Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guisado De Chorizo y Papas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guisado De Chorizo y Papas

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2013

      This was very tasty but way too spicy for DH. I only put in half the paprika and half the pepper. The chorizo was pretty red though, like my spanish grandma used to make, not like a lot of the Mexican chorizo I've seen, so maybe it was too spicy. If I make it again, I will add pepper to taste. I also had to use some corn starch to thicken. I should have added a dollop of yogurt to cool it down. I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I doubled the mushrooms and chorizo and probably used more paprika than indicated. Also added some green peppers and a dollop of sour cream. The dish definitely had a lovely smokiness. And the sour cream was a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This recipe is fantastic. Didn't have mushrooms so used zucchini instead. Family and I loved it. Going to be one of our favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Very fast and easy recipe. Smells great. Delicious. Not spicy at all, perhaps our chorizo is not spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Yum!! And the smell...?? Divine!!! We made this with brown onion as we didn't have any spanish onion on hand but it was still delishious. We also served it with a really nice loaf of bread and a dollop of sour cream. So yum. We will defintely make this again. Thank you for posting a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This recipe was delicious my DH would peek in cause it smelled so good while I was cooking. didn't put all the chicken stock only 3 cups and 5 potatoes & green bell pepper, we wanted it less soupie, and we had some tortillas on the side, delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Wow this was amazing! I loved it! Very typically Spanish. I threw in a couple of leeks, and some lamb mergeza (a lot like chorizo). You absolutely must use real Spanish paprika, no substitutes. Has a huge impact on the flavor. I also topped the stew with a little plain yogurt, to cool it off. Can't wait to have it tomorrow too! Will totally make again. I can't believe I just stumbled upon this looking for a way to use the chorizo I had. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      absolutely delicious one dish meal. I used soyrizo (a soy chorizo substitute) in this recipe because the store had no chorizo, but i don't think it took anything away (except alot of the fat and cholestoral)HD loves chorizo but won't eat unfamiliar foods, so i didn't tell him it was soy until he had already raved of how delicious it was. i added 2 diced jalapenos and 4 diced roma tomatoes. leftovers may go into scrambled eggs or as filling of empanadas. either way will be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This was interesting. I had the ingrediants on hand. Added carrots and chopped bell peppers which worked quite well. It took longer to prepare than I expected. There were too many ingrediants in the pan for the potatoes to brown and the chorizo did not stay in "bite sized pieces". I did have to thicken it before I served it. We topped the stew with some sour cream and lime. The sour cream cooled it down and mellowed out the flavors. Served it with warmed tortillas, my son used the stew to stuff the tortillas. Both DH and DS gave it 4-5 stars. DH had seconds and is planning on mixing it with eggs for breakfast tommorrow. At first I wasn't going to use it because of the calorie count shown. I don't think it is correct though. I used a recipe analyzer and, using fat free chicken stock, the calorie count was about 530 calories per serving. That didn't include the sour cream. Bottom line: This is a really inexpensive dish to make-an excellent budget stretcher. It is hearty and warm-and certainly a meal by itself. It hit the spot on a rainy night, has a good aroma and qualifies as comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This is a wonderful, hearty winter soup recipe that is truoly a complete meal in a bowl. I used carrots rather than mushrooms, since they were what we had on hand, and I found their sweetness and the simple taste of the potatoes were a nice balance to the spicy chorizo and smoky Spanish paprika. I do think next time I make it, I will chill it so I can separate the fat more easily, and then reheat to serve. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      This is a very tasty dish. I will be one of our standbys. I added bell pepper by mistake, I grabbed and chopped it up and threw it in then reread the recipe, opps! It was a just fine addition. The mushrooms are a must to round out the flavors of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Thank you 'Sackville Girl'! ... what a great recipe ... such a different flavour. I doubled the chorizo and more mushroom and only used 4 cups of stock ... it must be so hard to thicken if you use 5-6 cups. Will definately use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guisado De Chorizo y Papas

    Serving Size: 1 (733 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 905.2
     
    Calories from Fat 439
    48%
    Total Fat 48.8 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 73.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2329.7 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 38.0 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites