Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halibut Onion Crunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halibut Onion Crunch

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2003

      Probably the best light fish I have ever had. I used real parmesan cheese and grated it, instead of the pre-made, and it turned out great. I served this with the Bacon Fried Rice (which was also excellent).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Yum! This recipe was a nice change of pace from my usual method of cooking fish. I don't usually use "French fried onions" but I had some left over from the holidays and decided to try this out. I didn't use halibut, figuring any nice white fish would do, and it came out quite tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

    • on March 31, 2011

      This was wonderful. I followed the instructions and the fish was flakey and moist. For me the baking time was right on. Definately a keeper. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      LOVED this recipe - entire family did including 5&7 yo girls.

      I did increase the garlic and lemon juice (pers. pref).

      I'm always afraid of undercooking fish, so DH said it was overcooked (increased time to 20 min), but it wa still WONDERFUL!!!!!

      It was absolutely wonderful.

      One question: Has anyone tried it with a diffeent topping to make it a little healthier. The french's onions were very good, but I was wondering if there could be healthier substitute I'll try something next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Very tasty! I am gonna make this for the 3rd time tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

    • on May 04, 2010

      This truly deserves the highest rating possible! Such an easy recipe to prepare and the flavor was out of this world. We eat a lot of fish, and my DH declared this is the best halibut he has ever had. I followed the recipe exactly using fresh parm cheese and served with asparagus and parmesan noodles. Thank you Bob for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Great recipe. I think next time, I might dip the marinated fish in melted butter first, before applying the onion mixture. I also mixed in a little bit of garlic and herb bread crubs in the topping. We had a thick piece of fresh halibut so it took about ten minutes longer to cook. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This was very good. The French fried onions did the trick. I used haddock as that is all I had on hand but I bet it could be used on any firm white fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I made this with tilapia and spread out chopped zucchini in the pan with it and baked it all together with the crunchy topping over everything. Served with Rice Pilaf. (I think next time I will add other vegetables too and marinate all of it and bake it all with extra onion/parm topping.) It was fantastic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      You are right that this is an excellent recipe. My DH just kept saying: *This is excellent my dear* & that pronouncement came from a seafood-loving purist who rates recipes much tougher than myself. What we both liked about your recipe was: 1) The ingredients did not mask the delicate flavor of the fish, but enhanced it & 2) The prep did not cook the fish till it was as dry & crisp as parchment paper. From my view as the cook, it was also an easy, quick-fix that I would happily serve to guests & expect words of praise like I heard tonite. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This being my first attempt at fish, and not being a particular fan of fish I was quite nervous about this, but WOW what a surprise. It was FANTASTIC! The only change necessary was to substitute Mrs Dash for the Marjoram because we had none, but I was very impressed and will do this one again! Who would have known I could cook fish and actually LIKE it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      some grocery stores sell SEASONED french fried onions in pouches in the crouton section. Great for salads and this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      The only thing in this recipe that I changed was that I fried my own french fried onions rather than buying canned - to be honest I didn't even know that they made canned onions and the thought rather horrified me. This was a nice and simple dish that I will make again. The marinade works very well with the onions. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This was delicious! My husband and son were skeptical, but both loved it once they tasted it. I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I love this recipe & had posted it after you posted yours Bob sorry I didn't check properly. I used Basa and it was delicious! Bake time was the same. I love the crunch of the onion flakes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Sorry to leave a lower rating than everyone else, but no one in my family thought this recipe was a keeper -- they rated it as "okay."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      Excellent flavors. Came out juicy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      This recipe is a winner! I had some fish in the freezer I wanted to use up with on hand ingredients, I didn't have to make a trip to the store! I ended up with one pkg of halibut and one pkg of cod - I couldn't tell them apart so I do know that this works easily with either fish. I doubled the marinade and topping - and next time will cut back just a few minutes on the cooking time. My fish was just a tad over done. The whole family really enjoyed this recipe and it will be used often because we are trying to add more fish to our diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halibut Onion Crunch

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 461.1
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    32%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 194.1 mg
    64%
    Sodium 608.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 73.2 g
    146%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French's French fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes