Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gypsy Schnitzel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gypsy Schnitzel

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2002

      How nice to have a recipe for one of my favorite German restaurant dishes. This was really delicious! I used pork schnitzels as that is what is available here in Germany. I used single cream and found it just the right amount. The colorful combination of the peppers and the mushrooms is very attractive on top of each portion and the meat came out very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      My husband and I ate a wonderful German restaurant in Fredricksburg, Texas and I've been trying to find a recipe that closely matched the schnitzel we ate there. This was so close. My husband loved it and ate about 4 servings by himself. I used thin sliced pork cutlets instead of veal and needed an additional egg to coat the pork. I also used portabella mushrooms. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      I used beef schnitzel, needed to use 2 beaten eggs to cover the 6 pieces of meat. And when I was at step 9 I added a 1/2 cup of milk as well as the cream, (it was too thick with just the 1/2 cup cream) But the flavours were great, and will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This was absolutely delicious. My friend from work had brought it from home to work and shared it with me and it was delightful! Hum-m-m-m-m GOOD! Excellent. My compliments to the chef! She used pork chops instead of veal and it was absolutely W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This is WONDREFUL! It's simple yet so elegant. I could really show off by, cooking this for company. And that's exactly what I intend to do! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This was a winner in our house. Very similar to the wonderful Ziguener (Gypsy) Schnitzel that was a favourite local meal when we lived in Nord-Rhine Westfalia, Germany during the 80's. I have also coated pork chops in the same way, served with the sauce and German Fried potatoes which is a great hit with the menfolk in the family. Thanks Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      This turned out wonderful! I also used boneless pork chops and pounded them very thin. In addition to the salt and pepper on the chops, I also used some freshly grated nutmeg. For the red bell pepper, I substituted roasted red peppers and added some salt and pepper to the finished product. It was enjoyed by everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      This was quite good. All my guests enjoyed it with some adding some hot sauce to "spice it up". Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gypsy Schnitzel

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    53%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 48.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 292.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    veal scallopini

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites