Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2006

      I've been eating gumbo all of my life since I'm a pure French Cajun. This recipe is a good one but a few changes and it would be a real Cajun gumbo. First of all, you NEVER put okra in a File gumbo. Some New Orleans cooks may do this but this is why most of the Cajun dishes in New Orleans are only ok but not great. File came from the Indians and is a thickening agent but not all people use it. The French people who settled here from Nova Scotia took a bland soup with little taste called gumbo and added many French cooking modifications to create what is now the great Cajun Gumbo you find in South Louisiana. There is another Cajun gumbo some may not think they would like but believe me it is also great. This is a Seafood Gumbo with no roux. The taste comes from the shrimp, crabmeat, sausage but mostly from something, people don’t like until they taste it cooked the way it is cooked in Cajun country. You have to smother down onions and cut okra, etc. until they merged together, which takes a couple of hours to do correctly. Once this is done and added to a pot of water with the sausage, crab meat, shrimp, seasoning, etc. that has been cooking for an hour it becomes a great dish that many Cajun like as much as a File Gumbo. Many people that don’t eat okra love Cajun Okra/Seafood Gumbo. When I have time, I would like enter a few recipes and find out if some of you would prefer it with some minor changes. Anyway, I'm glad there are good recipes on this site like this one. I'm so tired of fake gumbo recipes with tomatoes. Yukkkk! M Léger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I'll jump on the bandwagon with another 5-stars. This is GOOD. It was snowing and blowing outside last night, but warm as Gumbo inside! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, Emeril's kicked up roast sausage, and shrimp (no okra). I did thicken it a bit more with some cornstarch. Really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Ok I have to leave a rating. This gumbo is so awesome. I have made twice for family and my husband just loves. The flavor is wonderful. I left out the okra each time as we do not like. Added shrimp and last time I thru in small whole fryer chicken cut up and served over rice. This will definately be serverd often at our home. Thanks Kevin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I made this with ham hocks, sausage, and chicken and I must say it was an excellent dish! I added some crushed tomato's and okra to this recipe and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

    • on April 03, 2006

      I was very intimidated to make gumbo, but this recipe was very easy and quick AND delicious. I did learn to sautee the veggies seperatley and then add them to the roux or else the roux would burn. My husband was shocked and please at how well it turned out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Wonderful and very easy to prepare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I made this about a month ago and neglected to review it. Having recently become gumbo fans, we loved this recipe. I thought your directions were written very well. I did leave out the bell peppers, since I am not a fan of them cooked. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Nice gumbo. I also despise okra, so none went in this pot. To aid in thickening, I added 2 tsp of gumbo file powder for step 6. The gumbo was a little thinner than I'm used to, so maybe I should have used 3 tsp. I used chicken, shrimp, and andouille sausage. You simply must try this with andouille sausage, no other sausage will do. I was fortunate enough to have some freshly homemade chicken stock for use in this recipe. Overall, a nice recipe, very hearty. Served over a steaming bed of jasmine (my favorite) rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Outstanding - my girlfriend and I used the team approach. She did the cutting and I made the roux. We added oysters, shrimp and sausage. Thanks for sharing the receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      I decided to make Gumbo for Fat Tuesday. This was my first attempt. I cooked the roux until it was about the color of milk chocolate, it took about 15 minutes as stated in the recipe, stirring constantly. I only used shrimp for the meat but will make it again with chicken and shrimp. I was very pleased with the outcome. My finace loved it!! He requested the leftovers for dinner last night and I have to say the flavor was even better. He even took what was left today for his lunch. Next time I'll prepare it a day ahead, as another reviewer stated, and just add the meat before it's served. This recipe is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      I made this with shrimp and chicken. Took me about 30 minutes to make the roux (I did NOT want to burn it) which MAKES THIS DISH! I added about a teaspoon and a half of cayenne for a little heat. Served over Basmati rice. Thanks for such clear instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      wow !!! I would recommend adding the Kick Up smoked sausage of Emeril ( I also used his Creole Seasoning), even a little bit of that sausage makes turns that dish to be spectacular. We ate it with a french bread toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Wow, my first attempt at gumbo! This was great, although I was a bit nervous about the roux burning, so it was more like a peanut butter color but still turned out good. Also, only used 1 lb shrimp which was enough for my family. This was my first use of Tony Chachere's and wow! I topped my bowl with it and it was sooo good. Thanks Kevin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Wow! I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! I made this for my husband and I after work last week. It tasted like a lot more work went into it than it actually took. I didn't add okra just because I didn't have any and I also left out the scallions. I used chicken and andouille sausage as the meats and added some Franks hot sauce. I will definitely make this again. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      WOWZA! Thank you all for your comments because I incorporated some of your advice into the recipe! I didn't blacken the roux but deeply browned it, I left out the scallions for a topping, I didn't add salt as my creole seasoning has it too, and I added okra as I too love it :) For my first gumbo, it was excellent! I love it! I did use beef stock instead of chicken, so I figured the roax had no purpose but I was wrong, I loved the flavor it gave the gumbo. The hot sauce was an excellent addition, I used Cholula, if you have other ideas, please share hehe. Thank you very much for sharing everyone, and a big thanks to you Kevin for sharing this! I enjoyed this dish with the sangria recipe that was shared by cuestick ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      Great recipe, but surely a gumbo should contain okra? Chopped okra thickens up and gives it the sticky body and base flavour. Add a pound of it (fresh or frozen, well chopped) and you've got a clear winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      This was delicious! I made it on Fat Tuesday in honor of Mardi Gras and it was so good that I had two helpings. I added the okra because I love okra. I used chicken instead of seafood and I added about 3-4 tablespoons of hot sauce. Love this recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Excellent flavor! Very similar to my own recipe..but wanted to try something new. I usually had used a jarred pre-made roux (Doguet's)..but found your way to be just as easy! Of course we garnished with file and green onions!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Very good method and basic recipe. I made mine with lobster, crab, celery, red bell peppers, onions, lots of garlic and mushrooms. One word of caution- don't blacken the roux too much. Mine wasn't "almost black" but I still felt that it tasted a bit too singed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Gumbo Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.5
     
    Calories from Fat 424
    76%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1708.0 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes