Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hajar's Wicked Sauce Tomatish! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hajar's Wicked Sauce Tomatish!

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2005

      I enjoy tomatoes in anything, so I had to like this sauce. I made it to the recipe, tasted it, then decided to add a couple of teaspoons of ground coriander, 1 of cumin, one of sugar and 1 of lemon juice. I took note and heaped the black pepper in ;-). It's tomatoey (obviously), and fresh and lively tasting-I love it! I'm now cooking lamb shanks in most of the sauce (good idea kdlpmum), but have held some back to dip our bread in and try with our green veg. Since talking to Hajar, I relise this is a sauce used as a condiment, rather than a cooking sauce. It worked great, but really was better for dipping bread in and as a fresh sauce over our vegetables.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was 5 stars to me but I dont think DH liked it. I very finnly chopped the sweet white onion in a small blender. I did not use fresh coriander as I didnt have any so I put in some ground coriander instead. I used sweet paprika, sea salt and a lot less freshly ground black pepper. I forgot the lemon juice at the end since dinner was in a rush. I wont be able to make this again but do recommend it being tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      This was okay, but I found it quite bland and flavorless. The only real flavor was that of the tomato paste (a very metallic flavor, usually there's something to cover it up). I'm sorry but I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      This is really wicked! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      Enjoyed this very much. I used smoked paprika instead of the regular sort, and it came out very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Another winner you have here dear Hajar. I suggest making thia sauce a day head. The next day all the flavours come together and it tastes almost like another sauce altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Very yummy! I served it with breadsticks, vegetable tagine, and couscous. (morrocan night) We all loved dipping and I ate way more breadsticks than I should have! Thanks for posting such an authentic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I have been wanting to try this recipe for awhile and today was the day. I made it this morning and then heated it up for dinner to serve with breadsticks along side my main dish. It was wonderful! The kids especially liked it and ended up eating way too many breadsticks just because of the sauce. It was easy to make and definitely delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Hajar, this was so darn good. I made it as posted. It was easy to make and very flavorful. I used it as a dip for chicken. Also as a bread dip. It's just great. Thanks so much for this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Great Dip!! Served with bread. i'ts very similar to what is call Turkish Dip in Israel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      ***** “Very flavorful sauce. I can see this being good used in many ways, but it was ideal to spoon on top of hot sausage and peppers served on a hoagie roll. I made the sauce using just the six ounces of water,this kept it nice and thick so the rolls did...”

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      This recipe is great! I added two teaspoons of red pepper flakes to make it a little spicy. I also doubled the amount of parsley and added tofu. Served over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      Loved it! I sauteed thick slices of tofu in it for dinner one night - it was so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      Superb! I added some lemon zest, an extra tomato and slightly less tomato paste. We loved it and I have made sure that there is some left to dip my bread in at lunch tomorrow! Thanks Hajar for one of the best recipes on Zaar :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      I've tried dozens and dozens of recipes on Zaar - many were very good. This one knocked my socks off! Bright new taste for me. More recipes please!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      Very nice sauce. Intensely flavorful. My BF made this for dinner last night and he used a very good Hungarian paprika, which was quite hot so there was no need to add extra cayenne, and dried coriander. He made it quite thick and served it over rice and green beans as we really like the green bean/tomato combination. The next day for lunch I mixed the leftover sauce with leftover rice and it was delicious! Thanks, keep those recipes coming Hajar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Very good. I served this over couscous with falafel and a green salad to the side. I used 15 oz. Hunt's tomato sauce and no extra water, since I didn't have any tomato paste in the house. I also processed the two roma tomatoes quickly in the blender, rather than grating, and used dried parsley and coriander. Even with these changes it was definitely a five star sauce. A great change from the ubiquitous marinara sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      Very very very good. I haven't change a thing to the recipe except that I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper as my dh cannot comprehend a sauce that is not at list mild hot :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Wow!!!!!! What a sauce...I added lemon juice, lemon peel and fresh lemon thyme. Fresh flavours...with a tang...superb with lamb shanks braised for a few hours, it cuts through any lamb fat remaining ...brings a new taste sensation. Topped it with more fresh coriander. Our house has 4 generations and it suited us all...from a 2 year old to an 84 year old.Thanks for the recipe. Once again ...SENSATIONAL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hajar's Wicked Sauce Tomatish!

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.9
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    40%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 603.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes