Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hainanese Chicken Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hainanese Chicken Rice

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2011

      I made this for Chinese New Year! The Main attraction of my Menu #57892.
      I used 2 chickens and stuffed them with ginger, garlic and scallions. Rubbed them with salt. Place into a strainer of a pasta pot. Then into a larger (then the pasta pot) pot of boiling water. The pasta pot was used to place the cooked chicken into the cold water bath. I made two chickens using one to make Hue Chicken Salad Ga Bop.
      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/hue-chicken-salad-ga-bop-166720#ixzz1CvQorE9G I did simmer the chicken for 30 minutes then shut off the flame and let sit for 35 minutes.
      FOR THE CHILI SAUCE I used
      1 tablespoon lime juice
      3 tablespoon reserved chicken poaching broth
      2 teaspoon sugar
      4 tablespoon sriracha chili sauce
      4 cloves black garlic
      1 inch peace of ginger
      I didn`t make the ginger sauce. I`m sure it was good but no need for it.
      The Chicken was very very very tender.
      For the rice I used brown basmati rice (it`s what I had), black garlic, didn`t have the screwpine leaves so skipped them. The rice was great!
      The sauce for the chicken I made in the blender after I made the chili sauce using the remains it to add to the sauce for the chicken. Very nice!
      I did garnish with parsley but I do suggest using cilantro as called for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Its as good if not better than in Singapore. You get seconds. Its easier than it seems. I sub the whole chook with lovely thighs. Made all the sauces, love the garlic in all. For the chook sauce, I just use ABC sweet sauce, sasame oil and soup stock, didn't have time to make the garlic oil. It was too delicious. Couldn't wait. Think I can invite some friends over for a meal next time. I also blanch some bok choy in the soup. Just great. My daughter loves it. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I love this recipe. My family prefers dark meat so I sub legs and thighs for a whole chicken. I also add 4 scallions to the boiling chicken. After the chicken has cooked and cooled, I debone it and return the bones to the broth to simmer for more flavor. I add 2 spring onions, green part only, to the ginger sauce because that is how it is served in most restos. I also add 1 tablespoon of Chinese Rice Wine to the Sauce for chicken. If you have an Asian Grocery near you, check out their Singapore Hainanese Chicken Rice packet by Asian Home Gourmet. I add this spice paste to the rice which makes the rice to-die-for...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This was fantastic, especially the sauce for the chicken. I can't rate the ginger sauce, as we didn't make it, but it sounds good. We had a jar of Singapore Hainanese Chicken sauce from the Chinese supermarket (which we thinhk is very authentic) so didn't make that sauce either, but the star was the soy/sesame/garlic sauce - outstanding yet so simple. Out of the 5 places we had Chicken Rice in Singapore and Malacca, this tasted the best, apart from one place in Malacca. The only thing I did differently was to add to the poaching liquor soy sauce instead of salt and a few dried chilies. It was so simple, quick and most of all delicious, we will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Tried this recipe tonight and it was great. Got a big thumbs up from the kids. They were raised in SE Asia and have had chicken rice in three different countries and this one was pretty darn close. We all enjoyed it and despite the length of the recipe, it was easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I should have rated this long ago, now everyone has renewed interested because of Bittman's article - Bittman should grovel at your feet, this recipe is so superior. I was flummoxed at first, the long list of ingredients nearly threw me off. But I persevered to my family's ever-lasting joy. The hot sauce is fabulously hot with depth from the ginger as well as the chiles. I never made the ginger sauce, so I can't comment on it. What I can say, this is absolutely wonderful. There aren't superlatives enough to express how much we love this. This rice recipe makes a fair good bit, so we almost always have some of it in the frig and we pour the chicken sauce over ANY leftover meat and eat with this rice - divine! One bite and we are transported back to the hawkers at Holland Village, Singapore. We love this so, Syltel. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      easy to follow and simple good work

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I used a freshly slaughtered chicken, I think it wouldn't be as tender if you use frozen chicken, i chose to boil it for 25 mins and allowed it to sit for 20 minutes covered but the next time i cooked this dish, i'll be sitting it for 25 mins. Instead of putting the salt in the water before boiling the chicken, i rubbed 1tablespoon all around the chicken so the chicken won't be bland. I think i was kinda in a hurry in letting the oil of the chicken fat come out, i suggest to really brown the fat before putting the ginger and garlic. This is the first time i have tried cooking this dish and i was glad that out of the many recipes of this kind i chose to tried this particular one. It's easy and tasty, the meat is definitely tender. My husband liked it a lot, he said its like the one we had in singapore. Thanks for sharing this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This was fabulous. I started investigating different recipes for this after Mark Bittman talked about it a few weeks ago, but this looked like the more promising recipe ... everyone told me that hainanese chicken doesn't look like much, but is absolutely delicious. It was! The rice was unbelievable. I cheated and bought chili sauce, but next time I'll make all the sauces too. Topped it with chopped scallions and diced cucumber -- next time I'll add a few more vegetables (personal preference). This recipe is not nearly as difficult as it seems at first glance, and I highly recommend it. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

    • on April 27, 2008

      I love this recipe. It was so easy yet so tasty. I improvised it by adding some ground nuts for the soup and adding chicken feet to enrich the stock

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Oops... forgot to rate it. Definitely 5 star. 10 if they have more stars! ~ Singapore Girl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Fantastic!! Tried your recipe and the whole family loved it. The only thing that I did differently was that I cut down on the amount of garlic cloves for the dipping sauce. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      My friends and I love Hainanese Chicken Rice but thought it would be too difficult to make well. We tried your recipe last night and the results were amazing, probably the best Hiananese Chicken we have tasted. For a little extra zing, try adding coriander to the ginger sauce... the green contrasts nicely with the orange of the chilli sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      As an asian this recipe is awesome and as authentic as it gets. Additionally we serve bean sprouts with this - blach(?) the sprouts and toss with sesame oil white pepper and soy sauce, garnish with green onions. Try it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Just fantastic! i had been craving chicken rice for ages and just when it seemed i'd have to drive 2 hours to the city, i found your recipe! totally worth the time and the chilli ginger sauce was absolutely wonderful. as there was only two of us, i subbed the whole chook for 2 breasts with bones and the chicken fat with low salt margarine. it was just brilliant! i'll never have to drive into town again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      this was so delicious! It was a complete meal with one main ingredient. i love ginger, so i added more ginger to the recipe and it was amazing! the chili garlic sace was a favorite of my family. i left out the chicken fat, and used butter instead. I also used the leftover chicken broth from cooking the chicken to make a soup, by just putting Chinese cabbage chopped up in bowls and pouring the chicken broth over the cabbage. the ginger/garlic, flavor of the broth was perfect for the simple;e soup. It was lovely!!! thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I cooked it for the family and they just loved it. I especially love the sauce for the chicken. Makes the chicken all the more delicious. But for ginger sauce, I fried the blended ginger and garlic on low fire for about 5 minutes before adding other salt and lime juice. Then I cooked it for another minute. Its more fragrant and keeps for a long time. I made a big batch and used it as dipping sauce for a whole host of other dishes. Spread it over steamed fish and its delisumptous!! Thanks for great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      This is delicious. despite the long list of ingredients, it actually is quite simple to make. We are lucky we live a couple of miles from nyc chinatown and can get freshly killed chickens, the flavour is so much richer than supermarket chickens. my boys LOVE it! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hainanese Chicken Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1294.6
     
    Calories from Fat 424
    32%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 184.6 mg
    61%
    Sodium 2139.5 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 150.9 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    60%
    Protein 63.1 g
    126%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    screwpine leaves

    ginger

    ginger

    garlic oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites