69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe and technique produce a memorable eating experience. No more wondering what's in my gyro meat or how many floors it's been bounced on (a recent restaurant experience). Thanks for the keeper. My entire family really enjoyed it...a rare happening at our dinner table.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids February 10, 2010

WOW!! This is the REAL DEAL!! The taste and texture is EXACTLY like the gyros served in nearby Greek Town, Detroit! I cannot beleive that this turned out so perfectly! My boyfriend was in total disbelief... in a really happy way. He Loves this dish. I used lamb and beef as directed but added a little extra garlic. I lined a loaf pan with saran wrap then packed the meat tightly into the pan and refrigerated overnight. I then removed the meat from the pan and baked it in a pan with a foil covered wire rack with holes poked in for drainage. I baked until the internal temp was 170 degrees f. I sliced very thinly and served it with Arabian Pita Bread abd Tzatziki along with some thinly sliced red onion, ripe tomato and a little lettuce. Terrific recipe! This recipe will make many relocated Detroiter's very happy! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet October 03, 2009

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! This has to be the best recipe I've gotten from Zaar (this followed closely with #87782 and #73825). My husband must have said at least 10 times how much he loved them. I never admitted to him there was lamb in them, and he didn't notice.. but the taste is authentic (and YES, you must do the throw the meat on the counter!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence September 29, 2009

IT WORKED!!!!!!! It really did!!! I admit I had my doubts, but was THRILLED over the results!!! TY, TY, TY!!!!!! Followed the recipe to a T, and wouldn't DREAM of changing a thing!!! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour August 09, 2009

WOW - not only was I no longer mad at my family when I finished making this - it was also absolutely DELISH!!!!!! - It was great to be able to make this at home rather than hand my money over to someone else - and I challenge anyone to tell me the difference..... Awesome recipe thanks for posting - we now have this in our faves.. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SEvans June 29, 2009

This recipe and technique is Fantastic. I had a pound of ground beef, no lamb, but did have 2 pork loin chops, so I ground those up, mixed with the beef and followed your recipe to a T. My husband, who loves Gyros was amazed. He said this was better than anything we have around here and tasted great, the flavors "just about perfect" but wants to hunt out some ground lamb for the next time. I enjoyed slamming the meat mixture, partly because it annoyed my dog to no end, the other part because I could see it working. When I patted/pressed the meat into shape it had a nice gloss to it. I was a tad alarmed that it rose "like meatloaf" but there is where the resemblance parted ways. Great flavor, texture, aroma and ease of making. Easily 10 stars. I made flat bread, tzatziki, shredded some romaine and diced tomatoes. Plenty left for lunch this weekend. Thanks for posting, Di ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's June 25, 2009

This is probably my "Proudest" recipe to review. DH was SOOOO skeptical although he never said a word until he took his first bite and found himself in Gyro Heaven. He said it was probably the best Gyro he's ever eaten and he knows his Greek Food!! I don't care for them myself (because of the Lamb...) so I didn't even try it but if he's happy...I'm happy! Thank you sharing this awesome recipe and making me look like a Greek Culinary Goddess!! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe April 04, 2009

So delicious. Tastes exactly like gyros from a restaurant. The kneading really does give it a very smooth and cohesive texture that slices very easily and holds together perfectly. Definitely going into our best-loved meal rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances January 27, 2014

This recipe is perfect! I always use it and it has always come out great. It is simple and easy and makes the perfect homemade gyros, i usually make caramelized onions and or use tomatoes and lettuce along with traditional homemade tzatziki sauce. Either way everyone loves it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mis liz July 10, 2013

Everyone loved this! I didn't have lamb so used all ground beef. My arms were tired by the time the ten minutes of pounding was done...I'm a bit of a wimp! All that pounding did give it a great texture though. The next time I make this, I would like to try using ground lamb but that isn't something I see often in the grocery store here. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 01, 2013
Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home