8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great idea and cleverness. I enjoy making treats for my child and nephew. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justinikkimay17 October 31, 2011

This is just awesome! I LOVE this idea, its cute and fun and so easy, too! I liked that these are more on the cute side of spooky. :)
I made one change in that I topped my filled o'lanterns with cheese and baked them in the oven for about 20 minutes. That way the bell pepper got a bit softer and developed some spooky brown spots. A HUGE hit, thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 30, 2011

A HUGE hit for my daughter's Spooky Sleepover Bday Party! My husband had so much fun carving a different face on each pepper, and it was the perfect serving size for young girls. Just gruesome enough that it stayed with the theme, but spaghetti's familiar enough that the kids readily ate them. Thank you SO much for posting this terrific idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzymommy October 31, 2009

We had fun with this! Loved carving each pepper. At first my daughter said that she refused to eat "brains" out of it. LOL But once all was said and done and it was on the table, she loved it! Thanks for posting such a cute idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne :) October 30, 2009

Oh my goodness... how adorable. We made these and the kids loved them. They had the pasta and we also made stuffed peppers (w ground bef-for a lower carb version). What fun they were. Thanks for an easy but awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan October 23, 2009

This was such a cute idea! We each carved our own peppers and then I filled them with a thick black bean soup garnished with sour cream and cheese (trying to eat fewer simple carbs like pasta). It worked wonderfully - the soup spilled out of the facial feature a little bit to fulfill that effect, but was easy to eat with a spoon. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 05, 2008

This deserves all the stars for the idea. The insides are really up to the chef! I used whole grain elbows (looking for a smaller pasta) and a jarred mushroom/ olive tomato sauce (into which I had secretly incorporated some leftover mashed pumpkin). I steamed some broccoli to use as greens (a pumpkin patch?) around each jackolantern, and put the carved peppers in with the broccoli briefly so that they could soften and become a bit warm, too. It was something to have fun with that didn't require a whole lot of mess or effort, and brought smiles to our faces. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville October 28, 2008

Very cute presentation. We used Jo Mama's sauce. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming October 06, 2008
Halloween Jack-O-Lantern Pasta Dinner