12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very tasty but way too spicy for DH. I only put in half the paprika and half the pepper. The chorizo was pretty red though, like my spanish grandma used to make, not like a lot of the Mexican chorizo I've seen, so maybe it was too spicy. If I make it again, I will add pepper to taste. I also had to use some corn starch to thicken. I should have added a dollop of yogurt to cool it down. I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc September 15, 2013

I doubled the mushrooms and chorizo and probably used more paprika than indicated. Also added some green peppers and a dollop of sour cream. The dish definitely had a lovely smokiness. And the sour cream was a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 October 21, 2010

This recipe is fantastic. Didn't have mushrooms so used zucchini instead. Family and I loved it. Going to be one of our favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richardknelsen December 19, 2009

Very fast and easy recipe. Smells great. Delicious. Not spicy at all, perhaps our chorizo is not spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 October 15, 2009

Yum!! And the smell...?? Divine!!! We made this with brown onion as we didn't have any spanish onion on hand but it was still delishious. We also served it with a really nice loaf of bread and a dollop of sour cream. So yum. We will defintely make this again. Thank you for posting a great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*christie July 05, 2009

This recipe was delicious my DH would peek in cause it smelled so good while I was cooking. didn't put all the chicken stock only 3 cups and 5 potatoes & green bell pepper, we wanted it less soupie, and we had some tortillas on the side, delish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolymari February 22, 2008

Wow this was amazing! I loved it! Very typically Spanish. I threw in a couple of leeks, and some lamb mergeza (a lot like chorizo). You absolutely must use real Spanish paprika, no substitutes. Has a huge impact on the flavor. I also topped the stew with a little plain yogurt, to cool it off. Can't wait to have it tomorrow too! Will totally make again. I can't believe I just stumbled upon this looking for a way to use the chorizo I had. YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore January 07, 2007

absolutely delicious one dish meal. I used soyrizo (a soy chorizo substitute) in this recipe because the store had no chorizo, but i don't think it took anything away (except alot of the fat and cholestoral)HD loves chorizo but won't eat unfamiliar foods, so i didn't tell him it was soy until he had already raved of how delicious it was. i added 2 diced jalapenos and 4 diced roma tomatoes. leftovers may go into scrambled eggs or as filling of empanadas. either way will be great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenasanc November 25, 2006

This was interesting. I had the ingrediants on hand. Added carrots and chopped bell peppers which worked quite well. It took longer to prepare than I expected. There were too many ingrediants in the pan for the potatoes to brown and the chorizo did not stay in "bite sized pieces". I did have to thicken it before I served it. We topped the stew with some sour cream and lime. The sour cream cooled it down and mellowed out the flavors. Served it with warmed tortillas, my son used the stew to stuff the tortillas. Both DH and DS gave it 4-5 stars. DH had seconds and is planning on mixing it with eggs for breakfast tommorrow. At first I wasn't going to use it because of the calorie count shown. I don't think it is correct though. I used a recipe analyzer and, using fat free chicken stock, the calorie count was about 530 calories per serving. That didn't include the sour cream. Bottom line: This is a really inexpensive dish to make-an excellent budget stretcher. It is hearty and warm-and certainly a meal by itself. It hit the spot on a rainy night, has a good aroma and qualifies as comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suznf April 04, 2006

This is a wonderful, hearty winter soup recipe that is truoly a complete meal in a bowl. I used carrots rather than mushrooms, since they were what we had on hand, and I found their sweetness and the simple taste of the potatoes were a nice balance to the spicy chorizo and smoky Spanish paprika. I do think next time I make it, I will chill it so I can separate the fat more easily, and then reheat to serve. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie January 04, 2005
Guisado De Chorizo y Papas