Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for a while now. And this is the Best Gyros recipe I have made. The flavors are just amazing. Like other reviews have said "Do Not Skip" the pounding of the meat, I would even say to pound it for a good 15 min. (Your stress will be relieved). By doing this you will get the perfect texture tha you want for the meat. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that my family enjoys very much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Excellent recipe I have tried to make 'real gyros' for a long time, these are wonderful !!!! I love lamb and I am going to try with all lamb next time The texture was right on , and it sliced really thin Thank you for your wonderfull recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Very good. I cut the recipe in half, using all beef (can't find lamb around here) and it was plenty for 2 and a toddler. I have to admit, I did follow the technique but really only mixed and kneaded for about 5 min total. I made into two small loafs and broiled in the oven for about 10 min until well done as I was short on time. Turned out great and maybe a total of 30 min start to finish. Texture and taste was great, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This really does taste like an authentic Gyro. I only used ground beef and I cut the recipe way down for just 2 of us. It was really great . Tasted just like you would get in a restaurant . Plus , the slamming of the beef on the counter was great for working out the frustrations of my day at work :) . Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      These were fantastic. I used ground beef because the rest of my family won't go for lamb. Served on pitas with Greek Tzatziki Sauce and lettuce and tomato...definitely will make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Would give it more if I could..yummm. This tastes so much like the "real stuff" that our previous greek rest. is going think they did something wrong. I had my doubts but we beat the fat out of this by manhandling it for a long time and the texture is really very close to the restaurant meats.. Thanks for posting, we will make this super good and super easy recipe often. Yummm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is pretty fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly, using beef and lamb. I did put it in my countertop rotisserie to cook it and absolutely loved it. DH says it's as good as our local Greek restaurant's. (I think so too!) Thanks so much for great treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      DH made these for a dinner party using lamb and beef. His two guests raved they they tasted much better than most authentic Greek restaurants! Followed the recipe to the letter. Now it's time to enjoy some leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Oh yes! EXACTLY what I was looking for! I'd try Greek Gyros before, with another recipe that turned out bland and desperately disappointing. This one was PERFECT! My husband loved it too, which is just so satisfying. Great flavor, perfect texture...just awesome! I actually only used beef and one pound of it. And cooking it in the oven at 350 for 35 minutes cooked it beautifully. Yup! Definitely a keeper! Thanks SO much Steve!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      An absolutely wonderful recipe. I've tried other gyro recipes--this is the best. Wonderful flavor and texture. Thanks a million for making one of my son's favorite foods so easy to replicate. Followed the explicit directions to a T, and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks, Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      These were delicious! I used all ground beef as I couldn't find ground lamb, but my husband thought that they would have been pretty darn close to the gyros we used to get in Greektown (Detroit). Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This was excellent and we enjoyed them a lot. The lamb is secret! I didn't know they even sold ground lamb at Walmart! I grilled it, but next time I am going to bake it. The oil drippings caused big flames and was hard to maintain a good heat without burning. Everyone at work wanted some! YUMMY! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      This was SOOOO delicious and simple to make. The flavor profile is spot on, and the kitchen smelled wonderful as it was baking. I found it therapeutic, too, throwing the beef down on the counter repeatedly! This is a must-save!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Followed the recipe exactly as it was posted and the meat came out great (tastes like it came from a Greek restaurant)!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Excellent texture and flavor. I cooked the meat in the oven; I felt it lacked a crispy edge or charred flavor. I'll make again, cooking the meat on the grill. I like to quickly toast the pita by brushing with olive oil & put on hot iron skillet to lightly brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      This recipe was amazing! I had been thinking about thinking about making gyros for a long time and never had the nerve to try it. I thought it would abe too complicated and time consuming. Anyway... I had some lamb and thought I would look up a recipe. I found this one, and absolutely loved it. It didn't take that long, maybe 30 minutes or less to prepare and an hour of baking. I tasted and looked like real gyro meat, the kind they shave off the big skewers at the restaurants. I made it with gluten free bread crumbs and coupled it with gluten free skordalia (garlic sauce) recipe and my entire family was in heaven. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. We may never need to go out to get Gyros again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Fun to make and really nice flavor. The only thing I would do different next time would be to either grill it or put it under the broiler or on the grill the last few minutes of baking. Thanks for posting the recipe. It's so nice to know we can make these at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      This came out (almost) perfectly. I used a commercial "Middle Eastern Blend" of spices in the meat mix, and ground it all up in my food processor. The results were absolutely delicious but next time I will bake the meat for only around 45-50 minutes as I thought it came out a bit dry. Other than that, my hubby and I enjoyed it immensely. Served on whole wheat pitas with lettuce, tomato, and cucumber-yogurt sauce. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      It's a keeper! After baking in the oven for 60 mins, my husband grilled the over sized Gyro burger on the grill to char the outside of the meat. Allow the meat to rest & cool before slicing. Use a VERY sharp knife. YUM! Thanks Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Sooooooo good. I mixed it with my stand mixer and then followed the recipe to the T. I used the lamb and it was AMAZING. Better than what I've had at restaurants. My wife was too scarred to eat lamb BUT use the lamb! Fear not it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 535.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites