51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I've made these a few times now and they always turn out chewy and delicious. I usually substitute about half whole wheat flour and half bread flour, and I knead the dough in my KitchenAid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie February 08, 2010

I don't think I can add anything to the review, that hasn't already been said. These were easy to prepare & delicious. As others have said, they are a bit sticky at first, but after kneading & first rise they are good. Mine needed about 18 minutes baked at 350 in convection propane oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet December 25, 2009

OMGosh. these are simply fantastic. I made them for dinner today and I don't have any left. Vert tasty and very easy. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
planetsbestcook August 10, 2009

This was my first attempt to make a dinner roll. This was a great recipe to start with. Follow the directions and you won't be steered wrong. I used my kitchen aid mixer to knead it for about 4 minutes and it came out with a really stiff nice dough. I will use this recipe more often since I now know how easy it is to make a great dinner roll. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmxmama July 26, 2009

These are now my go to recipe for rolls. Very good in fact they are GREAT. Just a note for the people saying they are to yeasty, you should try using only one pack of yeast! I thought these were perfect as the recipe is written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Elaine May 31, 2009

I have a limited supply of utensils and supplies, but I make thses often - the recipe is straightforward and simple. and better yet, my family adores them every time - first with dinner, and then for breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Armin December 28, 2008

Wonderful high riser, nice slightly yeasty flavor. Next time I may add a little more sugar. I made sandwich bun size. Made 18 buns. I used my breadmaker to make the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotty & Callie's Mom December 20, 2008

I made these for Thanksgiving and they were great. I've been making my moms recipe for years and decided to make something different. This will be the recipe I use every time. Thanks for posting. From Brewhead

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brewhead November 30, 2008

I made these last night for Thanksgiving Dinner. I made them in my Kitchen Aide mixer, used between 4 1/2 - 5 cups of flour, let them rise twice in the bowl, and once after I formed them into rolls, and otherwise followed the recipe exactly, (except for adding a T or so of sugar when proofing my yeast) and adding butter to the tops half way through baking. These were hand down, THE BEST rolls, not only that I've ever made, but have ever had! When I was a small child my Dad used to make wonderful bread that had this flavor and texture, I keep trying to get him to make it for me, but he can't remember the recipe he used. So, I have been searching for years (almost 40) for bread that tasted like I remember his. Admittedly, I have not made a lot, as I have really just gotten enough baking confidence to really start making bread this year. Either I did everything right, or these are fool proof, because they turned out perfectly. For me this made about 20 large rolls. These do have a rich yeasty flavor, but I don't know when that became a bad thing, I guess it's just personal preference, but they were absolutely what I have been craving and looking for for years. I told my husband, "next year for Thanksgiving lets just have Cheladas (budweiser's beer and clamato mix, which we love) and these rolls, it would be so much easier!" Thank you, thank you, would you mind emailing me and let me know if you think this dough would work as it is, to make bread?? :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yrhaven (aka Condiment Queen) November 28, 2008

I made this roll recipe tonight for dinner and I will certainly make it again. The rolls were light and fluffy and a perfect accompaniment to our meal. I didn't notice an overpowering yeasty taste as some other reviewers had mentioned. I wonder if that might have something to do with the confusion on whether to let the dough rise two or three times. I followed Kittencals lead and let it rise twice; the first time in a bowl and the second time after I shaped them into rolls. Excellent recipe Gwen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooknfool November 16, 2008
Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls