loved watching the kids faces on Halloween when I served this! HeeHee. I invited my SIL and nephew and they were open mouthed shocked!!!! So much fun. They are very good. I served broken up spaghetti with this and we LOVED it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe withus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 06, 2009

Haha these are fun to make.. I make these "rats" every year but am now just leaving a review!<br/>Love the looks on everyone's face when I serve em up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac April 11, 2013

Oh...just too cute!!! My kids were SO excited about this, that I think that the entire school knew what they were having for dinner!!!
They both 'dissected' their rats with glee...pulling out the whiskers,ripping off ears etc,and it got even better after I informed them that the rice was actually maggots!!
A really fun filled meal that was really tasty too- by the way..leftover rats taste very good in sandwiches the next day!!
Thanks so much Annacia...can't wait for next year already!!!
Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo November 02, 2011

Fantastic idea! Made these for our Halloween party, and they were a hit! Very cute, and the flavor was good. I served them plain without any spaghetti or sauce, they only took 45 minutes at 375F. Thanks for this clever recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 October 30, 2011

I made this for dinner last night. It was so cute. My kid got such a kick out of it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn October 14, 2010

OMG these are so funny!! I had one kid that refused to eat "the rat". I used homemade sauce. I will make these again for a birthday party or just for a laugh. Thanks for the chuckle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family November 26, 2009

"FIVE" stars just for the novelty! I made these for my 3 nephews & niece; none of them would even take a bite! I wish you could have seen their faces as I served these to them. I told them what they really were, but it didn't change their minds! All of us adults had to finish them off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy November 01, 2009

They turned out great! Very cute Halloween dinner. I served them on top of mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadusey October 15, 2009

I thought these were super cute. However, I made these for a group of 6 year olds (and younger) and none of them would eat these!!! They all kept saying they wouldn't eat "rat" and/or they were "too gross" to eat!! I loved them and so did the other adults. Might need to keep in mind the age of your diners before making these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook October 14, 2009
Halloween Rats Baked in Blood