121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good but what happened to the File Gumbo powder at the very end? Never saw a Gumbo recipe without File Gumbo. I used bacon fat instead of oil, shrimp stock instead of chicken stock and of course okra. Follow this recipe and you won't go wrong. You will double it the next time you make it, because it goes fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul June 18, 2014

This was surprisingly easy to make. I wish I had doubled the recipe as my wife and I just inhaled this batch! We used tiger prawns and Andouille. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drew M. January 19, 2014

This was delish!! I have never made gumbo before and have never tried it either. I was watching an old episode of Hart of Dixie, and they were having a gumbo competiton. I knew that I had to try Gumbo. I omitted the parsley, and scallion because I didn't have any. I also used a yellow pepper instead of a red one. I used Tony Chachere's Spice N' Herbs seasoning because that's all I had. Made with shrimp and sausage. This was soooo good!! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinathach_4981038 January 02, 2014

Great recipe! Made it today for Sundays's dinner!! Will definitely make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pjscott85 November 17, 2013

This is a really great recipe. It's also not difficult to make. It lacks the intricate steps that some of the other recipes contain, yet the dish is just as flavorful and satisfying. If you care about the presentation of your Gumbo, make sure to include the red pepper and creole seasoning. I stuck with the green bell peppers I had in the kitchen and hardly had enough seasoning to change the coloration...even with a fairly dark roux, I didn't quite get that beautiful redness. If you need more of a southern kick, add some hot sauce. This is a great recipe to use if you want to play around with some of the ingredients to suit your taste for that day. You can easily make it again the following week and feel like you've made it for the first time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 October 06, 2013

Great taste. I used shrimp and sausage, added some hot sauce as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tryto82_11532245 September 29, 2013

Thanks for introducing me to the world of gumbo, Kevin. This is the kind of cooking I love best--throw everything in a big pot and let er simmer a while. I was a little hesitant to try it since I hate all the chopping and cutting but this was well worth it. Made the house smell heavenly. Made as written using smoked sausage and chicken breast meat. Great on the first day and even better the next day. Am already planning for my next batch when I'll try shrimp. Worth ten stars ++++!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prd2bbsn September 15, 2013

Best gumbo ever! I used chicken & andouille sausage, plus I added some okra from my garden (the main reason I made this recipe because I have SO MUCH okra!). I also saved time by using freeze-dried celery, green & red bell peppers and green onion from THRIVE Life (I'm an independent consultant). This was super-easy to make and my husband and mom LOVED it as much as I did. Fortunately it made plenty for us to have leftovers the next night. This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deegauthier August 25, 2013

It did not turn out good for me. It had an awful taste to it. I followed the recipe as listed and did not change a thing. Once I added the veggies it took on an off stir fry smell and the taste did not improve after that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella_4624_19 August 10, 2013

My husband and kids loved this gumbo recipe and so did I. I was a little nervous about attempting the roux but as it turns out it wasn't hard at all and the dish was great. My husband is a huge gumbo fan and was devastated when one of our local restaurants stopped serving it, so I thought I'd find a recipe and give it a try. . . and boy am I glad I did. Thanks for posting, this one is going in the favorites list to be served many night to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amcnally15 June 19, 2013
Gumbo