Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2013

      I thought I had reviewed this years ago. Allow me to remedy my omission :)<br/>As other have said - this is an awesome recipe. Slapping that meat silly is a lot of fun as well as an opportunity to act out on your aggression. The taste is just as good as out local Greek restaurant. It is also a very empowering recipe.. there are a number in the data base here for Pita pocket bread and tzatziti so even if you live in an more isolated area you can still have 'the real deal'.<br/>I made it this time exactly as written but have also used just beef. Both are very good and with ground lamb at $11/lb here it is something I would generally just make with beef. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      I was totally in Heaven last night eating my Gyros for dinner! This turned out perfectly, using 2lbs of ground round as I live in a very rural area and lamb is hard to come by. I also used my food processor for about 4 minutes like I read on another review. I served these in a pita, next time I will try to make the flatbread homemade, along with cucumber sauce ( Tzatziki (yoghurt and cucumber dip) ), lettuce, red onion, and sliced tomatoes. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      We absolutely loved this. I used my Kitchenaid rather than the 10 minute "pounding" method. I had to scrap the sides of the bowl throughout, but it was worth it and the texture came our perfect. I doubled the recipe and divided it into two loaves for baking. Finished loaves had a nice crust on them. This is very close in taste to the restuarants in our area. The only thing I would do next time is--after slicing--brown/crisp the slices in a little oil before serving. Perfecto, this is definitely on my list of recipes I will cook regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Wow, I'm impressed. This recipe is near identical to the gyro shops. I cut the recipe in half using only beef and opted out of pounding the meat on the counter, and instead followed some other reviewers suggestions and pulsed the meat with the ingredients in a food processer for several minutes. Baked in a loaf pan and turned out phenomenal. I can't wait to cook this on the grill this spring. Nice knowing having authentic gyros doesn't entail a trip to a Greek restaurant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Thanks so much for this recipe---it was DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have lamb so I used all ground beef and I didn't even have onion powder, so I just added more garlic :-) I will most DEFINITELY be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      I made this using ground turkey and used my kitchenaid to mix it. Wow did this taste just like the Gyros you get and a pizza shop. I used flatbread from trader joes. After I baked and sliced the meat I pan seared it. I plan on making large batches and freezing it Pre sliced.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I am very picky about my food. Greek and Japanese being the ones I am very peculiar about.

      I have always made my own Tzatziki sauce, as it is a very easy recipe, but I figured I would give a Gyro recipe a try for the first time. I searched a lot of places, and most of the recipes called for more prep and ingredients than this one. I was hesitant at first, but figured I would give it a shot. Let's just say I do not regret trying this one.

      The recipe is very simple. One thing, as I have asked several people, is that the consistency of the meat is the most important. I can assume that is the reason for the kneading and throwing it on the counter. I was told the meat has to almost be a paste-like consistency, or it will not cook properly, and will fall apart and crumble as you try to slice it (sort of like meatloaf). The texture and taste was exactly like every authentic Greek restaurant I have eaten at. I sliced it real thin and got a lot of meat for my Gyros. We made about 8, I think (and I stuff mine full with a lot of meat, tomatoes and onions topped with Tzatziki sauce). Everyone loved it. Not one complaint!

      Thank you for a wonderful, easy authentic-tasting recipe!!! Kudos!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Fabulous! First time for kids eating Gyros and they love them. I used only beef and the meat was excellent but will try lamb next time. Served with "Greek Pita Bread" and "Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I enjoy this recipe, but I wish my husband did so I could eat it more often. Your technique for throwing the meat mixture really works to get the air out, spread the fat, and make the loaf stick together. I now use the method on my meatloaf, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      These were really good. One thing that was confusing too me was that my meat block ended up taller than it was wide, which I hadn't expected. I cooked for 55 minutes and they were excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      To quote my husband, "baby!!!! This is a gyro!!!!" Seems like a silly thing to say when I told him I was going to make gyros for dinner... but kind of understandable. I was skeptical that my 2 lbs of ground beef would turn into anything resembling gyro meat but I was wrong. My house smelled fantastic and we were all pleasantly surprised at how close it was to something we would order out. The only thing that made me sad is I didn't have the proper equipment to slice it thin and obviously that is no fault of the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Fantastic!! I used all lamb and I was so impressed by the authentic flavor and texture!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      A really nice recipe also made Tzatziki Souce and used pockedless pitas

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      These were excellent. I followed the recipe except for the preparation. I put the ingredients in a food processor and blended it for a minute until the mixture was like a paste. Then I cooked in a loaf pan in a water bath for 1 hour 10 minutes.(Alton Brown's cooking method) I served these with this cucumber sauce. http://www.food.com/recipe/cucumber-sauce-for-gyros-129930

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Tastes more like lamb meatloaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Wonderful! The kneading and slamming really gives the meat a different texture, and its perfect. I wouldn't alter a thing. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      We love to try different sandwiches and this caught my eye. We made them up and were surprised how good they were with so few ingredients. Great tasting and one "sammie" we will have again! Mike

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I can't give this any stars until I try this again. I followed your recipe exactly as written using 2 pounds of ground beef. My meat turned out like meatloaf. Is it because I used all beef instead of using a lamb and beef mixture? I used 80/20 beef and kneaded/slammed it for 10 mins. Maybe I should have let the beef come to room temp before starting to knead it? I tried to make sure the loaf was as close to 3" thick and rectangular as I could get it. Another thought is maybe I didn't pack it tight enough? I would really like to get the slices like you have in your picture. I did bake it in the oven on a boiler pan and the meat had a great flavor but it just wasn't the texture I wanted. Any input would be more than welcome :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I was browsing recipes the other day and came across this one, I was immediately intrigued because it had never occurred to me that I could make gyros at home. And such a simple recipe! I had to try it and I'm SO glad I did! I made it exactly as written except I wasn't able to find any lamb so I had to use all hamburger. I cheated and bought some Ziki sauce at Costco. The loaf, after baking was very compact and easy to slice. I believe, as other reviews have said, that beating up the mixture is essential to the texture and should not be skipped. Piled all the toppings including the feta and it was sublime! DH said that if I'd wrapped it in foil he'd thought I'd gone to the local gyro cafe. Fantastic was what he said. Thanks so much for making these so easy to make at home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 535.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites