12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was easy and very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlaannhaney September 14, 2013

Wow! This is my new favorite meal. Unbelievably simple and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoCocks May 07, 2011

Another winner from Sharon! This is a really fast, easy and flavourful recipe and can easily use any white fish. I followed widleyeris's excellent suggestion and seasoned the fish with cumin, chili pwd, garlic salt, pepper and Mrs. Dash spicy seasoning before grilling. For the guacomle mixture I used 3 small fresh jalepeno's finely chopped instead of cayenne pepper. Also, using greek style yogurt helped give it a heavier body. We used whole pita bread for added texture and support. Definitely will be a frequent meal from now on and can't wait to make it for our next backyard bbq with friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 07, 2010

This recipe was delicious! I did make a few changes though. I seasoned the halibut with cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and Mrs. Dash Spicy seasoning. This really made the fish sing! I didn’t have yogurt, so I used sour cream for the guac. sauce, it worked just fine. I used lightly fried corn tortillas instead of flour, personal preference. Lastly, I sprinkled fresh cilantro on the tacos which really took the tacos to a next level. I will make this again and again! Good thing my dad is a commercial halibut fishermen so I get all the fish I want!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildeyeris August 27, 2008

I made several changes to the recipe to reflect the ingredients I had on hand and personal tastes. I used tilapia filets and sprinkled them with a little ancho powder as well as the salt & pepper. I reduced the amount of sauce drastically by using 1 avacado. The guacamole sauce was a bit tart with both the lemon & yougurt, but it contrasted nicely with the fish. I cooked the fish on an indoor grill so the recipe was fast and made a great weeknight supper. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for ZWT 3.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 23, 2007

I freaking love fish tacos-these are so good. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CharityAnn April 23, 2007

This was very different for the family. No one has ever had fish tacos. We used orange roughy, which is a little bland, so we jazzed it up with some of my homemade salsa. Thanks Sharon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 14, 2006

Couldn't find Halibut, used Red Snapper, excellent added a little salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa June 14, 2006

I am not much of a fish eater but this was so good. You made Dh very happy. I will definately make this again. Lisa

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMillerRN June 06, 2006

Halibut in Florida is very expensive so I used Orange Roughy which is a little bland. Next time, while cooking, I'll jazz it up with cilantro, and a pinch of chili and garlic powder. The yogurt guacamole had fantastic flavor but was a little runny (probably due to my error). Next time I'll use a little less yogurt and lemon juice and add more, as needed. This is a great recipe that we'll be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koriander November 29, 2005
Halibut Fish Tacos with Guacamole Sauce