15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. The only change I made was to double the minced garlic only because we are garlic lovers! We eat lots of fish and because I had Mahi Mahi on hand, I used it for this recipe. I marinated it 24 hours and it was excellent!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Welch May 09, 2002

I used this on Salmon, and everyone loved it. I grilled it and basted with remaining sauce, and it had an awesome flavor. I have made it several time, and I will definately make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookdaddy April 17, 2003

This is an excellent marinade. I used it on Salmon. It gave the Salmon a wonderful flavor and a nice glazey appearance. Wonderful! I will definately make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy B May 07, 2002

This marinade was just a tad too sweet for my taste, however I marinated for about 3 hours only, so it's possible that other flavours didn't get a chance to develop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liliya_99 June 21, 2010

Made this for dinner tonight using halibut. Put it in a ziplock bag and marinated for 7 hours. I was a little worried that the marinade looked really thick, but after bar-b-quing it transformed into a beautiful glaze with an awesome flavor. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy April 24, 2010

We used this on both salmon and chicken and it tasted wondeful on both. When we marinaded the chicken, we didn't have quite enough brown sugar, but it didn't matter. It's both sweet and savory and grills up great. I think I would call this more of a glaze, than marinade because of it's thickness, but whatever you call it, it's great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Archie's Little Cookie March 04, 2009

A family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bananas August 12, 2008

Between me, who likes the taste of fish, and my family (who loves fishing but doesn't love fish) this recipe rated 4 stars. It is a good marinade, tasty in it's own right-- no matter what it is put on (would easily work with chicken/pork/beef IMHO)--and it is exactly that tasty quality that made the fish palatable to the family, i.e., it really overwhelmed the natural fish flavors! My marinade time was around 4 hours. Will do again for the successful fishermen in my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB June 06, 2007

yay! i had never made fish before so i was a little bit nervous, but when my neighbor brought us a 4lb halibut chunk that he had caught in alaska, i couldn't resist! the fish was sooo fresh that i didn't want anything to overpower the natural flavor. this recipe was amazing, a little sweet a little smokey alot perfect! thanks for sharing, oh it was really easy too! just for the halibut!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mowo December 10, 2006

I made this for supper tonight using halibut, I only marinated it for about 2 1/2 hours and it was fantastic! I also used splenda brown sugar, 1/2 the butter and for the other half I used butter spray, and half the ginger only because to me ginger can be very overpowering. I am going to try it next time with salmon, I think it would be better with the salmon. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 February 26, 2006
Halibut/Salmon Marinade