12 Reviews

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was so delicious served with club crackers and wheat thins! It makes a lot! I am going to make it for my company Christmas party. Don't be afraid to make this a couple of days in advance because the flavors just get better. We had the leftovers 3 and 4 nights after Thankgiving and the taste was better each day.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks December 08, 2010

Didn't change this at all - except add some fresh chives to the top for a decoration. Over the hill with a taste sensation - had some french bread to dip into - and that's all we needed on this cozy evening. Thx!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 12, 2010

delicious! I added in fresh garlic in place of the powder and also added in some Tabasco, make certain to hand-squeeze out any excess moisture in the shrimp and then chop finely, this only gets better with chilling time, thanks for sharing Teresa!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 20, 2009

Very tasty, outstanding dip. Had it with bome chips, and it made a great appetizer for a quiet night. Made recipe as posted without any adjustments. Will be making again. Made for 1-2-3 hits.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 05, 2009

What's not to love?? I too added a healthy dash of hot sauce (Crystal) and I garneshed with a dusting of paprika. Will be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate May 03, 2009

Have a high demand for dips & appetizers for last evening, so I was glad to find this recipe just in time! It took a bit of doing to find a store that had cream of shrimp soup, but when I did, this went together very well & made a GREAT TASTING dip, & one that I'll be making again! Thanks for your recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 03, 2008

My mom used to make this recipe back in the 50's. I still make it to this day and can eat the whole batch myself. Make sure you soften the cream cheese real good and mix with a hand blender to get it nice and smooth. Fold in any kind of (cooked) shrimp you want and let it firm up again in the fridge. Oh man...I'm making myself some this weekend, for no reason at all other than I. LOVE. THIS. STUFF.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessann March 28, 2012

This was yummy! Note the recipe has now been changed to specify "thawed PREcooked shrimp" to avoid confusion. It was a real crowd pleaser. Added some very small diced celery, one thin slice of sweet onion diced and some chives for a bit of color-- I made it again last night for the Oscars. A keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimchi1 February 28, 2011

Not a review, but a note to wayout2011. I hope you weren't serious about using raw shrimp. I would be willing to wager the recipe is talking about frozen fully cooked shrimp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizlee February 22, 2011

I thought it would be good but turns out that I don't like the taste of raw shrimp. If I do make it again I will cook the shrimp first as I think that would make it much better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wayout2011 February 22, 2011
Habit Forming Shrimp Dip