Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-69 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2012

      The only time we have gyros is when we travel to San Diego. Husband was hungry for one and so he purchased some lamb. After researching I decided to use this recipe. The lamb was not ground so I cut it into small pieces, put on a plate and in freezer for 20 minutes just to toughen up the edges. Ground the pieces in small batches in my small food processor. Combined the lamb with the beef as recommended in the recipe. My modification to the recipe...used Italian Bread Crumbs, 4 cloves of garlic instead of 2, reduced salt to 1 teaspoon, but everything else the same. Served on Kangaroo Flat Bread that was heated in a little olive oil prior to plating. Tossed on some diced tomatoes, red onion, and Tzatziki Sauce with a salad on the side. Don't be hesitant to try this recipe. You won't be sorry! It's crazy good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Wow! I was so pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Such a few simple ingredients teemed with a great technique and you have an amazing meal! The meat was super flavorful and had a great texture. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      The search is over. Truly the best gyro recipe yet. Didn't have onion powder, so I substituted 1-1/2 tbl. of minced onion. Everything else the same. Definitely a keeper, smells wonderful, slices wonderful. Slam it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      This was so good! Closest to the real thing I've found. After our trip to Greece last year, my kids keep requesting "real Greek food," but since we live in China, that's pretty impossible to come by. This recipe made me a superstar! I did use beef and pork in equal amounts instead since the kids aren't fans of lamb, and it worked fantastically. Also, I had the Ayi (nanny) completely entertained by my meat-throwing. "Americans are very funny!" she said. I blamed it on the Greeks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      I had to pop in on this recipe and give you some kudos, Steve. I love to just come here and choose a type of food, load it into the search, then plug away at reading the recipes under the heading I've chosen. For this eve's search, I've been itching for some gyros and as soon as I saw your recipe with the photos, I instantly put it in my saved recipe file. I'm having trouble finding lamb but when I do, I'm going to follow this recipe to the tee because it's exactly the look of the meat I needed to see. The texture looks perfect and it set my mouth to watering at the very first glance! I'll add another review when I find some lamb and try it along with a rating but if it's anything remotely like what I see in those juicy photos of yours, it'll be the full five stars. The only thing I'll do differently is use a V-slicer to get those thinner slices like you get from a Kronos kit or some such thing. Thanks for setting my tastebuds alight, man, and now to search for lamb in my area....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      This is a good recipe. I too, enjoyed slamming the meat on the counter.....ahhh Christmas shopping stress reliever....lol. We really enjoyed these sandwiches. My kids love gyros and now I can make them at home. I will cut back a bit on the cooking time as mine got a bit dry....no big deal, easy fix on my part. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This was really good and I will make it again. Texture & flavor were perfect. My friend said my house smelled like a greek restaurant. :) I Didn't have fresh garlic, so I used garlic powder; otherwise, I followed the directions precisly. The only bad thing I can say is I think cooking for 1 hour was too much, as it seemed a bit dry, which is where the sauce came in. (still looking for a GOOD easy sauce) I would also use more garlic and a lil less oregano & salt next time. I gave it four stars for the reasons I mentioned But IT DOES taste authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

    • on April 05, 2009

    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 535.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes