70 Reviews

I thought I had reviewed this years ago. Allow me to remedy my omission :)<br/>As other have said - this is an awesome recipe. Slapping that meat silly is a lot of fun as well as an opportunity to act out on your aggression. The taste is just as good as out local Greek restaurant. It is also a very empowering recipe.. there are a number in the data base here for Pita pocket bread and tzatziti so even if you live in an more isolated area you can still have 'the real deal'.<br/>I made it this time exactly as written but have also used just beef. Both are very good and with ground lamb at $11/lb here it is something I would generally just make with beef. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned April 27, 2013

I was totally in Heaven last night eating my Gyros for dinner! This turned out perfectly, using 2lbs of ground round as I live in a very rural area and lamb is hard to come by. I also used my food processor for about 4 minutes like I read on another review. I served these in a pita, next time I will try to make the flatbread homemade, along with cucumber sauce ( Tzatziki (yoghurt and cucumber dip) ), lettuce, red onion, and sliced tomatoes. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katobow April 18, 2013

Wow, I'm impressed. This recipe is near identical to the gyro shops. I cut the recipe in half using only beef and opted out of pounding the meat on the counter, and instead followed some other reviewers suggestions and pulsed the meat with the ingredients in a food processer for several minutes. Baked in a loaf pan and turned out phenomenal. I can't wait to cook this on the grill this spring. Nice knowing having authentic gyros doesn't entail a trip to a Greek restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lincolnite February 23, 2013

Thanks so much for this recipe---it was DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have lamb so I used all ground beef and I didn't even have onion powder, so I just added more garlic :-) I will most DEFINITELY be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelleofPA January 23, 2013

I made this using ground turkey and used my kitchenaid to mix it. Wow did this taste just like the Gyros you get and a pizza shop. I used flatbread from trader joes. After I baked and sliced the meat I pan seared it. I plan on making large batches and freezing it Pre sliced.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasteeone November 14, 2012

I am very picky about my food. Greek and Japanese being the ones I am very peculiar about.

I have always made my own Tzatziki sauce, as it is a very easy recipe, but I figured I would give a Gyro recipe a try for the first time. I searched a lot of places, and most of the recipes called for more prep and ingredients than this one. I was hesitant at first, but figured I would give it a shot. Let's just say I do not regret trying this one.

The recipe is very simple. One thing, as I have asked several people, is that the consistency of the meat is the most important. I can assume that is the reason for the kneading and throwing it on the counter. I was told the meat has to almost be a paste-like consistency, or it will not cook properly, and will fall apart and crumble as you try to slice it (sort of like meatloaf). The texture and taste was exactly like every authentic Greek restaurant I have eaten at. I sliced it real thin and got a lot of meat for my Gyros. We made about 8, I think (and I stuff mine full with a lot of meat, tomatoes and onions topped with Tzatziki sauce). Everyone loved it. Not one complaint!

Thank you for a wonderful, easy authentic-tasting recipe!!! Kudos!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RBeach August 20, 2012

I enjoy this recipe, but I wish my husband did so I could eat it more often. Your technique for throwing the meat mixture really works to get the air out, spread the fat, and make the loaf stick together. I now use the method on my meatloaf, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
subaruthie October 20, 2011

These were really good. One thing that was confusing too me was that my meat block ended up taller than it was wide, which I hadn't expected. I cooked for 55 minutes and they were excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superoxen October 13, 2011

To quote my husband, "baby!!!! This is a gyro!!!!" Seems like a silly thing to say when I told him I was going to make gyros for dinner... but kind of understandable. I was skeptical that my 2 lbs of ground beef would turn into anything resembling gyro meat but I was wrong. My house smelled fantastic and we were all pleasantly surprised at how close it was to something we would order out. The only thing that made me sad is I didn't have the proper equipment to slice it thin and obviously that is no fault of the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes October 05, 2011
Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home