Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2010

      I've only made Gumbo from a mix...decided to try this recipe, and it really turned out well... the family really enjoyed it...thanks for sharing it...will be saving this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      I made this recipe yesterday with some minor changes and boy was it a hit!! I added a can of diced tomatoes and 1/2 cup of water in addition to everything else, used 2 tsp of the creole seasoning instead of 1 and added chicken, shrimp AND smoked turkey sausage... served it over saffron rice and I'm telling you the compliments are still coming! Thanks for sharing..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      turned out beautiful, was so impressed. i substituted some chicken broth for a can of tomatoes, fried the sausage shortly and added 2 tsps of seasoning (i made my own so maybe it wasn't strong enough). I served over rice with a sweet cornbread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      First time I had Gumbo in a restaurant I immediately fell in Love with it because, the taste reminded me of my mom's cultural cooking. Iam from Nepal and we have many culture and cooking to go along with it. When I came upon this Recipe, no wonder making of Roux was similar to one of the dish they have. Hence, I had no problem making Roux since,I knew how long I should be stirring flour on the pot. I added shrimp, chicken and Andoille Sausage like most of them recommended and it just came out awsome. I also halfed the stock with seafood stock so it had that seafood smell, Which I loved but my husband didn't care for it. It was a little blend but I kept it that way for my two year old daughter who devoured it, but my husband and I added hot sauce of our own choices and ate with rice and it was amazing. This recipe is staying on my cookbook because even though there is thousands of miles of difference in the origin of this dish it brings the flavour of my home cooking back to me. Thank you so much Kevin for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I made this last night. I was planning on making it on Fat Tuesday, but other plans popped up, so we delayed our Fat Tuesday dinner. We loved this gumbo! I used chicken, andouille sausage and shrimp. I will make this often, we all loved it. It was quick and easy. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Awesome and easy to make. I would definitely make this again, but add the okra next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Excellent! I used slightly less oil in making the roux, omitted the green pepper (DH won't eat them), added frozen okra, poached chicken, shrimp and chicken andouille sausage and used Emeril Lagasse's Essence (Emeril Lagasse's Essence). It was the perfect consistency with wonderful flavor. We loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This is a great Gumbo. It's easy to follow and has just the right amount of kick. I didn't have red pepper so I doubled the green pepper. I did omit the salt. Also used Canola oil instead of vegetable oil. I added 1 pound of shrimp and 1 pound of hot turkey sausage. Also included the okra. Served over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a great recipe for Holiday dinner at the last minute. I used chicken and shrimp since my picky daughter won't touch sausage. Instead of using the roux here, I borrowed from Alton Brown and baked it in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes, whisking every 30. Turned out great, but the over all gumbo was just a bit thin. Next time I'm going to add just a tablespoon more flour, and a couple more teaspoons of creole seasoning. Served this with Saffron Rice, Cornbread, salad and cranberry sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Not sure why I havent rated this recipe yet as I have made several times. Fantastic. I omit okra myself and also add the hot sauce and serve over the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Holy moly Kevin! This was AMAZING! I live in a small northern Italian village and had no Creole Spice, celery or shrimp. I subed the celery with carrot and used only italian sausage and chicken. For the spice I just added some thyme, oregano, paprika, black pepper and salt. Get this it STILL turned out really really yummy!! Even better the next day. I can't wait to make this again when I have the correct creole spices. This is a keeper mate! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I used chicken and shrimp and it came out perfect. Even the picky eater ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was a wonderful recipe! DH and I both love cajun food, and this was the easiest and best recipe we have tried so far!! We only made a couple slight changes, we added 2 more tsp of the creole seasoning and 2 tsp black pepper, and 1 tsp old bay blackining season. We do not care for okra either, so left it out, and was PERFECT! We used 4 different meats to make the 2#, we used, chicken breast, polish sausage, large shrimp and crawfish tail meat. The mixture was great, and we are big meat eaters, so it was delightful!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this recipe, we are already planning on making it again next weekend!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I don't like to give low ratings but on this I have no choice. My Cajun grandmother wouldn't stand for a gumbo made without bay leaf and cayenne pepper. Not to mention a few other ingredients that are missing here. I guess it is true that everyone has there own gumbo. This is a very good base recipe, needs much more flavor in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      We thought this was really good! I've never had gumbo before so I can't say how authentic it was, but the flavors worked very well together. It wasn't at all spicy but in my mind that doesn't necessarily mean it's bland. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I made this for my work for Fat Tuesday. I was born and raised in Louisiana, so I have a very discerning taste towards gumbo, jambalaya, and etouffee recipes. While, I agree a little with Vlada that it was a little bland, I found that adding some additional Cayenne pepper to it added a decent amount of heat. I, of course, added A LOT of Tony's, but the cayenne defintely helped it further along. The people I work with in Kansas loved every drop of it. It wasn't as spicy as I normally like it, but it was delicious nonetheless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I made this pretty much by the recipe; the roux came out nice and brown, I used a combination of shrimp, chicken, spicey German sausage and some monk fish, but had to quadruple the Cajun spice mix, which I made myself by a recipe from RZ (a highly rated recipe, and I was very faithful to it). Despite my best effort, the end result was still quite boring - it was spicey yet somehow dull, basically, a stew with lots of ingredients, but nothing special in terms of taste. Now, I have never eaten, let alone made, gumbo before. Perhaps, this is how gumbo should taste? It was OK to eat, but nothing I would want to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Delicious. I was afraid of burning the roux, so I cooked it over medium to medium-low. I had a very large green pepper on hand so I just used that instead of buying a red one too, used better than bouillon for the broth, and added 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper. For the meat I used 1 lb chorizo sausage and 1 lb grilled chicken seasoned with cajun seasoning. My family and guests loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      this was EXCELLENT! this was my first time making gumbo, and I was very pleased with the way it turned out! My whole family loved it also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This was sooo YUMMY!! My Husband and 4 children all loved it!! It took a while for me to get the roux the right color, like an hour, I'm not sure what I was doing wrong, but I have never made a roux like that before. I used shrimp, scallops, and chicken for the meat and spiced it up with chili paste. I used brown rice, just a little bit more healthy. I will make this again, thank you for this delisous treat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Gumbo Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.5
     
    Calories from Fat 424
    76%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1708.0 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes