Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2004

      Simply OUT OF THIS WORLD delicious! This recipe deserves way more than 5 stars! I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, proofed the yeast for 10 minutes, it took exactly 4-1/2 cups all purpose four, I rose the dough for almost 1 hour, shaped the dough into 16 large buns, and rose them for 30 minutes, then baked them in my air convection oven for roughly 22 minutes at 375 degrees. This dough produced a wonderful fluffy melt-in-your-mouth texture when baked..it really can't get any better than this! If anyone is on the lookout for a fantastic bread/bun recipe then look no more, this one is it!! Gwen, I am so happy that I found your recipe, this is now my new favorite bun recipe.... thanks so very much for posting...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Great recipe for home made dinner rolls. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for the kneading ( 3 minutes) and obtained perfect results using 4 and1/2 cups of flour. The dough was just slightly sticky at first, but after rising, it was easy to roll out with a light dusting of flour on my board. Usually I use bread flour to get flaky, tender rolls, but the recipe called for regular flour and that is what I used. Amazing! That saves money as bread flour is more expensive and not always on hand. The recipe does get confusing at the end but keep in mind you only let the dough rise twice. Once when you make the dough and again after you form them into rolls. I buttered the tops immediately after taking them out of the oven and let cool. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      After finding this recipe, I will NEVER NEVER NEVER make another dinner roll recipe again. These were without a doubt the BEST rolls I've ever eaten. Super soft and fluffy, with *just* the right amount of sweetness. There was some confusion on how many times to let it rise (2 times vs. 3) and I let mine rise a total of three times (rise for an hour, punch down and rise for another hour, punch down, shape into rolls and let rise another hour before baking). I'm sure they're very good with only two rises, but if you have the time, please add the extra rise...you will NOT be disappointed! I have never had rolls quite so light and fluffy. These are 10 times better than rolls you get at a restaurant (even restaurants known for their bread!). Thank you SO much Gwen for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      These were the star of our meal! For us, they were just the right amount of everything. All the flavors merge together well, texture was perfect. They actually felt a little heavy coming out of the oven, but I think it was simply because there were so many of them (happy, happy, happy). I always butter them before serving and the texture was perfect on each of them. One adult male ate 8 of these with his meal. I believe that was the record, but the point is YES! They were THAT good. Thank you for sharing. We will be serving these on a regular basis.<br/><br/>I am now using this dough for my meat pies and they are even more amazing than they were before! This is a must for anyone who toys with bread making at home. These are the best I have had anywhere bar none!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I consider myself a very experienced bread baker and I loved this recipe! Most of my recipes make an enormous amount of rolls and now that I am just cooking for 2 or the occasional 3, this recipe is perfect! The dough was a dream to work with and I would not change a thing! I baked at 350 in my convection oven for 13 minutes and they were perfect. Brushed with butter upon removing from oven. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      This is the easiest, quickest and most delicious dinner roll recipe I have ever tried. It took me about 5 minutes to throw together in my KitchenAid. I proofed for 1 hour, shaped half of the dough into 8 rolls and proofed it another 30 minutes. I did not brush with any butter before baking and they were perfect! Since the whole batch is too much for two of us, I used the other half of the dough to make cinnamon rolls :) Mix 1/2 cup of softened butter with 1 cup brown sugar and 1-2T pumpkin pie spice; spread on rolled out dough and roll like a jelly roll; baked at 350 in my convection for about 20 minutes. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      One of my favorite recipes for rolls. I've made them at least six times and haven't had any problems with the recipe. They are definatly worth the time to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is the BEST recipe ever for yeast rolls. I've tried so many other recipes-nothing compares to this one. 50 years old and have been trying to make rolls for years-tonight I made them and my family was stunned! (I guess after so many failed attempts) So light and airy. They're like the rolls my Amma (Icelandic for Grandma) used to make. 5 stars!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Gwen 5+ for taste and texture. I've made these several times now and we just love them. However, 2- for instructions. Thank goodness for other bakers on this site. No pan size, grease or don't grease baking pan, how many rises, 2 or 3, size of rolls? Recipe is wonderful!...but a little unclear. Thanks though! Great recipe, I'll keep making these but perhaps you should make instructions a little clearer! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      love this recipe! i did not make it as rolls, but as 2 loaves of bread (i just wanted to see the texture before making it for thanksgiving), they were wonderful! (baked 375, 35 min) very soft, and im sue they will be geat galrlic bread. I did cut the sugar to 1T since it was going to be for garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Not quite as buttery as expected, and was a wee bit on the sweeter side (will probably halve the sugar next time). Substituted 2 cups of Waitrose organic stoneground strong wholemeal bread flour for the white flour. Reduced the yeast to 4 tsp, instead of 4.5 tsp (1 pkg of yeast = 2.25 tsp), but I will use the full quantity next time. Letting the dough rise three times resulted in delicious, light-as-air rolls. I generally let the dough rise covered with a damp cloth in a closed, unheated oven with a pan of hot water under it the first two times, and on top of the oven after shaping the rolls. Made 13 slightly larger rolls, and topped them with sesame seeds before baking @ 175*C for 25 mins. Used them for turkey sandwiches, but they'd be perfect even for a burger. This one's a keeper. TY for posting, Gwen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      These were very good, but not awesome. I even did the triple rise, but they were somewhat dense. I don't have much experience with yeast breads, so it could've been something I did / didn't do. I kneaded by hand, and used between 4 and 4 1/4 c flour. Any more would've just been too dry. Dough was smooth and not sticky at all. Glad they turned out, and they were tasty, just maybe not exactly the style roll I was hoping for. Thanks, anyhow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I have been looking for a great recipe for dinner rolls. I've read the reviews and it seems this one is real hit. Thankyou, I will write a review once I make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      The rolls tasted great! Made them 4 times already. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      These are really good. I made them exactly as written. I made the dough in my kitchenaid and the dough was a breeze to work with. They're not as buttery as I was hoping, so next time I'll brush butter on the tops. Great texture though - and my 18 month old ate a ton! Thanks, Gwen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Made these yesterday. These are scrumptious dinner rolls. DH said he could make a meal off of them, and i totally agree. The texture was perfect.. Nothing needs to be added or removed form this perfect recipe. thanks for sharing.. nita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Wonderful recipe - made it with my kitchenaid and it was easy. For those Canadians out there, I used 4 1/2 cups all purpose flour and it worked great. Thanks Gwen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Very good! I've made these a few times now and they always turn out chewy and delicious. I usually substitute about half whole wheat flour and half bread flour, and I knead the dough in my KitchenAid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I don't think I can add anything to the review, that hasn't already been said. These were easy to prepare & delicious. As others have said, they are a bit sticky at first, but after kneading & first rise they are good. Mine needed about 18 minutes baked at 350 in convection propane oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      OMGosh. these are simply fantastic. I made them for dinner today and I don't have any left. Vert tasty and very easy. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gwen's Butter Rich Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.3
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 29.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 296.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites