Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2012

      I made this for a potluck. Instead of serving it in the usual pita pocket method, I prepared the meat in the food processor, just added all together and let it run for about 4 minutes scrapping down the bowl three times. What I ended up with was a very smooth textured paste I shapped into the loaf. Then I cooked for an hour as described. After cooling I chopped the loaf into a course cut, and mixed with the tzazki.

      It was then spread on flour tortillas, added lettace and tomato and rolled up. Sliced into about 2 inch pinwheels, and chilled for about 4 hours to allow it to seal together. It was a huge hit, and much easier to serve and eat then the pitas when you don't want that much at one time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      I researched the making of Gyros online and found a recipe with more authentic spices and so I made this recipe, but decreasing the oregano to 1 t., and adding 1 t. of Marjoram, and 1 t. of crushed Rosemary. Everything else I kept the same. It was wonderful and tasted just like the real thing! I like the techniques and cooking method suggested in this recipe. It does yield a compact loaf that is easily sliced into thin slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I am completely in awe...I never ever thought you can take ground beef and turn it into a gyro! I didn't have the lamb, so I purchased 2 lbs of ground beef and wow.. I had a gyro. I was sooo SCARED at first! I was getting company on a Saturday and wanted to try something different. I truthfully was sweatin' this one out. It came out awesome! I let my meat cool down though for at least 45 min..maybe a bit longer, then I put it on a cutting board. I cut it in half (in the center) then I took each half and cut them into thin strips. I got a lot of meat strips doing it like that to put in the pita's I just wish I was able to find more authentic gyro bread. I used a Greek Yogurt/Cucumber sauce, lettuce, tomatoes and bought a small container of crumbled feta cheese to sprinkle on top... PERFECT! MANY MANY THANKS FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      We liked this. I used my kitchenaid instead of slamming it and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I have made this 6 times now and I think I have perfected it !!!. I double the recipe and you need to definitely follow the directions EXACTLY. Using the Lamb &( Beef 90/10) in equal amounts is the way to go !! I let the meat cool after baking on broiler pan and then use a meat slicer to get those nice thin pieces. Nothing worse than chunky meat that keeps falling out of the pita bread. *** A note to Shani -- your meat doesn't need to be room temp to mix** The slamming on the counter is a GREAT STRESS REDUCER !!! lol Since stores around here don't have Tzatziki sauce, I make home-made from Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Absolutely incredible! I only had Italian breadcrumbs so that's what I used. Slamming the meat for 10 minutes made a huge difference in the texture (as opposed to meatloaf) so DON'T SKIP THIS STEP!!! This is filled with flavor. The Tzatziki #59336 is wonderful with this and really cools down the intensity of the meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      I used 2 lbs of ground beef and this was so incredibly good. I couldn't believe I made gyro meat, and my husband was floored! The kneading really works, weirdly/oddly enough, to make the meat just like you'd find at a Greek restaurant or gyro stand. I will make this one again, thanks!<br/><br/>*we make this so often this is our quintessential Summer meal now :) I made it with ground chicken tonight and it was a little different in flavor of course, and not up to kneading for longer than 5 min (also needed double the bread crumbs) but a good sub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I've made these for family get-togethers a few times, and they are fantastic. Everyone always eats too much and keeps talking about them for months. I serve with homemade Tzatziki and a chopped salad of cucumber, tomato, sweet onion, and parsley dressed with olive oil and lemon juice or red wine vinegar. Greek roasted potatoes are a welcome addition too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Excellent! Of course I had NO oregano, but I added a LOT of garlic, sea salt and onion and this came out like a firmer meatloaf. I spread warm pitas w/hummus, added in sauteed onions and diced tomato. Only 1 and I am stuffed! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Wow!!! I really really like this recipe. I did it slightly differently: I used 1 pound ground turkey and 1 pound ground pork, omitted the bread crumbs, and added a half teaspoon of paprika. Then, just because I like it brown, after I sliced it, I grilled it in a non-stick pan (no oil). It was really good the first night, but when I heated it up the second day, It tasted just like I had gone and bought lunch at my local greek cafe! Thanks for a FABULOUS recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This recipe and technique produce a memorable eating experience. No more wondering what's in my gyro meat or how many floors it's been bounced on (a recent restaurant experience). Thanks for the keeper. My entire family really enjoyed it...a rare happening at our dinner table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      WOW!! This is the REAL DEAL!! The taste and texture is EXACTLY like the gyros served in nearby Greek Town, Detroit! I cannot beleive that this turned out so perfectly! My boyfriend was in total disbelief... in a really happy way. He Loves this dish. I used lamb and beef as directed but added a little extra garlic. I lined a loaf pan with saran wrap then packed the meat tightly into the pan and refrigerated overnight. I then removed the meat from the pan and baked it in a pan with a foil covered wire rack with holes poked in for drainage. I baked until the internal temp was 170 degrees f. I sliced very thinly and served it with Arabian Pita Bread abd Tzatziki along with some thinly sliced red onion, ripe tomato and a little lettuce. Terrific recipe! This recipe will make many relocated Detroiter's very happy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! This has to be the best recipe I've gotten from Zaar (this followed closely with #87782 and #73825). My husband must have said at least 10 times how much he loved them. I never admitted to him there was lamb in them, and he didn't notice.. but the taste is authentic (and YES, you must do the throw the meat on the counter!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      IT WORKED!!!!!!! It really did!!! I admit I had my doubts, but was THRILLED over the results!!! TY, TY, TY!!!!!! Followed the recipe to a T, and wouldn't DREAM of changing a thing!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      WOW - not only was I no longer mad at my family when I finished making this - it was also absolutely DELISH!!!!!! - It was great to be able to make this at home rather than hand my money over to someone else - and I challenge anyone to tell me the difference..... Awesome recipe thanks for posting - we now have this in our faves.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This recipe and technique is Fantastic. I had a pound of ground beef, no lamb, but did have 2 pork loin chops, so I ground those up, mixed with the beef and followed your recipe to a T. My husband, who loves Gyros was amazed. He said this was better than anything we have around here and tasted great, the flavors "just about perfect" but wants to hunt out some ground lamb for the next time. I enjoyed slamming the meat mixture, partly because it annoyed my dog to no end, the other part because I could see it working. When I patted/pressed the meat into shape it had a nice gloss to it. I was a tad alarmed that it rose "like meatloaf" but there is where the resemblance parted ways. Great flavor, texture, aroma and ease of making. Easily 10 stars. I made flat bread, tzatziki, shredded some romaine and diced tomatoes. Plenty left for lunch this weekend. Thanks for posting, Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This is probably my "Proudest" recipe to review. DH was SOOOO skeptical although he never said a word until he took his first bite and found himself in Gyro Heaven. He said it was probably the best Gyro he's ever eaten and he knows his Greek Food!! I don't care for them myself (because of the Lamb...) so I didn't even try it but if he's happy...I'm happy! Thank you sharing this awesome recipe and making me look like a Greek Culinary Goddess!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      So delicious. Tastes exactly like gyros from a restaurant. The kneading really does give it a very smooth and cohesive texture that slices very easily and holds together perfectly. Definitely going into our best-loved meal rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      This recipe is perfect! I always use it and it has always come out great. It is simple and easy and makes the perfect homemade gyros, i usually make caramelized onions and or use tomatoes and lettuce along with traditional homemade tzatziki sauce. Either way everyone loves it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Everyone loved this! I didn't have lamb so used all ground beef. My arms were tired by the time the ten minutes of pounding was done...I'm a bit of a wimp! All that pounding did give it a great texture though. The next time I make this, I would like to try using ground lamb but that isn't something I see often in the grocery store here. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 535.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites