61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I hate to give a poor rating, but decided it was the only thing to do. I tried this recipe with the added step of rinsing with a vinegar/water solution and it made my hair so dry (I have long oily hair) I thought it was all going to break off my head in splinters. I did have that squeaky clean feeling, but it just felt like it was *too* squeaky. Maybe I don't use enough product on my hair for it to need a clean this deep, but this rinse is definitely not for me. It took several washes with deep conditioning for my hair to return to something like normal. Thanks for posting, though, and I'm glad it has worked so well for so many other people!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 06, 2011

THIS IS WONDERFUL!!! I have long hair and have always used a variety of very expensive hair products. This made my hair super shiny and silky much better than all my expensive conditioners. I am not wearing my hair up in a ponytail today, instead I am enjoying how healthy my hair feels. I will be using this recipe at least once a week. I used the vinegar wash too. I can't thank you enough for this posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 July 26, 2010

I am so glad I didn't fall for my stylists sales ploy and buy that expensive (and tiny) bottle of hair clarifier. This works great and costs pennies! After rinsing the shampoo/soda mixture I also rinsed with vinegar water and then conditioned as normal. My hair feels great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Riger March 31, 2010

My hair looks and feels so much better after using this. I kept it on for about 5mins and now I feel as if I have got my own hair back - all the product buildup had really changed the texture. This is great, will use it all the time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood August 15, 2009

This is the best! I mix it in one of those tiny gladware containers and keep it in my shower since I find it makes enough for 3 shampoos. It's particularly good for rescuing a shampoo that normally leaves an icky residue or isn't coating/cleaning your hair properly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
briosgaid July 19, 2009

Worked wonders

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbzebulon May 14, 2009

Works better and is way cheaper than any "hair clarifying" shampoo out there, in my experience. You definitely should use twice the amount of shampoo to baking soda to be most effective though. Do not leave in more than 4 minutes tops. After the baking soda mix and before conditioner, the one tablespoon of vinegar mixed with a cup of water helps to restore the acid balance and smoothness. May want to heed the warnings for those with colored or highlighted hair also. I've been using this extremely simple recipe for years, and haven't found anything more effective or satisfying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashenalar February 28, 2008

wonderful. i'm bleached blond and it did not strip the toner out (which i was kind of expecting after reading another review). my hair looks and feels great today. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickels October 31, 2007

I have terrible water pressure therefore I have equally terrible built-up gunk in my hair. This recipe took all of it out, leaving my hair shiny and gorgeous. But as one reviewer pointed out earlier, it does take any dye right out of your hair. :( One more thing--mix it ahead of time in a bowl, when in the shower, just spoon it from the bowl into your hand. Simple!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman May 02, 2007

10 stars!!!! That's is how I would rate this. I really was skeptical as I am African American and I just didn't know how this was going to work, but I decided to take a chance and WOW I am so glad I did. My hair is soft and shiny and the body is great. I am going to pass this on to all my friends and family. Thank-you so much for this great, inexpensive clarifier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisy Adams January 03, 2006
Hair Clarifier