51 Reviews

Simply OUT OF THIS WORLD delicious! This recipe deserves way more than 5 stars! I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, proofed the yeast for 10 minutes, it took exactly 4-1/2 cups all purpose four, I rose the dough for almost 1 hour, shaped the dough into 16 large buns, and rose them for 30 minutes, then baked them in my air convection oven for roughly 22 minutes at 375 degrees. This dough produced a wonderful fluffy melt-in-your-mouth texture when baked..it really can't get any better than this! If anyone is on the lookout for a fantastic bread/bun recipe then look no more, this one is it!! Gwen, I am so happy that I found your recipe, this is now my new favorite bun recipe.... thanks so very much for posting...Kittencal:)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 28, 2004

Great recipe for home made dinner rolls. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for the kneading ( 3 minutes) and obtained perfect results using 4 and1/2 cups of flour. The dough was just slightly sticky at first, but after rising, it was easy to roll out with a light dusting of flour on my board. Usually I use bread flour to get flaky, tender rolls, but the recipe called for regular flour and that is what I used. Amazing! That saves money as bread flour is more expensive and not always on hand. The recipe does get confusing at the end but keep in mind you only let the dough rise twice. Once when you make the dough and again after you form them into rolls. I buttered the tops immediately after taking them out of the oven and let cool. Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev erly September 08, 2009

After finding this recipe, I will NEVER NEVER NEVER make another dinner roll recipe again. These were without a doubt the BEST rolls I've ever eaten. Super soft and fluffy, with *just* the right amount of sweetness. There was some confusion on how many times to let it rise (2 times vs. 3) and I let mine rise a total of three times (rise for an hour, punch down and rise for another hour, punch down, shape into rolls and let rise another hour before baking). I'm sure they're very good with only two rises, but if you have the time, please add the extra rise...you will NOT be disappointed! I have never had rolls quite so light and fluffy. These are 10 times better than rolls you get at a restaurant (even restaurants known for their bread!). Thank you SO much Gwen for an excellent recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells May 18, 2009

These were the star of our meal! For us, they were just the right amount of everything. All the flavors merge together well, texture was perfect. They actually felt a little heavy coming out of the oven, but I think it was simply because there were so many of them (happy, happy, happy). I always butter them before serving and the texture was perfect on each of them. One adult male ate 8 of these with his meal. I believe that was the record, but the point is YES! They were THAT good. Thank you for sharing. We will be serving these on a regular basis.<br/><br/>I am now using this dough for my meat pies and they are even more amazing than they were before! This is a must for anyone who toys with bread making at home. These are the best I have had anywhere bar none!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva December 30, 2013

I consider myself a very experienced bread baker and I loved this recipe! Most of my recipes make an enormous amount of rolls and now that I am just cooking for 2 or the occasional 3, this recipe is perfect! The dough was a dream to work with and I would not change a thing! I baked at 350 in my convection oven for 13 minutes and they were perfect. Brushed with butter upon removing from oven. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ November 20, 2012

This is the easiest, quickest and most delicious dinner roll recipe I have ever tried. It took me about 5 minutes to throw together in my KitchenAid. I proofed for 1 hour, shaped half of the dough into 8 rolls and proofed it another 30 minutes. I did not brush with any butter before baking and they were perfect! Since the whole batch is too much for two of us, I used the other half of the dough to make cinnamon rolls :) Mix 1/2 cup of softened butter with 1 cup brown sugar and 1-2T pumpkin pie spice; spread on rolled out dough and roll like a jelly roll; baked at 350 in my convection for about 20 minutes. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ortegajaclyn3 September 17, 2012

One of my favorite recipes for rolls. I've made them at least six times and haven't had any problems with the recipe. They are definatly worth the time to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chipittydoda January 16, 2011

This is the BEST recipe ever for yeast rolls. I've tried so many other recipes-nothing compares to this one. 50 years old and have been trying to make rolls for years-tonight I made them and my family was stunned! (I guess after so many failed attempts) So light and airy. They're like the rolls my Amma (Icelandic for Grandma) used to make. 5 stars!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ssailor February 25, 2010

how did you all get more than a dozen? the yeast taste/smell is a little strong, think ill pre yeast next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chantel L. December 21, 2014

Absolutely wonderful!!! Love them. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 November 27, 2014
Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls