12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent flavor. Time was right for a very thick filet. My sauce did not thicken up, but I didn't start it cooking until I put the fish in and it still had good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy March 08, 2012

We loved this! An instant favorite. The balsamic glaze is delicious with the halibut. I broiled for 10-11 minutes instead of 12. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DW's Ghost April 08, 2010

Wonderful recipe. 12 minutes under the broiler ended up overcooking the fish a bit- so I think next time I will check it after 9-10 minutes. My husband is not a huge fish fan and he enjoyed this dish, so it is definitely a keeper!! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vega Girl July 07, 2009

First, let me say that there is nothing wrong with the recipe. It just does not, in my opinion, work with this type of fish. I finally scored some halibut at Costco and couldn't wait to cook it up. I chose this recipe because I usually like things with balsamic vinegar. The taste of the marinade is just too dark and sour for this delicate type of fish. Maybe it would work for salmon or chicken, or something else that is heavier. I broiled half of it and it tasted pretty bad, so I grilled the other half to see if grilling would impart a good flavor. It did not. I sure wish I picked a different type of recipe to try, one with butter, maybe some paprika and herbs. That's $31 I'll never see again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 May 05, 2008

Delish!! We love balsamic vinegar so I knew this one would be a hit. Whildflour's photo sealed the deal. I marinated the fish for 4 hours, reduced the marinade and then grilled it on a charcoal grill, basting with the sauce. We had guests for dinner and everyone raved. I made a caprese salad along side and a 7 grain pilaf - it was a super menu and one that I will make for family and entertaining. People will think you slaved....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW October 28, 2007

We enjoyed this. Makes a nice salad dressing too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmilinJenE August 10, 2007

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ABOUT DIED over this!!!!!!!! Truely OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!! I used swordfish steaks for this, and marinated them for the whole 4 hours! :) IT WAS HEAVEN ON A PLATE!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) WOW!! :) Thank you so very much!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour July 07, 2007

Awesome fish! I made the recipe as written, except that I grilled my halibut instead of broiling. I used the marinade to make the glaze as written, then basted the fish with it as it grilled. So, so easy and delicious!Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bert's Kitchen Witch July 05, 2007

This is a nice easy recipe! I only marinated it for 1 hour. I think next time I will marinate it longer so it has more flavor. I love how quick this is to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 28, 2007

DH and I thought this was yummy. The balsamic glaze was sweet and tangy. The kids didn't like it as much but it was just as well, more for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen May 04, 2007
Halibut With Balsamic Glaze