89 Reviews

Made with fresh halibut from Alaska. This was so delicious! I also added some sweet Walla Walla onion to the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Hoylman September 26, 2008

This is a great recipe. I used it on Tilapia. I used one very large clove of garlic and omitted the lemon juice from the topping because I didn't have any. I followed the recipe from that point on. I am going to pass this recipe along to family members.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 25, 2008

Great recipe. Mine was a bit on the lemony side so I might omit the lemon when baking or reduce for the sauce. This recipe has been added to our halibut rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Ricard September 07, 2008

As an Australian ,who lived in Alaska for several years and ate as much Halibut as I could get my hands on, I would heartily suggest to Ozzie and NZ 'Zaar members to try this with thick shark fillets. It is probably the closest that you'll get to halibut down here, and it tastes just wonderful. Some of the success of this recipe does also depend on the type of mayo that you use. The American mayo that would most commonly be used in this recipe would probably be Miracle Whip ( I guess??!!), which is quite a mild and tart mayo. I have used this ( as it is readily available in Australia), but have also used rich, whole egg mayo, but only used 2/3rds of what is suggested in the recipe and then added sour cream to make up the full amount. I have found that this doesn't over-power the flavour of the fish. I 've also used a teaspoon of onion powder and a teaspoon of garlic powder in place of the fresh ingredients , with great results. Hope this helps some of our Southern members. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mixmaster August 21, 2008

My now favorite way of making halibut. Keep your eye on the broiler because mine only took a few seconds to brown up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT August 14, 2008

I made this exactly as written - quick easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree June 05, 2008

This was pretty good from someone who eats a lot of halibut. As with most mayonnaise toppings it slightly overwhelms the taste of the fish itself but my boyfriend really liked it. I did add three crushed cloves of garlic but didn't change anything else. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos April 10, 2008

When you purchase halibut on sale a $12.99 US dollars, per pound, you want a recipe that is worthy of it. I made your recipe as posted, because of the many 5 star reviews. We enjoyed it as the stars will atest. It was moist and flavorful. Halibut can sometimes taste drid out. I would not change a thing. Served it with a red potato in jacket and beets. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon April 07, 2008

Simple and the family noticed the wonderful flavor and asked what was different. I didn't have the green onion though and added onion powder. The lemon definitely adds the nice accent to the different flavors in the topping and the parmesan cheese for texture. Kids and DH LOVED it and so did I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn'skitchen April 04, 2008
Halibut With Garlic Mayonnaise-Parmesan Topping