18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh boy!! This is delicious!! We eat a lot of fish and halibut is one of our favorites, so this recipe was made for us! I used the filets, and white mushrooms. The topping is scrumptious! I thought it might be a little lemony, but NOT! The flavors came together beautifully. Very easy recipe. I will make this again! Thanks Dorothy for another winner!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz September 15, 2002

Another wonderful recipe by Dorothy Parks. My family and I loved this one. I salted and peppered the fillets before putting them in the baking pan. Then followed your recipe the rest of the way. The topping is really what makes this so flavorful and scrumptious. Thanks Dorothy.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 15, 2002

Simple and delicious! I used Lingcod for my fish. I will absolutely make this again. The broiling time was perfect for me, but I can see how it would vary depending upon the thickness of the fish, how far it's placed from the heat source and the efficiency of the broiler. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slokiki January 03, 2012

This was absolutely delicious!

I have to agree with other reviewers-cook the halibut on its first side for longer than 5 minutes, THEN flip it over and pour the sauce. It's not a big problem, but cooking the halibut with the sauce on it for longer made the sauce run off.

But otherwise, this was a huge success, the mix of flavours was amazing! Perfect with pasta.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalalere December 13, 2010

This was excellent! I mad a whole meal of the mushroom theme. Check out my menu Mushroom Madness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abba Gimel April 26, 2010

Lovely recipe, makes a change from what we usually have. I added garlic (because everything needs garlic :D ) and a little cayenne pepper.. but other than that, I made as is. Thank you for the wonderful recipe Derf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Savannah~ January 22, 2009

This was a really delicious meal! I used thick cut halibut steaks- which needed about 15-17 minutes to cook. With that being said, I wish that I would have given the first side the shorter amount of time because I too feel that my mushrooms did not cook all the way through- they really could have used a few more minutes under that broiler to be PERFECT- but this was pretty darn close. I'll play with the timing next time. A REALLY fantastic tasting dish and beautiful to plate! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly April 22, 2008

This fish looks and tastes spectacular. I used tilapia instead of halibut. I needed to broil the topping side of the fish for about 10 minutes for the mushrooms to get golden brown and for the fish to be done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 03, 2006

What a great recipe! The flavour was wonderful and the fish was so moist! I had a bit of a problem because my fillets were very thick. Next time, if my fillets were thick, I would make sure they were cooked almost completly before putting on the topping. As it was, I had to cook the second side several extra minutes because the topping was very thick, so it took quite a while for the heat to get down to the fish. The topping also slipped off a bit, so probably steaks or thin fillets would work best. Next time I think I will add a little more lemon juice, and ginger, and maybe add some dill. It was absolutely delicious as written and I wouldn't want to overpower the fish, but I think a little more flavouring would be fine. This recipe is definitely a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja October 16, 2005

We absolutely loved this recipe - The appearance is fabulous and the taste equals the appearance.I had a 1" thick fillet so it took a bit longer in the oven but it came out perfect, moist with a beautiful topping. I used small Portabella mushrooms. Derf I have said it before but I do love your recipes Thanks again -- posted Mar 21, 2004, Up Date Made this again and enjoyes it as much as last time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 20, 2005
Halibut With Mushrooms