121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not sure why I havent rated this recipe yet as I have made several times. Fantastic. I omit okra myself and also add the hot sauce and serve over the rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykaia November 12, 2009

Holy moly Kevin! This was AMAZING! I live in a small northern Italian village and had no Creole Spice, celery or shrimp. I subed the celery with carrot and used only italian sausage and chicken. For the spice I just added some thyme, oregano, paprika, black pepper and salt. Get this it STILL turned out really really yummy!! Even better the next day. I can't wait to make this again when I have the correct creole spices. This is a keeper mate! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeanneF November 04, 2009

Excellent recipe. I used chicken and shrimp and it came out perfect. Even the picky eater ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khess63 October 26, 2009

This was a wonderful recipe! DH and I both love cajun food, and this was the easiest and best recipe we have tried so far!! We only made a couple slight changes, we added 2 more tsp of the creole seasoning and 2 tsp black pepper, and 1 tsp old bay blackining season. We do not care for okra either, so left it out, and was PERFECT! We used 4 different meats to make the 2#, we used, chicken breast, polish sausage, large shrimp and crawfish tail meat. The mixture was great, and we are big meat eaters, so it was delightful!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this recipe, we are already planning on making it again next weekend!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShellyCoats August 29, 2009

I don't like to give low ratings but on this I have no choice. My Cajun grandmother wouldn't stand for a gumbo made without bay leaf and cayenne pepper. Not to mention a few other ingredients that are missing here. I guess it is true that everyone has there own gumbo. This is a very good base recipe, needs much more flavor in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) June 23, 2009

We thought this was really good! I've never had gumbo before so I can't say how authentic it was, but the flavors worked very well together. It wasn't at all spicy but in my mind that doesn't necessarily mean it's bland. I'll definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GiddyUpGo May 25, 2009

I made this for my work for Fat Tuesday. I was born and raised in Louisiana, so I have a very discerning taste towards gumbo, jambalaya, and etouffee recipes. While, I agree a little with Vlada that it was a little bland, I found that adding some additional Cayenne pepper to it added a decent amount of heat. I, of course, added A LOT of Tony's, but the cayenne defintely helped it further along. The people I work with in Kansas loved every drop of it. It wasn't as spicy as I normally like it, but it was delicious nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
928684 February 26, 2009

I made this pretty much by the recipe; the roux came out nice and brown, I used a combination of shrimp, chicken, spicey German sausage and some monk fish, but had to quadruple the Cajun spice mix, which I made myself by a recipe from RZ (a highly rated recipe, and I was very faithful to it). Despite my best effort, the end result was still quite boring - it was spicey yet somehow dull, basically, a stew with lots of ingredients, but nothing special in terms of taste. Now, I have never eaten, let alone made, gumbo before. Perhaps, this is how gumbo should taste? It was OK to eat, but nothing I would want to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada February 25, 2009

Delicious. I was afraid of burning the roux, so I cooked it over medium to medium-low. I had a very large green pepper on hand so I just used that instead of buying a red one too, used better than bouillon for the broth, and added 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper. For the meat I used 1 lb chorizo sausage and 1 lb grilled chicken seasoned with cajun seasoning. My family and guests loved it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 02, 2009

this was EXCELLENT! this was my first time making gumbo, and I was very pleased with the way it turned out! My whole family loved it also!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Lynn January 30, 2009
Gumbo