16 Reviews

This was very tasty. I made the full amount of the sauce and only made 1lb haddock and didn't really seem like much sauce so I feel it could use a bit more. I liked the addition of the ketchup to the breading. My husband and I enjoyed this very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 January 29, 2013

This was excellent. I didn't even bother with the butter sauce because a bit fell off during cooking and it tasted great on its own! It would also be great with a nice tartar sauce. My kids enjoyed it, though one picked off the breading (no offense to the recipe, she just hates breaded things). My husband thought it was great too, and I think we'll be making haddock this way next time we have it too. I had to make a couple of changes - I used water instead of milk, and I had to use half cornmeal because I didn't have enough crumbs. Actually, the cornmeal made it even crispier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads July 05, 2011

Yum Yum Yum. Followed recipe exactly - except - We didn't have bread crumbs. Use crushed corn flakes and corn meal instead. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Dukes May 07, 2010

I could not tell any difference. It was okay. It got nice and crispy. I tried half of the fish with the white wine and butter poured over it and half just as it came out of the pan. I liked the plain half better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 November 20, 2009

What a fantastic way to prepare haddock. This recipe is so much better than traditional fried fish. I think the addition of ketchup to the middle breading step adds a little something to the fish. The fish turned out juicy and tender with a lovely, tasty crust. We enjoyed the butter sauce, but like a previous reviewer, we thought it was just fine without it. Lovely recipe! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe September 15, 2009

Did I do something wrong here? Or am I just a fool? It came out like plain fried fish, but the crust fell off when I scooped it out of the pan. All the flavor was lost in the frying. Maybe it would come out better if it was baked. 2 stars for the benefit of the doubt, but it was hardly edible. Sorry! I may try this again and bake it instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayndrop December 06, 2008

Wonderful recipe. The ketchup is a great addition to the breading. If you want to cut down on calories, you don't need the butter sauce since the fish is so delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cboland November 17, 2008

What a delicious way to prepare haddock!! We all loved it and I will definitely make this one again. I must admit I was a little skeptical about the addition of ketchup to the egg mixture but it added a really subtle taste and color to the mixture. Thanks for sharing Allyoop!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Greenest August 19, 2008

I cooked this recipe for our lunch today. My fiance and I both loved it. I thought the texture was extra special. It reminded me of a coating that my mom used to make for chicken that I used to love. The flavor was excellent also. My fiance kept raving about it. He said it was close to 5 stars. He never gives anything 5 stars, so from him that's like 6 stars. A big hit that I'm sure I will make again. Thanks for a GREAT recipe. Update: My fiance raves about it every time I serve it. He told me to make sure to save the recipe. I made this recipe again today using Catfish. It still turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd August 06, 2008

I never usually cook or eat fish but now that I am a mother and my son is starting to eat table food I thought I should be introducing a variety of foods to him. I ended up substituting broth for the white wine. This recipe was so delicious and fool proof. A keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zuferach June 19, 2008
Haddock Supreme