Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      Very good! I've made these a few times now and they always turn out chewy and delicious. I usually substitute about half whole wheat flour and half bread flour, and I knead the dough in my KitchenAid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I don't think I can add anything to the review, that hasn't already been said. These were easy to prepare & delicious. As others have said, they are a bit sticky at first, but after kneading & first rise they are good. Mine needed about 18 minutes baked at 350 in convection propane oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      OMGosh. these are simply fantastic. I made them for dinner today and I don't have any left. Vert tasty and very easy. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This was my first attempt to make a dinner roll. This was a great recipe to start with. Follow the directions and you won't be steered wrong. I used my kitchen aid mixer to knead it for about 4 minutes and it came out with a really stiff nice dough. I will use this recipe more often since I now know how easy it is to make a great dinner roll. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      These are now my go to recipe for rolls. Very good in fact they are GREAT. Just a note for the people saying they are to yeasty, you should try using only one pack of yeast! I thought these were perfect as the recipe is written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I have a limited supply of utensils and supplies, but I make thses often - the recipe is straightforward and simple. and better yet, my family adores them every time - first with dinner, and then for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wonderful high riser, nice slightly yeasty flavor. Next time I may add a little more sugar. I made sandwich bun size. Made 18 buns. I used my breadmaker to make the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I made these for Thanksgiving and they were great. I've been making my moms recipe for years and decided to make something different. This will be the recipe I use every time. Thanks for posting. From Brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made these last night for Thanksgiving Dinner. I made them in my Kitchen Aide mixer, used between 4 1/2 - 5 cups of flour, let them rise twice in the bowl, and once after I formed them into rolls, and otherwise followed the recipe exactly, (except for adding a T or so of sugar when proofing my yeast) and adding butter to the tops half way through baking. These were hand down, THE BEST rolls, not only that I've ever made, but have ever had! When I was a small child my Dad used to make wonderful bread that had this flavor and texture, I keep trying to get him to make it for me, but he can't remember the recipe he used. So, I have been searching for years (almost 40) for bread that tasted like I remember his. Admittedly, I have not made a lot, as I have really just gotten enough baking confidence to really start making bread this year. Either I did everything right, or these are fool proof, because they turned out perfectly. For me this made about 20 large rolls. These do have a rich yeasty flavor, but I don't know when that became a bad thing, I guess it's just personal preference, but they were absolutely what I have been craving and looking for for years. I told my husband, "next year for Thanksgiving lets just have Cheladas (budweiser's beer and clamato mix, which we love) and these rolls, it would be so much easier!" Thank you, thank you, would you mind emailing me and let me know if you think this dough would work as it is, to make bread?? :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I made this roll recipe tonight for dinner and I will certainly make it again. The rolls were light and fluffy and a perfect accompaniment to our meal. I didn't notice an overpowering yeasty taste as some other reviewers had mentioned. I wonder if that might have something to do with the confusion on whether to let the dough rise two or three times. I followed Kittencals lead and let it rise twice; the first time in a bowl and the second time after I shaped them into rolls. Excellent recipe Gwen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I am so happy to have found this recipe! I have been searching for a dinner roll recipe that I could make and have great results. That search is finally over after two years! These were great! I followed recipe exactly. Used my Kitchen Aid Mixer to do the hard parts :D. They turned out beautiful, light, and flavorful. The only thing I may try differently next time is a little more sugar, but only because my DH and I prefer a little sweeter roll. Thank you for posting Gwen!! Great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I didn't have much luck with these. They weren't as flavorful as I had hoped they would be. I probably won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      These are great rolls. They reminded me a bit of french brioche but I suppose it's not surprising as the ingredients are similar. They looked so cute when they came out of the oven all perfectly shaped; I think it's worth making them again just for that! ;-)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I made these tonight and they tasted great! It was so easy to make! I will be making this again! This recipe is a keeper! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      These turned out really nice. I only let them rise twice-the first and then as rolls. I was somewhat confused by steps 6,7,8 as to whether it was supposed to rise three times. They turned out great with just twice and looked just like the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      These were fabulous, I made 6 dozen for thanksgiving. They were a great hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      easy to make, tasted great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This is a fabulous recipe. It's already in my cookbook to be used for years to come. Some mentioned that the yeast taste is too strong... NO WAY; it's perfect. I am so happy to have found such a fantastic recipe. Thank you so much Gwen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      These tasted good, but as pretty much everyone has said, there is a really noticeable yeast smell and flavor. I mean it smelled like some of the meads I make it was so yeasty. Too much for me, and I love a good yeast bread. I was also very confused by the recipe. I have been teaching myself to make bread for the past couple of months, but this was the first time I made dinner rolls. I didn't see a pan size listed, so I was fairly disappointed in the very tall rolls this made in my 9"x13". The texture was lovely, but between the yeast taste and the confusing directions I think I will look elsewhere for a good dinner roll recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      My rolls came out too yeasty tasting and they were a little dense; not light and fluffy as everyone is raving about. Perhaps it is because I dont have a Kitchen Aid mixer. I will have to try again after I purchase one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.3
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 29.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 296.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes