12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really great recipe. We all loved it, even the kids. I made it as written, except I decreased the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon, for the kids, allowing my husband to apply liberal amounts of hot sauce. I'm considering cooking the chicken in the crock pot the night before the next time I make this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! August 25, 2010

Great recipe! I made some this afternoon and it was delicious. I added some fresh crab and shrimp to mine and it came out excellent. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Curt May 30, 2010

Tastes just like the gumbo my Aunt in Mississippi used to make when I was a boy. This is soooo good. The only thing I did different was to use a good white wine to deglaze the pan before adding the broth. This added even a bit more richness, if that is possible.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobins_papa May 17, 2010

This was fantastic and I will definitely be making it again!! I made as directed except for doubling the chicken broth. It was way to dry to even be considered a stew without the additional broth. That is the only reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 starts. Still a fantastic recipe that I will make time and time again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 February 26, 2011

This was so good I've made it twice this week! Several people have tried it along with me and they just RAVE about it and say how "healing" it is. This is my go-to recipe now! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing May 14, 2014

This stuff was awesome! I would've given it more than 5 stars if I could. This was my first time eating gumbo, so I can have no opinion about how authentic it was, but the whole family loved it and I will make it all winter long! Coincidentally, it was also my first time eating okra (even after living 14 years in the South!) and the first time I have ever even heard of file powder. Thanks for teaching me something new!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather W. February 17, 2010

From one St. Louis Girl to another--We love your Gumbo! It is AWESOME!! I made it the first time last week, and I am already making it again for my mother's birthday. Very delicious, and wekk worth any extra effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat January 30, 2010

Disclaimer: I'm Aussie so have never had gumbo and have no idea what it's supposed to taste like. Having said that, this was totally delicious! Easy to make and the results were worth the time. I left out the celery (not a fan) and replaced it with carrots in the gumbo; I used cooked pork sausage rather than smoked. We ate this with crusty bread and loved it - thanks for posting your excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny August 09, 2009

This is a great recipe. It's thick and hearty and makes a lot. There are a lot of ingredients and it's somewhat time consuming, but well worth the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
889802 July 21, 2009

Best Gumbo I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki Matthews July 13, 2009
Gumbo Cookoff Winner - Chicken and Sausage Gumbo