123 Reviews

This recipe is really tasty and easy to make.One thing I changed was omitting the salt. Theres salt in the creole seasoning I use, also in the sausage.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Lee February 25, 2003

I whipped this up last Sunday for Monday nights dinner as it was to be a very cold day. Allowing it to sit over night in the fridge really intensived the flavors. It was very easy to put together and I did add more tabasco as we do like our dishes on the hot side. I used shimp & chicken and it was excellent. This was right on. Thanks Kevin

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher January 26, 2003

Phenomenal! I was trying to "copy" a dish we had in Chicago last weekend and this recipe was it, but better! My DH & I both like more spice, so I added a little crushed red pepper and it was just wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe, Kevin!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JazzDK December 11, 2003

This was good Gumbo, I liked it alot. I had Gumbo at Red Lobster the other day and yours was way better! From the Brewhead

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brewhead June 21, 2003

This was fantastic!! I made it with shrimp, sausage and scallops, and it was GREAT! I made a huge pot thinking that we could nibble on it over the weekend, but my husband ended up having 4 bowls (and raving each time), so that went out the window. One of the few recipes I will DEFINITELY add to my usuals.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KVasanth April 14, 2012

WOW !! This recipe was so easy! I had been avoiding making Gumbo for 5 years (a special request by my Creole boyfriend) until I found this recipe. After studying it, and reading all the rave reviews, I decided "I can do this!" I did it, juicing it up with my own dash of flavors (including 1/2 cup of Lite Beer during the last 15-20 minutes of simmering), and I must say, it was a hit !!! Thank you Kevin !!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dickerberry November 07, 2011

I use this recipe all of the time because it is so easy and delicious. Each time I make it I make some small alteration but always keep the same quality broth and sausage for continuity. I also toast the flour in a dry pan before adding the oil to cut down on time and increase the toasty flavor. There are only two of us but a full batch doesn't make it more than three days and if the word gets out that I made it, it can become a bit of a free-for-all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
priamanda July 11, 2011

SUCCESS!! I've been avoiding making gumbo recipes because of my fear of "the roux." However, the other reviews on here were so encouraging that I thought I would give it a shot - and I'm so glad I did.

The first modification I did was to cook the roux over medium-low head instead of medium-high. I felt that I had more control over the roux. The next thing I did was cook it until it turned a light brown (almost like a peanut butter color). It's true that once you add the veggies in the roux will continue to cook.

Next I added 1/2 can of diced tomatoes, a bay leaf, and a dash of tobasco sauce. I also used 1.5 teaspoons of the creole seasoning because my friends like food on the spicier side. This dish was wonderful!!! My friends absolutely loved it and were disappointed that I didn't have more. I used 1 lb of shrimp and 1 lb of andouille sausage. Great comfort food and so easy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manabs March 27, 2011

This was my first try at Gumbo, and it was a huge hit! Thanks so much for this recipe! I used Bacon grease instead of oil and it was amazing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyzzibear February 20, 2011

LOVED this gumbo!! I used butter in my roux, because I didn't have olive oil. It was as good as any restaurant gumbo I've ever had, even in Louisiana. This is the real deal!!! Thanks for the recipe, Kevin!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p00gJr November 11, 2013
Gumbo