70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic!! I used all lamb and I was so impressed by the authentic flavor and texture!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Climbnyak June 18, 2011

A really nice recipe also made Tzatziki Souce and used pockedless pitas

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Esther in Atlanta, GA June 15, 2011

These were excellent. I followed the recipe except for the preparation. I put the ingredients in a food processor and blended it for a minute until the mixture was like a paste. Then I cooked in a loaf pan in a water bath for 1 hour 10 minutes.(Alton Brown's cooking method) I served these with this cucumber sauce. http://www.food.com/recipe/cucumber-sauce-for-gyros-129930

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtwtech May 14, 2011

Tastes more like lamb meatloaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bur0203 January 16, 2011

Wonderful! The kneading and slamming really gives the meat a different texture, and its perfect. I wouldn't alter a thing. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ July 12, 2010

We love to try different sandwiches and this caught my eye. We made them up and were surprised how good they were with so few ingredients. Great tasting and one "sammie" we will have again! Mike

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike&Cassie June 12, 2010

Awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xjust3 May 03, 2010

I can't give this any stars until I try this again. I followed your recipe exactly as written using 2 pounds of ground beef. My meat turned out like meatloaf. Is it because I used all beef instead of using a lamb and beef mixture? I used 80/20 beef and kneaded/slammed it for 10 mins. Maybe I should have let the beef come to room temp before starting to knead it? I tried to make sure the loaf was as close to 3" thick and rectangular as I could get it. Another thought is maybe I didn't pack it tight enough? I would really like to get the slices like you have in your picture. I did bake it in the oven on a boiler pan and the meat had a great flavor but it just wasn't the texture I wanted. Any input would be more than welcome :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani February 22, 2010

I was browsing recipes the other day and came across this one, I was immediately intrigued because it had never occurred to me that I could make gyros at home. And such a simple recipe! I had to try it and I'm SO glad I did! I made it exactly as written except I wasn't able to find any lamb so I had to use all hamburger. I cheated and bought some Ziki sauce at Costco. The loaf, after baking was very compact and easy to slice. I believe, as other reviews have said, that beating up the mixture is essential to the texture and should not be skipped. Piled all the toppings including the feta and it was sublime! DH said that if I'd wrapped it in foil he'd thought I'd gone to the local gyro cafe. Fantastic was what he said. Thanks so much for making these so easy to make at home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat February 18, 2010

I have been making this recipe for a while now. And this is the Best Gyros recipe I have made. The flavors are just amazing. Like other reviews have said "Do Not Skip" the pounding of the meat, I would even say to pound it for a good 15 min. (Your stress will be relieved). By doing this you will get the perfect texture tha you want for the meat. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that my family enjoys very much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Army wife Becky February 05, 2010
Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home