Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hair Clarifier Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hair Clarifier

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2003

      WOW! I used this this morning and it is really an amazing idea! I usually spend $12.00 on a clarifying shampoo - now I can make it for pennies! My hair turned out soft and shiny. Thank-you sooooo much for sharing this - I will use this procedure often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      Very simple and very effective. Pleasantly surprised at how it got rid of the buildup. Great tip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Loved it! I have long hair that has NO body. It really helped. It seemed to do a lot better when I did a vinegar rinse as someone else mentioned. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      Yes I agree! I`ve been telling my clients about this for alot of years! It does work. Helps remove product build-up. Great for swimmers! Good for before perms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      This works great! I have done it several times. Last time I was careless and got some in my eye....it was irritated for days...will be far more careful in the future!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      Love it! My hair has been so limp and I've been trying all these different products to make it bouncy. Nothing was working. Found this..tried it with the vinegar rinse and my hair is bouncy, full of life, and shiny again! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      ..... OR, Just mix one Tbs baking soda to one cup water (I like to use a 3 cup mixture), and you'll get the same, if not better result. I also suggest to followup with the same ratio of apple cider vinegar/water to even out the PH, and add shine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Ive done this minus the shampoo for years and it has transformed my curly hair. I only do it once a week. It can be very drying if you use too much baking soda, or if you leave it in too long. Also, even if you don't overdo it, your hair can go through a protest period if you give up shampoo. I wash with a weak conditioner every two days or so, except in the summer when I wash daily. A great book to read is Curly Girl by Lorraine Massey about various approaches to this. It took me almost two years to commit, but once I did it and really did it right the difference in my hair has been amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Just used this today and thought it worked well. I still feel I have some build-up, but I have very fine hair and live in a very humid area, so I use a freeze spra and it may take a few times to get all the gunk out. Will definitely use again, thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

    • on January 04, 2009

      Not only do I have lifeless and limp hair, but it's hairspray laden. I was hoping this would give me hair like Miss Clairol (she's probably a Mrs. by now, though) and it didn't disappoint. The lacqeur build up is gone and I can feel the difference with my fingers. Definitely a 5 star shine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I used this this morning and maybe I used too much baking soda or something. It left my hair lifeless and flat. Maybe I didn't get it all rinsed out or something. Probably won't use again. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I use about 2 Tbs of an organic lavender liquid castile soap as my shampoo and add the Tbs of baking soda to it once a week... smells heavenly, easy to do and really removes some of the build up. I always make sure to rinse with cold water with a little apple cider vinegar added to correct the pH balance... this rinse is also great if you have an itchy sclap or dandruff... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Awesome stuff!! The lather that this worked up was incredible. My hair was squeaky clean! I am so glad I found this and plan to keep a box of baking soda in my bathroom from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      I love this and will definately be using again. I have very fine hair and it really perked up and was very soft and shiny after trying this. Thanks soooooo much for this mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This is GREAT! I have spent so much money on salon products and this worked better then all. Thank you so much for this. I will be telling all my friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      My hair is naturally curly, and it has taken me 13 years to find the right combination of pruducts to both tame and enhance the curls on a fairly consistent basis. I figured my hair would go crazy and frizz all over when I used the soda mixed with my regular shampoo- but the curls were perfect, and bouncier, shinier, dare I say it- happier- LOL. Even DH thought I had found some new product. I have used this once a week for the last 3 weeks, and it's great, especially when followed by the vinegar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This simple cheap recipe works wonders on my long hair. I had so much build-up in my hair I couldn't even get a comb through it. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      Simple and it works! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Remove some of the buildup? It was like having a head of NEW hair (except for the gray LOL--can you do something about that?) My hair looked several shades lighter and I don't think it's because it stripped color off. I think it just had so much "product" that I forgot what color it was! I will use this regularly; it's amazing and dirt cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hair Clarifier

    Serving Size: 1 (16 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3757.1 mg
    156%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes