Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Halibut Florentine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Halibut Florentine

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2011

      I made this dish as a surprise for my girl this evening and let's just say it was a SUCCESS ;-) I had to changed it up a little for the Spinach was limited so I mixed in finely chopped Broccoli..... She actually thought I prepared a Gourmet Meal...... Thanks for the AWESOME recipe.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      We didn't care for this, the flavor of the sauce was off, could be just me, usually make my white sauce with cheddar, I didn't like it with the parm. Thanks for sharing your recipe, thanks to Amy for her service! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Thanks for the fantastic recipe! The only change I made was by adding some diced onion to the sauce and seasoning my halibut filets. The flavor was amazing and the recipe was easy to prepare, but presented like a dish in a fine restaurant. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This was a FABULOUS recipe!!! There were a few things I did not have to make this so I had to improvise...substitutions, and changes but what I ended up with was a fantastic flavor.... I can't wait to do your recipe to the letter!!! Thank youn for sharing your wonderful halibut recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Excellent! Even with my errors this dish is great! Added two crushed garlic cloves and some copped fresh chives to butter mixture and sauted a little before adding milk. The crust over the Halibut is great. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      fabulous with a few tweaks - I added about 1/4 cup of dry sherry to a doubled recipe which made the sauce rich and yummy. Omitted the cheese - just personal preference. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      very good! i didnt use cheddar or old bay and i sauteed some onions and mushrooms and garlic and added it to the spinach. to be honest the sauce was a bit heavy and rich for my tastes, so i think next time i would use less of it or double the spinach, and not put it on the fish; as it didnt really add anything to it. but who doesnt like cheesy creamy spinach?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I did not like the cream sauce...there was not nearly enough and it was too bland, I'd use half&half or heavy whipping cream next time. The crust was okay but not spectacular with the halibut. The best part, to me, was the spinach, except the spinach under the fish didn't cook in the cream sauce so that part was very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I will start with I HATE fish. I also HATE spinach. So why would I make this? DH loves both and I'm trying to choke down fish once a week for health benefits. That been said I thorughly enjoyed every bite and DH's comment was unfit for a family site. "It's #$%&^*@ delicious!" My oven went south last night and with the help of the community I did it in the toaster oven, covered it with foil with holes poked in to let steam escape and removed it for the last 10 minutes. Due to the toaster oven it took 40 minutes. I loved the simplicity, clear instructions and the lovely presentaion it offers. I'd feed this to guests anytime! Great job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      My family and I loved this recipe!! It was really great, I followed it exactly and thought it was wonderful. My 19 month old even cleaned his plate!! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      We loved this. I am very critical of the food I cook, and it takes a lot for my to rave about my own cooking, but this was wonderful. Tiny changes...I used twice as much parmigiano cheese, and 2 % cheddar, which doesn't melt quite as well as regular cheese, but was still good. The fish I used was cod....I can't wait to make this for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Can I give it 6??? I serious almost licked the pan! I did make a few minor changes. I used mostly fresh spinach and a little frozen spinach I had left over. I didn't have mozzarella so I only used Cheddar and I added a little Italian seasoning to the white sauce. I did have to cook it a bit longer because I didn't thaw the spinach all the way (and possible the fish too). I covered it with tin foil the last 10 or so minutes- but I had to cook it more then 35 minutes to get the fish cooked (my fault- not the directions). This was so dang good!!! Be sure to add the milk slowly to the butter mixture and heat on low until it's nice and thick. Sorry last person to rate- this white sauce was the best I have ever made.My littlest one had 3 servings of the spinach with this sauce on it!! I served it over brown rice. Oh- I will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Good, but not great. I felt the white sauce to be rather bland--we liked it, though, and the leftovers were good warmed up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Although I love fried fish I have never really given baked fish a chance. Trying to eat healthier, I have given up the frying pan. This was just wonderful for my first try at baking! (Although this recipe might not be that healthy with the butter & cheeses.....it is a start to a better way of eating.) Thanks for sharing...this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I made this dish for my parents and my dad is a tough critic. He said it was great, I thought it was great, it's great! I served it with diced tomato after it came out which enhanced all the flavors beautifully. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      great recipe! I used basa fillets instead of halibut because it's a lot cheaper but it was excellent anyways. I didn't have old bay either so I used some thyme and little bit of nutmeg.. I also cut down on the cheese to make it a bit lighter and used 2 packages of spinach. My 2 year old gobbled up the spinach I couldn't believe it she's so picky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Delicious, and easy enough for a beginner like me. I will surely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I made this for my non-meat eating daughter on Thanksgiving and she went nuts over it! After tasting, I can see why. The flavor was rich without being "too much" and it was a snap to put together. The only bad thing was that she took ALL of the leftovers home with her....brat!! I will be making this again and soon. Thanks for such a winning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Halibut Florentine

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 447.5
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    51%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 148.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 705.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 39.8 g
    79%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites