Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gumbo by Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gumbo by Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2012

      The whole family enjoyed this so much. I didn't have okra and had chicken already cooked. This was wonderful and I'll be using it in the future, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      What an amazingly rich and savory flavor. I made it exactly according to the recipe but I don't think the roux was a necessary step. I served the bottle of hot sauce at the table so each person could suit their own heat level. Everyone else ate it with rice and raved about it. I, being diabetic, skipped the rice and raved about it. Very satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This was so good!!! My husband and I like everything super spicy so all we did was add 2 serranos and 2 jalapenos. We will be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Very good gumbo. Easy to put together. I used some hot peppers, omitted the okra, personal preference. I did not have any shrimp, but it was still delicious. Made for Hail to the Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Delicious! Easy to make and wonderful flavor. If you like gumbo more on the spicy side, you might want to add a few drops of hot sauce, but it's flavorful without it. Even better the second day! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is a delicious, rich-tasting gumbo! I made ours with organic beef broth in place of four bouillon cubes and water. The only thing I might do differently would be to add another 1/2 lb. of shrimp, but we thoroughly enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This was very good gumbo. My DH really liked the shrimp in it. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This was pretty good. I used chicken bouillon cubes instead of beef since there was chicken in the dish. All that butter scared me, but it did make for a rich tasty soup! I added 3/4 cup of rice during last 20 minutes of cooking because it was way soupier than my DH would have liked. We ate it with crusty garlic bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      On a scale of 1-10 this is an 11! Never had gumbo before this and it will be the only gumbo i will ever eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Found this in one of her cookbooks and enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gumbo by Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.9
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    62%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 99.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1627.5 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes