8 Reviews

this is a great idea! we loved this! i made some alterations for what i had. i made up my own taco seasonings and sprinkled on the chops, then i quickly seared them in a pan really quick (i think it tastes better that way), then i put a bell pepper ring underneath each chop to sort of elevate them, then i topped each chop with another bell pepper ring and a red onion ring, then i spooned a little green salsa and red salsa on top. i topped each chop with mexican blend cheese. baked for 20 minutes just to finish the chops off and melt the cheese. the flavors were fantastic! we will be making this again in different ways with what ingredients we have on hand. thanks for the awesome idea! served with red beans and rice. (this would work well with chicken breasts or a thin cut steak too!!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD October 15, 2009

What a yummy dinner! I made this on the barbeque instead of using the oven. Didn't add salsa, as I had none on hand, but it was still wonderful. Served with suggested extras plus a saute of pepper, zucchini & onion. Thanks Wildflour for yet another keeper. Made as a recipenap for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #14 Nov 2008 DH told me I had to review this again! I made these tonight with chicken breast fillets & baked for 20 mins before adding the cheese - boy, were they great. Thanks again Kelly for sharing this lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl November 13, 2008

Awesome pork chops! I used pneuma's Chili Salsa for the salsa and baked for 35 minutes. The chops were so moist and loved the taco seasoning "breading". Served with mama's kitchens Rice Verde and topped with sour cream and extra salsa. Thank you Kelly for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 29, 2008

I thought it was over kill on the toppings - until I took a bite! YUMMY! Yes, it's a lot of toppings but they all work wonderfully together and still let the flavour of the pork come through. Easy enough to throw together after work and would impress company too. Try it - you won't be disappointed! Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 27, 2008

This was a wonderful change for pork chops. The flavors all worked great together. I topped ours with sour cream, lettuce and green onions. I would have used tomatoes too if I had them. Reviewed from ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 21, 2008

Wonderful dish! I love recipes like this that are topped with fresh lettuce and tomato. We omitted the pickled jalapeno pepper only because we didn't have any on hand and I forgot the cheese, but the hubby still loved it and came back for seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth June 11, 2008

Yummy! I used homemade Taco Seasoning which I already had on hand and was able to use up a partial jar of salsa and some leftover sharp white cheddar. I wasn't sure how I would like cheddar cheese w/ pork but it was great! I only made 2 chops but they were fairly large so I got three servings from them. Topped with lettuce & sour cream. Thanks for the recipe Wildflour! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 18, 2006

This was so good! I used Penzey's Bold Taco Seasoning and topped it with salsa. Since we are watching our calories, I did leave the cheese off and we topped it with Ninfa's Green Sauce # 34965. The pork chops came out tender and were wonderfully seasoned. Thanks Peacefulnightdove, this recipe is going into my box of favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. August 08, 2006
Hacienda Pork Chops Grande!