73 Reviews

This recipe and technique is Fantastic. I had a pound of ground beef, no lamb, but did have 2 pork loin chops, so I ground those up, mixed with the beef and followed your recipe to a T. My husband, who loves Gyros was amazed. He said this was better than anything we have around here and tasted great, the flavors "just about perfect" but wants to hunt out some ground lamb for the next time. I enjoyed slamming the meat mixture, partly because it annoyed my dog to no end, the other part because I could see it working. When I patted/pressed the meat into shape it had a nice gloss to it. I was a tad alarmed that it rose "like meatloaf" but there is where the resemblance parted ways. Great flavor, texture, aroma and ease of making. Easily 10 stars. I made flat bread, tzatziki, shredded some romaine and diced tomatoes. Plenty left for lunch this weekend. Thanks for posting, Di ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's June 25, 2009

This is probably my "Proudest" recipe to review. DH was SOOOO skeptical although he never said a word until he took his first bite and found himself in Gyro Heaven. He said it was probably the best Gyro he's ever eaten and he knows his Greek Food!! I don't care for them myself (because of the Lamb...) so I didn't even try it but if he's happy...I'm happy! Thank you sharing this awesome recipe and making me look like a Greek Culinary Goddess!! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe April 04, 2009

So delicious. Tastes exactly like gyros from a restaurant. The kneading really does give it a very smooth and cohesive texture that slices very easily and holds together perfectly. Definitely going into our best-loved meal rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances January 27, 2014

This recipe is perfect! I always use it and it has always come out great. It is simple and easy and makes the perfect homemade gyros, i usually make caramelized onions and or use tomatoes and lettuce along with traditional homemade tzatziki sauce. Either way everyone loves it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mis liz July 10, 2013

Everyone loved this! I didn't have lamb so used all ground beef. My arms were tired by the time the ten minutes of pounding was done...I'm a bit of a wimp! All that pounding did give it a great texture though. The next time I make this, I would like to try using ground lamb but that isn't something I see often in the grocery store here. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 01, 2013

Wow, I'm impressed. This recipe is near identical to the gyro shops. I cut the recipe in half using only beef and opted out of pounding the meat on the counter, and instead followed some other reviewers suggestions and pulsed the meat with the ingredients in a food processer for several minutes. Baked in a loaf pan and turned out phenomenal. I can't wait to cook this on the grill this spring. Nice knowing having authentic gyros doesn't entail a trip to a Greek restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lincolnite February 23, 2013

Thanks so much for this recipe---it was DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have lamb so I used all ground beef and I didn't even have onion powder, so I just added more garlic :-) I will most DEFINITELY be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelleofPA January 23, 2013

I made this using ground turkey and used my kitchenaid to mix it. Wow did this taste just like the Gyros you get and a pizza shop. I used flatbread from trader joes. After I baked and sliced the meat I pan seared it. I plan on making large batches and freezing it Pre sliced.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasteeone November 14, 2012

I am very picky about my food. Greek and Japanese being the ones I am very peculiar about.

I have always made my own Tzatziki sauce, as it is a very easy recipe, but I figured I would give a Gyro recipe a try for the first time. I searched a lot of places, and most of the recipes called for more prep and ingredients than this one. I was hesitant at first, but figured I would give it a shot. Let's just say I do not regret trying this one.

The recipe is very simple. One thing, as I have asked several people, is that the consistency of the meat is the most important. I can assume that is the reason for the kneading and throwing it on the counter. I was told the meat has to almost be a paste-like consistency, or it will not cook properly, and will fall apart and crumble as you try to slice it (sort of like meatloaf). The texture and taste was exactly like every authentic Greek restaurant I have eaten at. I sliced it real thin and got a lot of meat for my Gyros. We made about 8, I think (and I stuff mine full with a lot of meat, tomatoes and onions topped with Tzatziki sauce). Everyone loved it. Not one complaint!

Thank you for a wonderful, easy authentic-tasting recipe!!! Kudos!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RBeach August 20, 2012

These were really good. One thing that was confusing too me was that my meat block ended up taller than it was wide, which I hadn't expected. I cooked for 55 minutes and they were excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superoxen October 13, 2011
Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home