Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2010

      We just got back from a vacation in New Orleans and this gumbo is every bit as good as any we had there. I used more chicken stock than was called for because I didn't want that little bit left in the carton. I just simered a little longer. I doubled the recipe because I wanted leftovers and it got better as it aged in the fridge. Will definately make this again. Thanks for letting us 'go back' to New Orleans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      We love this recipe! Add lots of okra and that slimyness comes out in the boil. We do a vegetarian version with all the veggies we can find in the fridge and it is out of sight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      We all loved it, even the the kids (3 and 4) cleaned their plates! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Very good Gumbo.. I have never made gumbo before until this past Superbowl weekend. This recipe is amazing. This I believe will be my go to gumbo.. We added green onion sausage and chicken and jumbo shrimp to it. I didn't go by the measurements for the spices I just dumped until it tastes right. I also increased the roux by like triple. I was feeding a lot of people. Again this is an incredible recipe. I am no longer scared to make gumbo. Just make sure you get your roux very dark, or it will not have that authentic gumbo taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This was very good, and easy to make. DH loved it!! Will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Delicious! I used homegrown okra in addition to all the other veggies. Very easy to make, especially if you combine all the spices and chop all the veggies beforehand. I also used high oleic expeller pressed canola and white wheat flour and serve the gumbo over brown rice, to make this a whole foods meal. If you use brown rice, start the rice before you start your prep work on the gumbo, and it will all be finished about the same time. Even DD 16 months loved it! Not too spicy, just a nice "after kick." Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This is a great gumbo, but I have to admit that I didn't follow instructions exactly. Instead of celery, I used okra because I had okra and didn't have celery. Used fresh onion and garlic instead of the powder, and cooked in and antique Club Aluminum pan instead of cast iron skillet, because again, I used what I had! I served this over rice and it was excellent. I think next time I'm going to try adding some of that extra summer squash to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      This is SO good! Definitely will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Delish! This was so easy to make and it came together very quickly. I love that! I followed the amounts listed, but had additional cayenne available for those that wanted a little more heat. A few minutes before serving, I also added in about a pound of shrimp. Made for Fall PAC 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Gumbo Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.8
     
    Calories from Fat 337
    65%
    Total Fat 37.5 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 892.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites