Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haitian Diri Ak Pwa (Rice and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haitian Diri Ak Pwa (Rice and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2011

      I've been trying to find a recipe for the rice and beans I ate 3x a day while on a mission trip in Haiti. This recipe comes really close. It's quick and easy to make and it's delicious! I'll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is a delicious recipe! My husband loves rive and beans, and he also loves spicy foods. I followed MarraMamba's suggestion and used chipotle peppers instead of scotch bonnet. I loved the creamy texture of the dish, and it is easy to adjust to the level of heat you like. On top of all that, it is beautiful as well. I used red peppers as green peppers and I do not get along. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I made this for the 10th time or so today, it is such a comfort food! update. today i had no scotch bonnet so used a chipotle hot sauce (like tabasco but from chipotles) and it was amazing. Added a little smoky flavor to it. I would suggest using a chipotle in adobo as well. i have only tried one other haitian rice and beans recipe and this one is by far the best. I used to live there and the maid would bring it for my lunch..not bc she had to cook for me but she was always proud of her rice and beans. Took me right back to living there!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      This was very good, almost like my former co-worker's dish. I did use the scotch bonnet, but put it in a tea ball to cook in the beans, less chance of it falling apart. I did not change anything else. It is easy to make and delicious to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Wonderful, flavorful dish! I used a jalapeno for the scotch bonnet, otherwise made as directed. Really loved the generous amount of thyme used, it really made this dish great. Served this as a meatless main course and it was filling and satisfying; leftovers are great too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by LifeIsGood

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      This was more flavorful than I was anticipating! This was our first time trying Haitian food and I'm glad we did. give it a 5, my bf a 4. I used black-eyed peas because thats what I had on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Loved this! I love rice for breakfast (weird, I know) so this was mine today! Thanks for sharing, made for Zingo, ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I really liked the appearance of the rice from the tomato sauce. The flavor was very nice also. I did tone down the heat a bit and used somewhat less scotch bonnet than was called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      This goes into my best-of-the-best file. My daughter wants me to make this rice and beans recipe "all the time". It's super easy to make and takes great. I made half the recipe, and now wish I had made the full batch. Thanks for posting! Made for the Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      What a great rice & beans dish! This is flavorful and very enjoyable. We enjoyed the creamy texture and the use of tomato sauce and spicy chilies. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      This was delicious and easy. I had no capsicum, so I used an eggplant which worked nicely. Wasn't sure what you meant by 'tomato sauce', I assumed not like ketchup and decided to use Tomato Paste, which tasted great. Made for ZWT 9, for the Tasty Testers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I must admit, the reason I chose this recipe is because it is very inexpensive to make and therefor helps to stretch the grocery budget. I didn't really know how well it would be received by my family though. My husband would not try it however; my kids LOVED it... with all of them going back for seconds.
      I live in the middle of the boonies, and was not able to find scotch bonnet peppers, so I added a little more then a 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and then a Tbs. of chipotle pepper sauce to give it the depth from the smokey flavor to the vegetables. I sauteed the veggies, herbs, tomato sauce, spices and beans on the stove top to meld the flavors. I then added rice, 1/2 chicken broth (I had some in the fridge that needed to be used up) 1/2 water to my rice cooker and then stirred in the veggie/been mixture. When it was cooking, it filled the kitchen with such a wonderful aroma. I will definitely be making this again. Made and reviewed for Spring PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haitian Diri Ak Pwa (Rice and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.1
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    27%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 271.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes