31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Probably the best light fish I have ever had. I used real parmesan cheese and grated it, instead of the pre-made, and it turned out great. I served this with the Bacon Fried Rice (which was also excellent).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney March 03, 2003

Yum! This recipe was a nice change of pace from my usual method of cooking fish. I don't usually use "French fried onions" but I had some left over from the holidays and decided to try this out. I didn't use halibut, figuring any nice white fish would do, and it came out quite tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong June 05, 2002

This was wonderful. I followed the instructions and the fish was flakey and moist. For me the baking time was right on. Definately a keeper. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 31, 2011

LOVED this recipe - entire family did including 5&7 yo girls.

I did increase the garlic and lemon juice (pers. pref).

I'm always afraid of undercooking fish, so DH said it was overcooked (increased time to 20 min), but it wa still WONDERFUL!!!!!

It was absolutely wonderful.

One question: Has anyone tried it with a diffeent topping to make it a little healthier. The french's onions were very good, but I was wondering if there could be healthier substitute I'll try something next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally Mom2Two November 03, 2010

Very tasty! I am gonna make this for the 3rd time tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkylerFox September 12, 2010

This truly deserves the highest rating possible! Such an easy recipe to prepare and the flavor was out of this world. We eat a lot of fish, and my DH declared this is the best halibut he has ever had. I followed the recipe exactly using fresh parm cheese and served with asparagus and parmesan noodles. Thank you Bob for sharing this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary JPGR May 04, 2010

Great recipe. I think next time, I might dip the marinated fish in melted butter first, before applying the onion mixture. I also mixed in a little bit of garlic and herb bread crubs in the topping. We had a thick piece of fresh halibut so it took about ten minutes longer to cook. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontereyMadi November 25, 2009

This was very good. The French fried onions did the trick. I used haddock as that is all I had on hand but I bet it could be used on any firm white fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 31, 2009
Halibut Onion Crunch