Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halibut Olympia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halibut Olympia

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2011

      I've been making a variation of this recipe for years and it's one of my all time favorites! I add equal amounts of green pepper to the onion, about 3/4 cup grated fresh parmesan to the sour cream/mayo mix, and instead of crackers I use a mix of 2 tbl melted butter, 3 dashes paprika (for color) 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs, 2 tbl minces fresh parsley, and about 1/4 cup additional parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      great recipe, but if your fish is 'fresh' there should be no need to soak to get rid of a fishy taste- fresh fish tastes fresh, not fishy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      This is very similar to a great recipe from Norway. Try these modifications. Marinate halibut at least one hour in about a cup of white wine with 1 teaspoon salt. Drain, pat dry and dip both sides of filet in bread crumbs, and put in greased baking dish. Mix onion, sour cream, mayonnaise together, plus 1/4 cup chopped green pepper and 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms. Grate about 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese over fish, and then spread mixture evenly over filets. Sprinkle remaining bread crumbs and a dash or two of Paprika over top. Bake 20 minutes at 500F

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      I made this with thick pieces of Mahi Mahi and it was really good. When I started making it I discovered I was out of onion so I had to use minced onion. It was yummy anyway. I used light mayo also. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Delicious, and pretty much the same popular recipe we enjoyed when we lived in Anchorage AK. The only difference was that I sprinkled some seasoning onto the fish before slathering on the sour cream/mayo. also excellent with fresh Alaskan salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      My sweetheart and I enjoyed this very much. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      This recipe sounds great and I will be trying it. Whether you can get fresh or frozen, always remember, if the fish smells fishy or has brown spots on it, don't buy. Fish that are caught humanely are not clubbed to death. Some fishermen will club the fish once they get the fish on board. Once that happens, there is a chemical released inside the fish that changes the natural flavor of the fish and smell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      This was great! Had a wonderful flavor. I used light mayo, light sour cream and it was still very tasty, every bite was gone! I seemed to have a LOT of mayo/sour cream so next time I might cut it down a little more. I only did one cup of each and still had a lot. It was nice because you could still taste the fish. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This is a super easy and delicious dish to make, but "OH MY" better only make it once a year at over 1000 calories a serving!! I have made this for friends and family and everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I like this. Very much. A light meal that is perfect for a cold evening. Definitely a keeper. Definitely one to make for guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This was super. I added a few dashes of worchestershire and some dill to the creamed mixture, and used saltines once (they were fine) and Ritz another (they were GREAT). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I will admit that I was somewhat skeptical of adding Ritz cracker to fish but this was really very good! I didn't add a thing and can't think of much else to do to change the recipe. While we won't be having this very often because of the fat content, it will be on the guilty pleasures list. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      fabulous :) made it several times! i only used the mayo and mixed in dill, pepper and some garlic powder. turns out heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Nice and easy. tasted great. I would never use fresh halibut tho, u would smother the taste of the fish. Licked my plate afterwards! Next time I may try parmesan like the other types of halibut olympia recipes call for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This was a really nice recipe, its difficult to get my DH to eat fish other than battered and fried, but he wolfed this down and just finished off the leftovers for lunch. I used tilapia and added a little lemon juice and parmesan cheese to the mayo mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      This IS delicious! I added salt, pepper, and some dried herbs to the sour cream and mayo before I spread it on the fish. Tasty. Oh, I also had to use bread crumbs, but they crunched up nicely. And the carmelized onions that are created on the bottom are to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Absolutely one of THE most delicious fish recipes ever. Thank you for sharing. I used 1/2 cup Miracle Whip with 1 cup Mayo. Also had to increase the cooking time to 25 minutes. Excellent leftover as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      This picture doesn't justify the taste - we LOVE this recipe and we have already made it many times. It's also good with chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This was SO GOOD. Rather rich, but that's okay by us! I seasoned the fish with a little seasoned salt before cooking, because I used unsalted soda crackers for the topping, and it was perfect. It took 25 minutes to cook through, but that may be because I have a wildly erratic oven or because I used a pretty thick fillet. (I cut the recipe in half, btw.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was wildly popular the night I made it for dinner! Both my children love fish and they scoffed this right up! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halibut Olympia

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 940.3
     
    Calories from Fat 585
    62%
    Total Fat 65.0 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 23.0 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 234.4 mg
    78%
    Sodium 1096.5 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 55.0 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites