Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gumbo Base (Aka Roux) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gumbo Base (Aka Roux)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2002

      I just wanted to say that this is the only way to make a roux so.when you make your gumbo make sure you do it this way,i also use this simple roux recipe for my homemade stews and things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I have made roux a zillion times using this same recipe and it always turns out great. Except of course the couple of times I walked away for a couple of seconds.

      Today I made it with EVOO and while it turned the right color, dark chocolate, it never got really pasty like I am used to it doing. I also add sea salt, cracked pepper, and cayenne and chili flakes as I think the flavor of the cayenne and chili flakes especially comes out best in the heated oil. Since I usually make at a 1c. to 1.c ratio, when I make 20 qts. I normally make a 5c. to 5c. roux and freeze the completed Gumbo in gallon containers.

      Also, if you make any Gumbo and use shrimp, always buy shell on, Gulf shrimp, (head on is even better and you can freeze the heads and shells to make stock later) peel and de-vein prior to serving. Just drop in the hot gumbo and let cook 2 to 3 mins. and serve. If you are make a big batch and want to freeze some, leave out the shrimp and put the shrimp in when you get it reheated. Otherwise the shrimp will get rubbery as it over cooks easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Very time consuming but good. Just a heads up for other first time roux makers: It will be pasty (almost like frosting)and remain the same yellow color at first but after about 20-25 min of constant stirring the mixture will become a litlle more like gravy and start to finally turn color. I was able to make my roux a dark penny copper color after about 45 min. so if you want to make it a chocolate color it will probably take about 1 hr so be prepared to make muscle. I kept it on medium and stirred it constantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Great basic recipe, I had never made roux before. I made gumbo so it took at least 45 minutes to make it, I had the heat on low to meduim heat, I did not want to burn it. Thanks for sharing this for us non Cajuns trying to cook Cajun. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      I practically grew up on seafood gumbo and lots of other seafood on the gulf coast of Alabama. However, since none of my relatives who cooked made it never measured anything it was a challenge when I first tried to make it myself. The roux is the key to gumbo. Burn it even the slightest you might as well through it out. Too light and the finished recipe will be bland. I had 2 problems which this recipe solved for me. First was getting the proportions right. Never realized they were equal and I always had too much oil. Second, was using too high heat since it must brown very slowly so you must be patient and stir CONSTANTLY! NO INTERUPTIONS! Thanks Kari for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      See the colors of roux at cookinglouisiana.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      This was my first time to make roux, and I was so nervous! Thanks to this great recipe with clear/specific instructions, it was a huge success and we had some delicious gumbo for dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Got it down to a science, so Goodbye Joe, Me gotta go...eat my gumbo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      I am a New Yorker & usually eat the North East Basic Food's, Now I have taken a few steps forward for this New Year adventures of 2013, I 'm switching to Louisiana Gumbo's & Jambalaya's . I will add my rating after I finish eating it,Cant wait to get started.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I made gumbo last week and wanted to make my own roux. Thanks to this recipe and reading the reviews (thanks Chef Sarita and Kagemi for your insight), my roux came out prefect!
      Since I wanted a chocolate roux like my fave Cajun restaurant have, I knew it was going to take at least 45 minutes. I took a hour to get the roux dark as I wanted it.
      At first I was like,is it going to change, but it did. I also kept stirring! Got a great arm workout!
      But the roux gave my gumbo such a rich flavor! This is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Used this today to make a gumbo. Took 40 minutes to get to the dark brown stage, but pretty easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Perfect roux and perfect gumbo recipes! It was my fist time to make a roux and I was a little nervous but it turned out absolutely perfect! Thank you for an easy recipe to follow!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Very good. I like a little more flavor to my Roux, so add a tsp. salt & pepper or other seasoning. I use it all the time for stews :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

    • on June 05, 2010

      I made this Roux to go with the Gumbo (malriah), and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Cooked perfectly. I don't know about oil but the the butter worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      VERY helpful! the first time i made roux i was terrified...thanks for walking me through it. the perfect addition to your outstanding gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This recipe works out very well. I have made this several times to go along with the same recipe poster's gumbo recipe. Unique in the use of butter, but works out very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gumbo Base (Aka Roux)

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1561.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1251
    80%
    Total Fat 139.0 g
    213%
    Saturated Fat 87.6 g
    438%
    Cholesterol 366.0 mg
    122%
    Sodium 1217.4 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites